Humans logo

Growing

The lake is calm like a huge mirror, reflecting the night sky without stars and moon. Between the lake and the sky, the forest in the near distance, and the buildings in the far distance.

By VioletHoltPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Growing
Photo by Hannah Rodrigo on Unsplash

Night, no wind.

The lake is calm like a huge mirror, reflecting the night sky without stars and moon. Between the lake and the sky, the forest in the near distance, and the buildings in the far distance. With their undulating curves outlining the mysterious contours of the horizon, the night sky and the lake, are two axes of symmetry in the vastness of space.

There was not a single car on the road, not even a single person. At this quiet moment, there was a loud noise coming from nowhere.

The sound grew louder and louder, from one end of the room to the other end. The collision was intertwined and tangled. Indeed, it was from our dormitory that this earth-shattering sound came. Among this sound, there was even a little fire dryness. It was me and my best friend.

We accused each other, and other people in the dorm room were involved in this incident. The dorm room was like a thundering, boiling furnace. The vast majority of the dorm room favored her. I was instantly like a dry duck in the water. I no longer had any hope for life. I held back my tears and silently told myself, "You can't cry, crying means you're weak, you've failed." I stuffed my tears back hard. What followed was a long string of events that had long been covered in dusty yesteryear. The roommates all accused me, but I couldn't refute them, because I did do those things, and besides, I didn't do anything wrong. Is it wrong to do the right thing now? I wish someone would stand up for me, but they didn't, like a deer at the end of its rope surrounded by a pack of hungry wolves.

Events slip past us little by little, without mercy, like a sharp knife cutting through your fingertips, can you still let the wounded scar back to its original state? I cold sweat, my heart dialed cold, I still can not stand it, I put forward the last request to them - cut off, the dormitory was suddenly silent. At this point, I felt the little droplets of water in the sky frozen still, this moment, time stood still. She did not agree. But after that we are not as inseparable as before, you catch up with me, we are on our own, and each does not care. There is no difference with the passers-by.

After a short time, many girls in the class began to know something about me. The rumors eventually reached my ears, and I was as confused as a monk. I didn't know who told them, so I began to question them, they told me directly that she said, I was very angry, I wanted to slap her in front of her, but I did not do; I wanted to report to her teacher that such behavior, but I still did not do. Because I know we were still friends after all. Still playing together as partners. I made a very serious solution and one that cut off any contact I had with him.

The night was late, the trees were asleep, the flowers were asleep, and the lights were off. Nature was silent. The wind beat against the windows, making a rustling sound that reached all corners through the cracks. No one in the dormitory spoke, I resolutely sat up, facing in his direction, I surface calm and calm, but inwardly, I was afraid to say to her: "Let's ...... cut off the friendship." This is not said lightly, just inaudible, I thought she would disagree as before, unexpectedly, she agreed, and we again remained silent and eerily silent. Every night after that, I, therefore, hid my head under the covers and cried, sad and upset ...... because I had lost a friend.

After that, we were no longer friends, but strangers.

Finally, in the end, I, transferred to another school. Left the place that made me carry a heavy burden. Left and relaxed; relaxed and left!

Slowly, I learned. Maybe she used to be your friend, but after that, she won't consider your friendship important.

Some people, just passing through your life.

You and she are destined to walk parallel lines.

friendship
Like

About the Creator

VioletHolt

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.