Humans logo

How I Feel About Girl They Brought to Replace Me on RHOLagos - Caroline Hutchings

Caroline speaks out

By Jide OkonjoPublished 25 days ago 3 min read
1

Reality TV star Carolyna Hutchings is finally opening up about how she felt being replaced on the Real Housewives of Lagos by Tania Omotayo, a woman many people said looks so much like Carol and many believe was brought in intentionally to replace her.

During her appearance on Mercy's Menu, Carolyna opened up about how she felt about it, and why she left the show. Here's what she said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

During the interview, Carolyna was asked "One question everybody is wondering: there's a new season of the Real Housewives of Lagos, and you aren't there. But they had like this fair, pretty personality there and most of the comments were like "oh that's Carol", but it wasn't you. I'm guessing it was intentional to get somebody who looks like you. Two questions: why weren't you there, and how do you feel being replaced by someone who looks so much like you?" to which she responded:

CAROLYNA HUTCHINGS: To be sincere, I did say I wasn't going to answer any question concerning that show so as not to promote them, but the reason why I left that show was because it was toxic for me, my family, and my kids. I'm an advocate for women empowerment and I feel like we live in an era where women are still trying their best to shatter the glass ceiling. If you look at the top 500 CEOs or even the economy, even in politics, it's more favorable to men than the women. So if I'm going to be on a platform in an economy, in a society that still limits the potential of women, I want to be on a platform that encourages women's potential. And I want to be on a platform that showcases their assets, not their flaws, and their capabilities in a positive light, not a negative light. That is one of the reasons why I left the show. It wasn't showcasing me in a positive light, and it really wasn't showcasing a lot of the women in a positive light. It was more about, come and sit down, abuse each other, call each other ridiculous names, talk about things that are unnecessary. I know it's a reality TV show but I'm not for that type of reality show.

Now let me answer the second question. I am irreplaceable. Even if you bring in a billion and one women, you can't get another me. You can't have another me. It's okay if they have 2 other cast on their show, it's nice, they want to do great, I would always give them a round of applause. Whatever rocks their boat. But I can't be replaced. Nowhere. I cannot be replaced anywhere, in acting, in reality TV, in my place of work, in relationships. I'm Queen Dr. Carolyna Hutchings. No one can take my spot.

Tania Omotayo in Real Housewives of Lagos S2

What do you think about what Carolyna said? And do you think the producers of Real Housewives of Lagos brought in Tania as a direct replacement for Carol? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.