Humans logo

Home of the Thousandaire

Dallas is not really all of that!

By Jay LeTron DobbinsPublished about a year ago 3 min read
2
Home of the Thousandaire
Photo by R K on Unsplash

When I first moved to Dallas from Atlanta, I thought something was a bit off when thinking about the social scene. I have had the pleasure of living in some top-tier cities during my time and when moving to Dallas, the social life was not even on my mind. The mindset of dating was far from me, because after living close to Los Angeles a few years and Atlanta for ten years and even a taste of DC; I had a slight idea that the quality of women I was going to run into here in Dallas was nothing like I experienced before.

Now don't get me wrong, I go for more than looks when selecting a woman, but it was very easy to run into a woman who possessed a combination of substance, style, class, looks and being down-to-earth all at the same time when I lived in other cities. Even in DC when my marriage was on the rocks (with a Dallas-driven mental woman), there were many nights I wanted to give my wife the Harlem Nights speech. Remember that moment when Sunshine convinced the money drop guy that she was in love with him after sex, and he called his wife and said he was never coming back home and said "see ya" then hung up the phone? That was me at one point living in Baltimore when my marriage was so dull because I was lacking a woman of substance and wanted something more in life. No, I wasn't going out having sex with women outside of my marriage and didn't plan to do so. Just that the mentality of women were different from my current wife at the time and the women in Dallas, versus everywhere else I have lived and moving to Baltimore gave me a glimpse of the character of woman I saw before moving to Dallas, and they did not have the entitlement attitude of the people in Dallas.

Excuse my side-tracking and let me stay to the point. This has nothing to do with the women, because even the friends I hung out with that didn't live in Dallas did not have this sense of entitlement. I was never the one to hang around high-end type of people, but I knew the difference between class and entitlement. I also knew that the people who were doing well in life, did not have to flaunt it in your face. For example, if another woman turns her nose up at me because she drives a low-end Benz as if she is Alexis Carrington, I am going to die! Noting wrong with a Benz on any level, but I have seen people with more and gave less drama.

Dallas is not a bad city to live in. There are things to do, but the vibe of most people here is a sudden turn off and it devalues the city. Dallas is a melting pot with great potential, but the mindset gives her great hinderance. This factor is the struggling point that hold Dallas back from being a top-tier city which may come second to a DC, Atlanta, Chicago or LA and a few others. The large comparison is that the people in other cities know the difference between style and class, from façade and phony showmanship. So save the Dallas Margarita Ball and the fake perception of showing other people that one has money, when the care is less. Give me that substance and that brotherhood of DC and that soul that was found in deep Atlanta and other cities of great social atmospheres.

Now responsibilities with my kids have me hear at the moment. However when they turn 18, I would hope that all is in my favor to leave and never look back. I had a good friend DM me just last night asking about Dallas. I told him to run in the other direction. At one point, Dallas had an advantage with the housing market and the weather. These days, the housing market in Dallas can be easily compared to Atlanta or any major city, but lacks the major city perks. With the last winter in mind, the weather has not been so great if the state cannot handle the energy demand when the temperature drops. This is a city with a small mentality and no remote idea of how to conduct themselves in a classical manner. A bunch of people with an income within a thousand-dollar range, with a JR Ewing mentality. This city SUCKS!

travel
2

About the Creator

Jay LeTron Dobbins

Casual writer! Love to express in print! Tell people how you feel and love life to the fullest with no regrets. Try to say something good about a person when they can hear it, and not when they are gone! Love like no tomorrow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.