Humans logo

Heroes of Home

We're never alone.

By Diana TrezonaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Community Carols Night.

People refer to their 'Hometown Hero' as if there's A person who does more for their community, going above and beyond the rest of us. A recent writing challenge started a theme by stating that it takes a village to raise a child but then left the intended recipient of the thank you letter as only 1 or 2 people who had a significant impact on your life. And I feel that people miss so much with this definition.

OK, maybe I really am just a bit of a freak, but my life has been quite different. I've known some real hometown heroes, those people that everyone on the street seems to know and want to talk to. The big thing I can say about these heroes is that they never saw this in themselves.

But when I think of those moments that have had a large impact on my life it's the large number and variety of people that qualify that surprises me the most.

Paddy (also known as Pop to me) had a huge amount of respect from all those who knew him. Both for events that happened during the war and being a member of the lifesavers in Wagga. But the stories always came from others wanting to thank this quiet, huge, man from the country, who would just hunker in and get things done. Grandpa was very similar his life was in public service management and in his spare time he designed tools and gadgets to help those with disabilities. These men taught me the humble life of walking a path of service to any and all around me which I now use as the central backbone of all aspects of my life.

My Nanna and Grandma filled in the knowledge that life should always have an element of fun, regardless of what you were actually doing at the time.

BUT, there have been many, many more. Homeless people who have dropped into my life for mere minutes adding to my understanding of the world around me, often I believe they thought they were merely having a chat with someone stuck at a bus-stop to fend off the loneliness of life. And while I can't tell you any of what they said the encounter has always been near to mind. No, at no point during these encounters did I feel afraid. Teachers, friends and those met during general life activities.

To all those who have added to my life; be it a couple of hours, days, months, or years; never forget or doubt your hero status.

Some of you had to watch strength fray (never easy to see) to have it worn at the edges, looking unsure, and yet you willing gave of your time and experience even when you were unsure of the value of your words. To those who allowed a mere youth to question your paradigm from a picture you couldn't see, but patiently tried to find answers. I give you thanks. Some of you have helped by offering anger and rejection, some of you have offered an invaluable sentence of hope, and others merely sat nearby a calm presence in a storm of dreams and wishes. Some of you are widely known, as Pop and Grandpa were. Some are people that would never draw anyone's attention even when tugging on another person's sleeve. Please know that at least I have seen you, heard you, and loved you for assisting a young girl to grow into a beautiful, strong force out to change the world. To make your story one that rings forth to help many. Even if only to let everyone who reads this that they truly aren't alone in life, wherever you are.

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Diana Trezona

I've always been crafty, mostly with cross-sticth and quilting, but when I met my husband and became part of the entertainment industry my creativity grew in leaps and bounds. And now I'm writing lots of things. So happy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.