Humans logo

Heartbroken?

How long does it take to fix a broken heart?

By Mae McCreeryPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Heartbroken?
Photo by Jake Melara on Unsplash

If you break your arm, it takes about 6-8 weeks to heal.

If you burn yourself touching a pan that's too hot, you get ice water and depending on the severity it could take a few or even a couple of weeks to heal.

  • How long does it take to heal a broken heart?
  • My boyfriend broke up with me last week and this is how its been so far:
  • Cried for 18 hours off and on
  • Ate copious amount of ice cream for two days
  • Watched the Holiday and cried
  • Treated TikTok as a flirting site
  • Considered starting an OnlyFans
  • Registered for a new semester at college
  • Continued working on my etsy shop to try and create a small business

I'm now at work, drinking coffee, working, and listening to Abigail Barlow and Emily Bear on TikTok live writing music for a Bridgerton Musical.

I don't feel 'fine' but I'm not holed up at home because I got dumped. I have to admit that its a first for me to be dumped and not be the one breaking up with someone. It was completely unexpected. One minute we were watching the Mandalorian and cuddling and then the next we were broken up and talking about if we could be friends.

You see, we were dating in secret. We work together and at first it was sexy to sneak around but 16 months later it was old, and I was tired of him looking over his shoulder when we were together.

It was so taxing to go back and forth about what we were to each other. One day I'd be with him and his family and we'd be drinking and playing games and really connecting and the next day at work, he'd barely say hello to me let alone stand 15 feet near me. Back and forth and back and forth and back and back again.

For over a year, to be yo-yo'd from the woman he'd say was the last one he'd ever kiss to being just another employee, I couldn't take it anymore.

So I told him, he could obviously never choose me over work and I was fine with that, but I could no longer live in the shadow of his work. So I removed myself from the equation and he let me go without question.

I'm heartbroken, more than I've ever been in my life. And yet, I don't cry about it. I feel sad and angry and cheated, he promised me more than what he could actually give me and like a lovelorn fool I believed him. Because I was in love with him. A deep passionate love that struck me harder than any other feeling I've ever had. When he used to kiss me, it felt like my entire nervous system was being electrified, and in the last few months we were together I didn't feel that anymore. Everything became about him, and why we had to wait just a little bit longer to reveal our relationship.

I asked for so little, I didn't want gifts or flowers or fancy dates, I just wanted him. I don't care about money or expensive clothes or jewelry, I just want someone to laugh with and to live with. I didn't think that could be such an extravagant request to make but apparently it is to some men.

I'm heartbroken, but it doesn't harden my heart or make me cry, I don't want to glower at him from a distance or wish that he has bad luck infuture relationships. I just want what any woman would want in this situation.

To wear outfits that make me feel and look like a million bucks, rock my newly dyed red hair, wear winged eye liner so sharp it could cut someone, and make him realize that he lost out on the greatest woman he'll ever have.

breakups
Like

About the Creator

Mae McCreery

I’m a 29 year old female that is going through a quarter life crisis. When my dream of Journalism was killed, I thought I was over writing forever. Turns out, I still have a lot to say.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.