Humans logo

Advice Uncle Gave on My Wedding Day that Saved My Marriage - Daniel Etim-Effiong

Daniel opens up

By Jide OkonjoPublished 22 days ago 3 min read
1

Nollywood actor Daniel Etim-Effiong is one of Nigeria's most popular actors and one of the industry heartthrobs. As a result of that, he has a lot of adoring fans who love him and would do anything to be with him. But at the same time, he is happily married. In a new interview with LanzyJ, Daniel spoke about how he balances it. How he handles the attention from fans, what he loves most about his wife, and the best piece of advice he's ever gotten. Here's what Daniel Etim-Effiong said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

During the interview, he was first asked "How do you handle the attention from female fans?" to which he said:

DANIEL ETIM-EFFIONG: Well first off, I'm humbled by the attention. I feel like when you have love from fans and from your fandom, it's a huge responsibility. So immediately, what my reaction to it is just one of awe, and I immediately feel a huge sense of responsibility to cater to these people that love me. I switch mostly to mentor mode, I switch to caretaker mode, because I've been there before and sometimes it feels delirious. It feels like you're not yourself when you're really in love with someone especially when it's someone you don't know personally, that's a star or a celebrity. So I think how can I be of service to you? How can I meet your needs in a way that leaves you better off, and not take advantage of that feeling you have towards me.

"What's the best attribute about your wife? What do you love most about your wife?"

DANIEL ETIM-EFFIONG: Mehn there are so many but what is the one I love most? She's a fighter. She never takes no for an answer. If there is a concrete wall in front of her and she says she's going to walk through it, best believe she's going to walk through that concrete wall.

"What is the best piece of advice you've ever gotten?"

DANIEL ETIM-EFFIONG: Hmm, good one. Whew. I've gotten so many really good advices and the best piece I have received would have to be...hmm, they're so many good ones but I'll say the best one because I love my wife.

My older uncle told me on the day of my wedding, I would just tell you one thing: don't react to everything your wife says. He was like women know how to talk, just don't react. Don't be reactionary. Just hold back. And yeah, I think that was great advice. It has really helped my marriage.

What do you think about what Daniel Etim-Effiong had to say, and about the advice he gave? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

Btw, in addition to blogging, I also make money through Whatsapp Status Sessions. If you also want to earn money through status sessions, I've created a complete guide to help you get started so we can all eat! Download it here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.