Humans logo

How I see 'introverts'

It's sometimes even difficult for introverts to accept themselves but 'a stone never realizes its worth until carved into a beautiful idol'.

By Sitara folksPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

Very recently, I discovered that I don't belong to the majoritarian block of the society i.e. EXTROVERTS. Throughout my school life,I had been a very bright student, as was evident from my astounding academic performances, so teachers themselves would turn up to me whenever they sought an apt answer to a tricky question,ostensibly forcing me to stand up and present my answer that the whole class would later appreciate with a satisfying look on their faces, giving me a sense of self-worth.

But it wasn't the same anymore, since I stepped in college. Everytime an opportunity was thrown at me in the form of a question, I just couldn't muster my courage to stand up in the crowd of violently assertive voices vying to be in the spotlight. I could see myself forcing the chaos in my head to die. It was painful to see my voice remained unheard,my ideas unapplauded.

I started wondering when I lost that identity of mine that was never so unfamiliar. I desperately ventured to find the older me and pushing myself to things that I would never otherwise do.But it took me not long enough to realize that I was ever the same. Had there been no nudging by the teachers in the school,I wouldn't have stood up. Had it been I wasn't among the very few repeatedly acclaimed students, nobody would have come to me and initiated conversations, and I would have been left with no friends back then too.

I calculated that my personality was naturally repulsive to attention.The reason that I wasn't standing up in the college classroom wasn't that I have become any less creative,but simply because I valued my time.I didn't want to invest my time on a mass of people waiting to listen to and then ignore my voice in a cacophony.The reason I didn't have a crowd-size group of mine gossiping in the canteen during brakes is that I enjoy my own company which maybe, is difficult for people other than me. Those pub-parties weren't alluring for me maybe because these tiny books were waiting to take me to a whole different part of the world,or maybe a whole different era.When everybody around me is asking for a better-half,I'm happy to be a perfect whole.I'm a proud INTRO.

What I hate is when people confuse my situation with shyness. Shyness and introversion are two very different states of human mind. While shyness speaks for a fear of being socially judged and disapproved,introversion can be defined as a preference for quieter pursuits. Everytime my heart aches when a non-social kid is labelled as stupid and socially-skilled kids are valued more. They are even preached by their parents not to ''act dumb'',while they may be enjoying observing everyone in a birthday party,sitting in the corner. Gregariousness can't be tantamount to smartness, world needs to realize that.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Sitara folks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.