Humans logo

Good People

Quarters and a dollar. Three people. One world.

By M R HerringPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

The best thing happened today!

I can't believe it and yet it happened!

I got home and I realized there's no cat food. With very little left in the gas tank, I drove to the store to get a good, healthy brand of cat food for my fur babies. I've been very busy these past several days, driving for hundreds of miles on four hours of sleep in the last couple days. My car is having his issues, he's hungry, I'm hungry, everybody's hungry! I'm in the car on the road to Safeway, my windows are down, the passenger window is stuck, the a.c. ain't working and I'm sweating like a dog. I go through the last light and pull into the driveway. Find a close enough parking spot. And I turn my car off. I sit there for possibly a good five minutes, counting. Quarters and a dollar. There were so many, I had to count thrice, to make sure I had enough for the cat food. I knew it would be at least $13.

I couldn't stay in the car any longer, it was too hot. I weirdly walked towards and into the store, my pants sticking to my legs. First, search for "cat food" sign. And voila, found it quick. I grabbed what I knew my fur babies liked best, and then off to the conveyer belt. A woman was in front of me and a moment later she let me go before her, to buy my one item. I thanked her, and proceeded to ask if quarters were all right to pay for my item. The other lady said yeah, of course. She's had people bring quarters to her, even pennies here and on the buses. I assume she drove city buses. These two were really sweet, and kind, and caring. I began to take one set of four quarters at a time out of the ziploc bag, counting and handing them to her. She also took $2 dollars off the price of the item. I was confused, but really thankful for these women's kindness, and then again began counting and putting four more quarters into her hand. I thanked the woman again for letting me go before her. And a guy, behind the woman, said aloud to the cashier woman and I if he could pay for my cat food. I was like.....oh...uh...

This was all so peculiar to me because this situation has never happened to me before. I was in a moment of complete joy, and surprise, that these people are so amazing. I couldn't believe it, and yet here we go. Good, good people. The man didn't want it to seem weird or anything, and it wasn't weird. I'm so thankful that he helped pay for the cat food, and that the woman let me go before her, and that the other woman was kind to me too. This moment really, really made my day. They don't even know me, I don't even know them. Maybe we don't need to. We just... be there to help pick each other up... who's fallen or who's in need of seeing and knowing an act of kindness and feeling what that feels like. I thanked them all again. I grabbed the cat food. Held it tight. I walked away with a smile on my face. I almost cried. I looked back and smiled. Walked to the car and tried to catch my breath. Aaaaah! I'm gonna cry right now. They have no idea, or maybe they do, of how much they've helped me today. These good people. Good people are real, okay? It might take a very, very long time to see that once, in one lifetime. And sometimes, when you open your eyes and your heart, you may even see many acts of kindness in your life, and brought into other peoples lives, or you create those moments of kindess into people's lives. And it's world-shifting. What I mean is.... These moments are beautiful. Give Love. I just thought of that song by Andy Grammer. It's such a wonderful song. Give love, expect nothing in return, love and care for yourself as well. And the unexpected will often occur, just open your eyes! Just...believe, if only a little bit. Believe that the world has good people. People who are there to back people up. People who really, truly care, and are compassionate and imperfectly perfect, just the way they are meant to be. I didn't want to forget this, I don't think I could, but just in case, I've written it down. And I'd like to share it with you. Someone's helped you today, then maybe tomorrow you'll help somebody up when they fall.

Thank you. 072921

humanity
1

About the Creator

M R Herring

She aspires to be a linguist, an author, an entrepreneur, and actress. She's overcome every nightmare in her world, and now she's headed down the wonderful path of life to make her dreams come alive!

wattpad.com/story/273523996?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.