Humans logo

How I Felt Losing Grammy, Why I Got Neck Tattoo, and Why I Didn't Stand to Greet Beyonce - Asake

Asake opens up

By Jide OkonjoPublished 20 days ago 3 min read
2

Nigerian singer Asake is the latest cover star for GQ and as part of his feature, he sat down with the mag to do a quick interview. During this interview, Asake talked about a number of things, from how he felt about losing the Grammy award he was nominated for, to why he didn't stand in queue for Beyonce, and also why he got his neck tattoo to stop him from getting any work in Nigeria. Here's what Asake had to say during his interview.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Speaking about how he felt about losing his Grammy nomination to South African singer Tyla, Asake said:

ASAKE: It’s not a loss for me. I might just get more next year. But in my head I was not even taking it too seriously. I appreciate the fact that they nominated me—I won’t lie, that’s a lot to me. Even me, I didn’t see that coming this soon. I’m relaxed about it. Maybe because I know there will be a day that win will come.

Speaking about why he didn't stand in the long queue of people at the Grammys who stood to greet Beyonce, Asake said:

ASAKE: I’ll never do that. I love Beyoncé, but I’ll never stress myself for any human, or make myself feel important in front of any human.

Speaking about why he got tattoo on his neck to stop him from getting any office work, Asake said:

ASAKE: In Nigeria, if you have a tattoo on your neck, you can’t work anywhere. I can’t work for any company. I can’t sell anything.

He got the tattoo at a time when he felt especially discouraged, beaten down, and unsure about music saying:

ASAKE: I was tired. I felt like, I don’t want to keep trying. You have to understand: I got there in two years, but I’ve been working for years. People are counting the days you’re successful. They don’t count the days you’ve been working toward it. Nobody gives a fuck about that

What do you think about what Asake said? To me, that is a very very bold thing to do. Thankfully, the music worked out, because if not, that tattoo could truly have hindered him for the rest of his life especially if trying to find a corporate job in Nigeria. What do you think about it, and about everything Asake said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

Btw, in addition to blogging, I also make money through Whatsapp Status Sessions. If you also want to earn money through status sessions, I've created a complete guide to help you get started so we can all eat! Download it here.

In addition to running a blogging page, I also run a writing community called "Jide Okonjo Writers Club" where you can create, earn, participate in critique, and mingle with other writers. To join us, click here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
2

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.