Humans logo

How I Support My Local Communities

I have been involved in my community for many years. Even before the epidemic broke out, I found great joy in supporting those in my community.

By Dipsion NeupanePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
How I Support My Local Communities
Photo by Sigmund on Unsplash

I have been involved in my community for many years. Even before the epidemic broke out, I found great joy in supporting those in my community. Although this is a difficult time right now, and people should stay away from society, that does not mean that we should not continue to spend time and love with the people and businesses around us!

Our communities need us now more than ever. If you can offer any kind of support to your community, I strongly encourage you to do so. When the days of COVID-19 are behind us, keep bringing your community together.

The importance of community involvement

Being involved and supporting your community is important to people. People are made to belong to one another. Imagine a world without others to help you or others to support you - it can be lonely and isolated.

Especially in these times, supporting local communities provides a common ground. Although things may look different because of this epidemic, you can still find ways to volunteer or shop locally.

When I give my time to the community, it is something I know I will never forget or regret. My life has been enriched in more than one way, and I have been able to meet and connect with people to build lasting relationships.

Those who are new to self-reliance and immersion in local communities develop worldviews. I, myself, have been able to feel the sense of purpose. Every time I give back to the community and help those around me, I feel satisfied.

While I benefit from helping those around me, the community also benefits. The more you contribute to your community, the more opportunities you will have. Without volunteers and support, communities would not be able to prosper. Supporting your city helps you connect with others and fill the gap in various economic and social categories.

Ways to Support My Local Community

As I mentioned earlier, I have been very supportive of my community for a long time. Here's how I support my communities and why they are good for my life.

1. Buy Things From Local Businesses

This is an easy way to support your community. Many businesses, especially now, are still struggling to survive the epidemic. Unfortunately, some small shops have had to close. Support your community by shopping in the mall.

A great way to show your love by buying things from them. I made it a point to buy food at a local restaurant where I want to go out to eat, and I find small businesses to buy gifts for friends and family.

When financial support is not forthcoming, you can still help by telling family and friends about your favorite business, following companies on social media and leaving positive reviews.

2. Volunteer

You can easily find opportunities to volunteer once you start immersing yourself in the community. I have found things that really appeal to me, that make my time support my community so much happier. However, do not be afraid to step out of your comfort zone when you volunteer.

While it may be challenging to find opportunities to dedicate yourself to it right now, you can still move on. Some communities have come together to sew community masks or important staff. Some teach online a young student.

Whatever you choose to do, your voluntary efforts will greatly benefit the community!

3. Donate

Every spring, I find myself walking through my cupboards and storage areas in my house, looking for things that are in good condition that I no longer use. Social services take away goods that they will donate to the whole community.

You can also donate canned goods, your time or money. Get a local grant and ask directly for items that the community needs. Take time to clean the place. Set aside extra money for a community project or donate to a school sports team.

Why Supporting My Community Is Good For My Life

I have gained a lot of health benefits by giving back to my community. Studies have shown that volunteering improves health, and I have seen that for myself!

My physical health is better than I thought. Some of the volunteer groups I belong to require some form of physical demand. I can go outside and enjoy the sunshine while walking to pick up trash or garden in a public garden.

I have been very happy. Every time I go back, my mind is focused on what I am doing for my community and nothing else. All the troubles of my day are gone, and my mind is gone. Also, I am able to connect with others in my community, which is great for my social life.

Also, I eat very healthy. In summer and autumn, in particular, I buy locally produced product at the farmer’s market. Instead of supporting the big industry, I support local farmers and get fresh fruits and vegetables.

Support Your Community

Every time you support your community, you help to be a part of something bigger than you. I have found great joy in helping my neighbors and the local town, and the health benefits I have seen have made it extremely helpful.

How will you support your community?

advice
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.