Humans logo

Good Grief Part One

The Five Stages of Grief

By J. Delaney-HowePublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - July 2023
32
Good Grief Part One
Photo by Alfredo Viramontes on Unsplash

“The weird, weird thing about devastating loss is that life actually goes on. When you're faced with a tragedy, a loss so huge that you have no idea how you can live through it, somehow, the world keeps turning, and the seconds keep ticking.”

James Patterson, Angel

My mother passed away recently. While I knew I would experience grief and a sense of loss, I was caught off guard by the level at which the grief would cripple me. The thought of going on without my mother seemed so overwhelming; almost impossible. Yet life goes on. Time still passes. All the activities of living need to continue.

I had cared for my mother for five months before she passed, the last month being hospice care. We knew her death was imminent. I don’t think I have allowed myself to grieve, and in doing so, I became depressed. At my counselor’s suggestion, I started researching grief and how to get through it. So that is what I did.

What is grief?

According to the American Psychological Association:

Grief is the anguish experienced after a significant loss, usually the death of a beloved person. Grief often includes physiological distress, separation anxiety, confusion, yearning, obsessive dwelling on the past, and apprehension about the future. Intense grief can become life-threatening through disruption of the immune system, self-neglect, and suicidal thoughts. Grief may also take the form of regret for something lost, remorse for something done, or sorrow for a mishap to oneself.

We all experience grief sometime in our life. I have experienced grief several times during my life. My ex-wife and I lost two baby girls during pregnancy. My father passed away in 2010, and most recently, my mother passed away in February. Grief is a shared human experience.

What Are the Stages of Grief?

The five stages of grief are a model designed for helping terminal people come to terms with their own death. Elisabeth Kubler-Ross found this model to be so helpful that she soon adapted it for grief as well. She wrote “On Death and Dying” in 1969. The five stages of grief are listed below in no particular order. Working through the five stages isn’t necessarily a linear process. The five stages are Denial, Anger, Bargaining, Depression, and Acceptance.

Denial

It is common in the early days of grief to feel emotionally numb. Others carry on the tasks of day-to-day life like nothing has happened. It is common to feel the passed loved one, and even hear their voice and see them. Feeling emotionally numb and just moving on with life is denial.

Anger

People tend to forget that anger is a perfectly natural human reaction to grief. It seems that everyone else going about life around them can be a trigger for anger as well. You may be angry with yourself if you feel like you left things unsaid or you could not be around much. You may even feel angry at the loved one who passed.

Bargaining

When dealing with the loss of a loved one, sometimes it is difficult to accept that there is nothing we can do about it and we cannot change it. People in grief start making deals with themselves and with God or your higher power. They believe that acting a certain way will make them feel better. People go over and over the last days in their minds, asking what-if questions.

Depression

There is a sadness and a longing that causes pain. It comes in waves and can be so intense it is crippling. Actual grieving can last for weeks, months, and even years. Life doesn’t seem to hold meaning anymore. The depression caused by grief can wreak havoc on your body, from not getting good sleep and eating less or more than usual, to not getting enjoyment from the things you used to. If you are feeling hopelessly depressed, this would be the time to reach out for help. A trusted friend, and trusted spiritual leader, and therapy are all good ways to get help.

If you or someone you know is speaking or acting suicidal, please go to the nearest hospital to get evaluated and to see if treatment is needed. There is no shame in getting help with depression while you are grieving.

Acceptance

As stated above, grief comes in waves, and it is easy to feel like you are drowning. Gradually the pain eases. You can think about your past loved one and even smile. Everyone grieves differently, and grief still pops up once you have worked through the stages of grief. You start to accept the loss. It may feel like your world will never be the same, and it won’t. A profound loss changes people. In this stage, you can learn to live again while keeping your lost loved ones in mind.

Thank you for reading my article on grief. I know this process all too well, and I am just now in the acceptance stage. I hope you learned a couple of things from this piece. In Part 2, we will discuss self-care during the grieving process.

I am sharing an article by my friend Rick. This article is a great piece and goes hand in hand with what we are talking about. His piece is from a male perspective and is featured in the Vocal community “Men”.

If you liked my work, please consider leaving me a heart and a comment. If you are so moved, you could help support my writing and pledge your support for $2.99 a month and setting up a vocal account is free and is a great way to expand your reading habits.

More of my work can be found below. Feel free to ask questions in the comments!

how tohumanityfamilyCONTENT WARNING
32

About the Creator

J. Delaney-Howe

Bipolar poet. Father. Grandfather. Husband. Gay man. I write poetry, prose, some fiction and a good bit about family. Thank you for stopping by.

Queer Vocal Voices on Facebook.

Find me on Facebook.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Cendrine Marrouat7 months ago

    Grief is such a weird thing, isn't it? It comes and goes in waves, and just clings to us until we are finally able to let it go. When I cared for my grandmother during the last months of her life, I remember forcing myself to start grieving right away. It was a fascinating experience, because our relationship grew to a level that we had never reached when she was healthy. When she passed away, with a smile on her face, I felt relief and a new appreciation for life. Thank you for reminding us of what matters, Jim! My condolences on your loss.

  • This was so touching. I lost my mom in 2018, and it completely knocked me down. Thank you for sharing such an important message

  • Discerning Love and Congratulations on your Beautiful Top Story💯❤️😉🎉📝

  • Thank you for sharing this important piece. I got a lot from reading it. Congratulations on your Top Story!!!

  • Zeeshan May9 months ago

    A heartfelt and insightful exploration of the human experience, tenderly guiding us through the intricate journey of grief with empathy and understanding. 🌷💕https://vocal.media/authors/zeeshan-may

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Awesome & thank you for sharing!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Judey Kalchik 9 months ago

    So appreciate and am proud of you for sharing your personal experience to educate and support others.

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    So sorry for your loss. And thank you for taking the time and effort to create this informative, self-help article. Out of the 5 stages I think I was most affected by bargaining and acceptance. I asked myself a ton of what if questions throughout the first few months after my mother passed. Life does go on but in the midst of these life challenges it stops for me. Thanks you giving me additional ways of coping when the next time life stops. 💖

  • Margaret Brennan9 months ago

    First off, I'm sorry for your loss. I understand completely what you're going through. My mom lived with me for the last 5 years of her life. She was an invalid who couldn't walk, was also blinded from macular degeneration, and had dementia. She was also in massive pain due to cancer. While I knew her death was days away, that last final day took my breath away and caused so much pain and anguish in my heart. Mom's been gone now 6 years and I still can't walk in her old bedroom without tearing up. Yes, life goes on and the memories stay forever. When I get saddened beyond words, I look at the photo I took of her the day before she died and remember that while I will always miss her, she's in a better place and smile as I pray to her for her continued guidance. Thank you helping me through another bought of the "blues".

  • Mariann Carroll9 months ago

    I was so glad you finally created a story in a long time 😍🥰I am sure a lot will benefit from this, thank you

  • Excellent article. Thank you for writing this, J. For me, this serves more as familiar review for virtually all of my life. The first funeral I attended was for my maternal grandfather, someone I knew as loving & fun, always ready to give us rides on his shin as he sat in his chair. I was a toddler. I've studied Kubler-Ross & her colleagues, taught classes on them, relied upon them during my years both as pastor & hospice volunteer, & struggled to recognize them in myself at various times in my life. I've walked with others through miscarriage, but never experienced it myself. I understand that often if not usually others tend to treat it as only a minor loss. I know that's not the case, & my heart & prayers go out to the two of you. Blessings.

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    Thanks for writing this one Jim. It hit home! Excellent work! Sending a hug of support your way. Sorry 4 your loss!

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    This explains much about my mental state and the stages of it after losing my mom in 2020, just a few days after my birthday. Thanks for sharing it, and my sincere condolences, again.

  • C. H. Richard9 months ago

    Also again wanted to give you my condolences for the loss of your mom ♥️

  • C. H. Richard9 months ago

    I'm always caught off guard by what things will still give me that pain of grief. Had many changes happen recently and found that still there are times I wish I could either one of my parents. Thank you for writing and sharing. Well done ♥️

  • Oneg In The Arctic9 months ago

    Thank you for writing this. I’m so sorry for your recent loss, and everything that’s been heavy and going on. Sending strength your way. Coincidently both you and Rick published about grief today, the day where I finally broke contact with my parents (it needed to be done, the abusive relationship was beyond toxic and this day was coming for years already). Grief is a heavy and complex thing. But we keep on.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.