Humans logo

How Being So Young on 'The Johnsons' Is Affecting Me These Days - Susan Pwajok

Susan Pwajok opens up

By Jide OkonjoPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 3 min read
Like

Nollywood actress Susan Pwajok is till today still best known for appearing on the hit Africa Magic series, The Johnsons, a show she started acting on at the very young age of just around 11 years old. Susan Pwajok has since left The Johnsons, and continued her acting career starring in other productions like Cover Up, Night Raid, Stopping Chloe, Steel Bling, Keeping Lucy, and MTV's Shuga. She also hosts her own podcast called Surviving Lagos, and has other business ventures.

Still, as I said, many people still know Susan Pwajok only as Blessing from 'The Johnsons' and in a new interview with The Will Downtown, she talks about how because she was so young on that show, it affects how people see her till this day. Here's what Susan Pwajok had to say.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Speaking about how being so young on 'The Johnsons' is affecting her these days, Susan Pwajok opened up during the interview saying:

SUSAN PWAJOK: People underestimating me because I’m young is one of my major difficulties. Despite only being 20 years old, I come across people who underestimate my potential and dissuade me from starting businesses.

People frequently doubt my long-term objectives and are reluctant to acknowledge that I have developed beyond my prior job on The Johnsons. They have a hard time understanding how I went from being a kid performer to an adult. These age-related biases and people’s unwillingness to acknowledge my development are significant obstacles for me.

Then she was asked "How do you deal with criticism and negative feedback and what strategies do you use to maintain your mental health and well-being?" to which she responded:

SUSAN PWAJOK: I don’t, and when people ask me this question, they ask, “What do you mean you don’t?” I do not. For me, if you are not my friend, family or someone close to me, anything you say about me is your cup of tea. Everyone is entitled to their freedom of speech, but as long as you are not somebody I dearly care for, I don’t see what you will say to make me feel bad.

What do you think about what Susan Pwajok and do you too still see her only as Blessing from 'The Johnsons'? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

If you want to follow me on alternative social media, I am now on Twitter and in the process of growing my account on there. So please, feel free to follow me on Twitter as well @JideOkonjo.

In addition to running a blogging page, I also run a gaming Facebook group called "Jide's Games" where you can play real games right now to win big naira. To join the JIDE'S GAMES Facebook group, click here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.