Humans logo

How Can I Save My Marriage On The Brink Of Divorce (What To Do When You're On The Verge Of Divorce)

If you're trying to figure out how can I save my marriage on the brink of divorce, it could be that you've got some built up resentment that is proving hard to get rid of. This happens in marriage quite a bit since living with someone for years and years can be tough. Wouldn't it be nice if someone gave you advice on what to do when you’re on the verge of divorce?

By Charles BillPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
How Can I Save My Marriage On The Brink Of Divorce (What To Do When You're On The Verge Of Divorce)
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

On your wedding day, I bet the furthest thought from your mind was "What happens if this marriage doesn't work out?"

As time goes by things change. You find that you're not in the same place as you were when you got married. Things have happened in your marriage. You don't communicate the same way you used to. Perhaps your partner hasn't been faithful.

What do you do? Do you consider divorce?

If you're like most Americans, you do. Divorces are common these days. In fact, half of our marriages end in divorce now. What happens when you get divorced?

Quite a bit, actually. First of all, one of you needs to find a new place to live. Second of all, if you have children, you must create a plan for when the children will be with each parent. Does one parent get full custody with visitation for the other? Is custody shared? Holidays, vacations, they all have to be planned out ahead of time and put into a calendar.

Next, you have to split up everything you own. Remember all the flatware and dinner plates you received as wedding gifts? Well, your sixteen piece service just became an eight piece service. Your spouse got the vacuum cleaner, you kept the stereo, your spouse got the Christmas tree, and the list goes on.

Oh yeah, almost forgot. One you may be paying child support, alimony or both. 401k's and other investments get divided up. Perhaps other properties or expensive belongings you have must be sold. Hope you weren't attached to anything.

Finally, you have to have some sort of legal proceeding involving attorneys, mediators and a judge to do the final divorce decree. I've never known anything involving the word "legal" to be cheap.

Now those were all the things involving money. Really the money is just a small part of it. Divorce's biggest impact is on people, especially children. Picture in your mind that conversation when you sit the children down and tell them that Mommy and Daddy don't love each other the way they used to and one of them won't be living here anymore. The children, who may be too young to fully grasp the concept of divorce, are now being shuttled back and forth between two homes every few days. They need clothes and toys for Mommy's house and Daddy's house. They need to get used to the fact that their bed at Mommy's is more comfortable, but Daddy has better TV.

The kids at school may say things and look at them differently. They probably need to start seeing counselors to work through a lot of their questions and feelings about what has happened. What if your ex starts to say things about you, that aren't very nice, to your children? What if you start dating again and your ex says means things to them about your new "friend"?

Your parents are effected too. Now they may need to become more involved in child care or assisting you financially. Your parents also have to deal with issues they have about the divorce. "What did I do wrong? Did I put too much pressure on my child to get married? Did I alienate their spouse or cause some kind of friction? Am I the reason they split up?"

These are all very deep issues and I hope you never have to tackle them in your lifetime. But half of you will and the numbers get worse every day. There are resources available to you that can help you start repairing your marriage immediately. You may not want to acknowledge your marital difficulties to your pastor, friends, or even a licensed marriage counselor. If you don't, there are things you can do, on your own and right now, to stop hurting and start saving your marriage.

First, sit down and talk with your spouse. Be honest about your feelings. Now is not the time to hold back.

Second, invest in a good book. There are great resources available that can give you practical tips to start using today. These techniques work, even if only one of you is committed to working on them.

Third, get your family involved. Maybe they can take the children for a couple days while you start working things out with your spouse. Maybe a sibling or another relative has gone through the same thing but never really talked about it. The information they provide could help more than you expected.

Just remember, you have options and you have resources. You can decide right here and now to stop the damage, stop the pain, and stop the slow decline of your marriage. If you do something, you may be able to recapture the love and remember why you got married in the first place. If you do nothing, your marriage will fail and many of those things we talked about above we start to become a reality.

Do you want to reawaken a committed and loving relationship in your marriage? There are proven steps that are amazingly powerful that will help you overcome conflicts and breathe life back into your marriage. This is a plan you do not want to pass by. Click here to see the proven steps on how to save your marriage.

Divorce does not have to be your only option. Even if it feels as though your relationship can't be saved because of the ongoing conflicts between you and your spouse, it can be. There are techniques that you can begin using today that will not only stop a divorce, but will help also you build a stronger and more loving marriage. To learn more visit: Steps to Save Your Marriage

marriage
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • kate patrickabout 16 hours ago

    My name is kate. I'm here to say a very big thanks to Priest Adu for saving my marriage. No one would have believe that I and my wife will ever come back together again as one. But Adu solution temple reunited us back within 7 days. Contact him now on: ( solutiontemple.info )

  • pablo picassoabout a year ago

    Priest Manuka. Thank you so much for helping to reunite me and my girlfriend! I didn’t think we would ever be able to work things out with all that had happened between us. But you wouldn’t let me be negative and you really did get her back to me! Thank you once again. Without your reunion love spell I know this would not have been possible. I really appreciate your efforts. (manuka-temple0.webnode.co.uk)

  • alice alice2 years ago

    Priest adu the great spell caster brought my husband back to me after a hectic separation, E-mail him for any help through his web (solutiontemple.info) [email protected]

  • annie annie2 years ago

    My husband has been in the cage of this Tanzanian woman since last year. He has forgotten me his wife and his daughter, I have prayed and prayed and God answered my prayer by linking me with this great helper priest ADU, Everyone needs to know about priest ADU, I can’t tell how long it took me to find a trust worthy helper like ADU online, I am very satisfied and happy person today. after his spell was done, My Husband came home and we moved from our old house to a new house. I want anyone who want his or her lover back to choose priest ADU for help cuz he has proven to me is the right choice to go with. his reunion love spell was excellent { https://solutiontemple.info }

  • Eric james2 years ago

    I gave my girlfriend all my love, my heart, my soul and she hurt me over and over again till I finally had enough. I left her but after a short while I discovered she’s with someone else and it was tearing me apart that i could not endure it but to find a solution which i did by contacting a man named priest Adu through his web address i saw on a blog post ( https://solutiontemple.info ) after 3 days, my relationship was resolved, my girlfriend is mine again and he told me she will never gonna cheat on me again.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.