Humans logo

Gravity

Another open letter to my beloved.

By Radio S. Published 2 months ago 4 min read
Like
Gravity
Photo by Daoudi Aissa on Unsplash

There is something special about the kind of love that we have. It's the kind of love that people spend their whole lives looking for, and rarely find. The lucky few that do, are the richest people in the world despite what their monetary situation may be.

I wanted the kind of love that my grandparents have. ALl three sets of them. Allow me to explain.

I wanted the kind of love that my grandfather and grandmother have on my biological male parental's side of the family. Their love is that of best friends; they genuinely enjoy each other's company, and while they have their good and bad days, they are able to work through them and eventually resolve them. My grandfather could be dozing in his easy chair while my grandmother reads with the television on, maybe some music, the radio, or just silence in the background. Just being near each other is enough, and I can feel how much they love each other just by being around them. They love each other in an almost quiet way, in a way that makes the small gestures the biggest, and the large gestures all the more special and appreciated.

That is the kind of love we have; the quiet kind that whispers I love you in the silence between us, the music playing, or the television quietly murmuring to itself as we do our separate activities.

I wanted the kind of love that my grandmother and grandfather on my mother's side of the family have. Love that could laugh and be childish, the kind of love that heals what feels broken, the kind of love that says I'll love you through this in every shared glance through smiling eyes. No matter how much of a smartass my grandfather is, my grandmother smiles and laughs along with him (most of the time). Through thick and thin, rich and poor, sickness and health, they have been through it all and are still standing, the same could be said about all of my grandparents to be honest. The love they have is loud and strong, something that has the warmth and radiance of the sun, but is immovable and strong as the hardest of rocks.

That is the kind of love we have; the loud kind that laughs and stands tall no matter what life has to throw at it; the kind that says I'll love you through it as I ask more and more patience of you, and you demand more changes out of me.

Lastly, I wanted the kind of love that my great grandparents on my biological male paternal unit's side of the family. The kind of love that lasted long after my great grandmother died, and ultimately came back from beyond the grave towards the end of my great grandfather's life. This is the kind of love that says I'll love you forever in the whisper of the wind when we're apart, or the warmth of the sun on your skin. I will never forget what my grandmother told me about him after he died: he said that he had a dream my great grand mother had kissed his forehead. Not a day goes by that I don't miss him, but I know that he is with my great grandmother again. Their love was so resilient, that not even death could ultimately keep them apart.

That is the kind of love we have; the eternal kind that will stand the test of time and overcome death itself; the kind that says I'll love you forever in the stillness of the night as our family lays asleep. The kind that ties us together in life and in death.

I wanted those types of love when I was a child, and I got what I wanted and then some when I met you and ultimately fell in love. I continue to fall deeper and deeper every day, and sometimes the love that I feel for you is so overwhelming that I just stare at you, wishing you knew how much you mean to me, drowning in the amount of love that I have for you.

Thank you for meeting the standards I had set as a child, and exceeding them beyond my wildest dreams. Thank you for being the person I get to spend the rest of my life with. Thank you for letting me be a part of your journey. Thank you for everything, I love you more than you'll ever know.

-Radio

marriagelove
Like

About the Creator

Radio S.

One of the best things we have is our imagination. In the words of Robin Williams; "You're only given one little spark of madness, you mustn't lose it.".

Instagram: radiostar66613

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.