Humans logo

Hard Lessons

Strength in Proportion to Suffering

By T L SmithPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
good friends

When confidence does not yield to cockiness, nor beauty to vanity, nor intelligence to putting on heirs, be sure an incredible story lies beneath the surface.

I met Jean at work. She helped many of my colleagues and myself during that year, but she was a savior to me in my first year on that job. I had bitten off more than I could chew. Her background in science would be a great asset to me, but her friendship so much more.

Jean, as I will call her, is worthy of much notoriety but desires none; hence, I disguise her name. I have known her for several years, and those granules of grandeur seep out over time, but never in their entirety. How do I know she is confident, beautiful, and intelligent?

She walks, dresses, and exudes confidence. Her gait is straight, upright, and purposeful. Her head is held high. One would never know in her brief appearances that she has the strength of a warrior and a heart of gold. She used the strength of her youth in farming, sports, and military service. Those are simply the things I know of. She held her weight in the larger than the average-sized family of her birth. She continues to provide for her current family, including the furry family indoors and out, and the fostered four-legged visitors. Those are just outward instances. Her inner strength is amazing. She battles an autoimmune condition. To see her effort in a day and all that she accomplishes (“not much” as she would say) puts to shame some people who are in good health and would complain. Complain? I don’t think the word is in her vocabulary. She has all types of reasons to be cocky, but she is not. It never shows. Not even a hint. Her choices in what she hides are only part of her charm.

She was very charming when first we met. She is also quite beautiful with a pleasant smile. I did not notice many of these things initially because as an introvert, I am always at first on guard. She was very kind and eager to help. She was always prepared and prompt. She was aware of my situation, being new to the area and not having transportation. She always extended herself to help me and even invite me to visit. I did not at first simply because that is how I am. Eventually, I did start taking her up on some of her invitations. It was not for months that I realized how far out of her way she goes to include me or help me. I don’t believe it was anything about me the caused her to extend her kindness and hospitality. Those are traits she witnessed growing up. I sense that her parents were also pretty amazing people. But all of these years later, I am so thankful that she welcomed me all those years ago.

Since that first year, I wish I could be with her so much more. I could learn so much. She is brilliantly book smart. After a visit to her home, I realize that at any time she could be involved in preparing delicious foods, working on crafts such as crocheting or cross-stitching, caring for critters, working on home improvements, making music, or researching something. Her hands are always busy. I think her mind is as well.

I ask Jean questions all of the time. She gives thoughtful answers in more specific and understandable detail than I get from the internet. She is my personal search engine because she knows so much about so many things. She is also extremely encouraging. Sometimes she remains silent to let me work through a personal conflict. Perhaps she was not feeling well enough to answer immediately. It has happened that, in not feeling well or being very busy, she has not been able to respond right away. I don’t take that personally. She gives what she can when she can. When she gives, she does so abundantly from the heart. All of these absolutely wonderful traits from being silent to searching for truth stem from her knowledge. Her knowledge comes from experience. Her strength is from the difficultly. She is beautiful outwardly, but so much more inwardly. Everyone she welcomes in will witness the wonder of her grace.

friendship
2

About the Creator

T L Smith

I have many interests and a few talents. I have liked to write since I was in middle school. I have not done much with my writing except to amuse my friends. My main focus is on teaching and caring for my family.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.