Humans logo

Ghanians AFCON Colorist Rant Calling Cabo Verde Team "Light Skin N-ggers"

What their skin shade has to do with a football match I have no idea

By IwriteMywrongsPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 4 min read
Like
Collage Created By Author

Sunday, 4 February 2024

By; TB Obwoge

I was scanning TikTok after I had just made a post, when I heard a ranting man, he was pretending to cry, while playing music in what appeared to be his room. I clicked on his currently Live video, only to find out he was a Ghanian man upset about his teams loss which booted them out of AFCON2023.

For some reason I started screen-recording when the man starting using colorists words about his skin color and that of the team from Cabo Verde.

FYI The Republic of Cabo Verde changed its official name from The Republic of Cape Verde on 24 October 2013 in a request submitted to the Secretary-General by the country's Permanent Representative to the United Nations.

I try to be respectful of a country as they want their official names to be pronounced much like, Cote d'Ivoire, AFCON's host country. Cote d'Ivoire's government has asked that its name not be translated into any other languages, english included.

I lived in a Hell in Ghana, no one seems to care or even believe me when I say, being a light skin Black woman in Ghana is a nightmare. Several people living in Ghana in an expat group claim that its an advantage, they then bring up this multiracial Ghanian that says it is an advantage for her being mixed race. 

She is one of them, there is a big difference being Ghanian, then being a foreigner, with light skin and the American accent makes people deny you the advantage of being a Black person. Ghana's DJ Black, wanted to explain to me how "We Africans don't consider Blacks from America Black people!" I made him stop because, I didn't want to hear the bullshit. 

By the way Dj Black of Ghana is the same man that told me I'm a typical angry Black American woman, he also called all Black Americans lost when he was in New York City.

Screenshot from TikTok Live ME on the right and DJ Black Ghana on the LEFT it was 12:30 am EST I was writing an article and very tired but he requested I go Live with him so I accepted

I was scanning TikTok after I had just made a post, when I heard a ranting man, he was pretending to cry, while playing music in what appeared to be his room. I clicked on his currently Live video, only to find out he was a Ghanian man upset about his teams loss which booted them out of AFCON2023.

For some reason I started screen-recording when the man starting using colorists words about his skin color and that of the team from Cabo Verde.

Any way the Ghanian was very upset, he refused to even pronounced Cape Verde correctly, let alone call them Cabo Verde, in his rant he said "we" never heard of you. He then tries to clean that statement up by saying we heard of you in passing, no one really knows you. 

He was speaking for the entire 30.8 million people in Ghana, aslo according to his profile and name the GaBrit doesn't live in Ghana, yet still holds onto the obsession with skin shade. 

Here you can watch the video that I posted to my YouTube page, I watched the video for a long time before thinking of screen recording, I asked the man what did their skin shade have to do with anything? I also left the Live and returned back because of connect issues on my end, let me know what you think about his comments.

Here is a video of the Cabo Verde (Cape Verde) team so you can see them as well, since he's talking about them.

And another video with more team, players that I posted onto my TikTok account!

I will say this over and over again, I don't care what anyone thinks, Ghanians live in a culture of bullying. There was a book written by a Ghanian about the word, they created for the bullying that takes place in SHS (Senior High School). 

Recently in a viral video a young man had his head cracked on a metal bunk bed in the boarding school in Cape Coast Ghana. The boy only allowed an older boy to borrow his Sim card, when he asked for the Sim back the boy beat the shit out of him, cracking his head on video, while boys laughed and recorded. 

In another video of Ghana Crimes, there were 3 people murdered in Ghana, the video was posted to Twitter, dozens of Ghanians recorded video while 1 man was still alive, rolling around and dying on the ground. They posted this video on different platforms, no one thought it was odd that not one person offered help, the 3 people died while being recorded, no shock or concern from anyone.

This is much like the street bullying Ghanians do to anyone and everyone, especially women alone. 

In Ghana, studies suggest that gender inequality, socioeconomic disparities, and cultural norms associated with gender roles can create an atmosphere conducive to aggressive behavior and bullying.

NOTE: This Ghanian saw my video posted on Instagram and she decided to insult me, she doesn't think it's mean invoke colorism.

screenshot from Instagram

screenshot from Instagram

This is why colorism is very important to me, I want to make this known and I want it to change, because in Africa it is worse than the United States.

Thank you for reading 🙏🏽 Please consider buying a coffee for Lacey’s House efforts in Gender Equality & Children’s Rights as it tries to move international.

©️TB Obwoge 2023 All Rights Reserved

humanitysocial mediaCONTENT WARNING
Like

About the Creator

IwriteMywrongs

I'm the president of a nonprofit. I've lived in 3 countries, I love to travel, take photos and help children and women around the world! One day I pray an end to Child Marriages, Rape and a start to equal Education for ALL children 🙏🏽

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.