Humans logo

Frostbite on the Zipline

Chills, thrills, spills, and hospital bills

By Barbara AndresPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Top Story - January 2022
3
Frostbite on the Zipline
Photo by Avel Chuklanov on Unsplash

Hey, I’m Canadian, eh? Like every other Canuck, I was born in a snow bunny suit with ice skates on my feet and mittens on my hands.

Sorry. I wasn’t. I was born in the Great White North, but my immigrant parents never caught the snow sport bug, so they didn’t pass it down to me. Still, I was born there, so I must love snow sports, eh? God knows, my home and native land tried its best to make a believer out of me.

The Neighborhood Yeti

At age four, when I wanted to go outside to play after a snowstorm, my mother bundled me up. By the time she tied the finishing touch, a hat with flaps, under my chin, I was as wide as I was tall. Immobilized by all the layers and my tiny T-Rex arms, I could only watch as my dad and brother built, not a benign Frosty-clone, but a monster. Dad marched to the tune of his own drum, so no snowman of his would ever be the usual three snowballs, a carrot nose, and twigs for arms. No, Dad’s attempt at realism resulted in a passable yeti with fully formed arms and legs, realistic enough to send anyone screaming. With that, I, tiny accessory to the creation of the neighborhood nightmare, began a fraught childhood relationship with winter recreation.

Mmmmmm — OW!

At six, I did what every kid does with fresh snow: I took a bite. Which would have been lovely, except the snow I chomped was on a metal fence, it was 8 degrees Fahrenheit, and you know the rest. It took an hour to melt my tongue off that fence and restore it, worse for wear, to my mouth.

Tubing

Losing a few skin cells still didn’t convince me that snow and I could never be friends. At age 10, I went tubing with friends. Tubing, if you grew up without snow, is loading as many kids as you can on a tractor-size inner tube. Then, a hard shove off the peak of the tallest, steepest hill you can find, and you’re off. Note: an inner tube does not go down a hill in a straight line like a toboggan. It whirls and twirls and bumps and jumps and tries to dump its cargo all over the hill, or, better yet, at the bottom in a tangle of arms and legs, as happened that day.

Skating

Unlike most kids I knew who could skate at age three, I never learned, so when neighbors flooded their yard and made a rink, the best I could do was an awkward slip-slide on snow boots. This changed when I went to winter camp at age 14 and finally learned to skate. Roller skate, that is. I came back from camp battered, bruised, and determined to take my new skating skills to the ice. Polished wood and Zamboni’d ice, four wheels and a single blade, are exactly the same, right? So, I rented skates at the City Hall rink, then circled the rink with all the finesse of a hippo on a tightrope.

At this point, I should mention that I am not the most graceful person. I fall off flats when walking, so if I strap on skates, snowshoes, or skis, it is likely I will not stay upright. Fortunately, snow is soft.

Unfortunately, ice is hard.

Skiing

As for skis, I never indulged downhill as heights and I don’t agree, but when I was 18, my best friend and I drove her smokin’ hot black Firebird with flames on the hood (I still miss that car) up to Lake Simcoe and rented cross-country skis. I figured, we were on flat ground so what could go wrong? We headed out through the woods, over a hill, and down to the lakeshore. Oh, my. Great fun until we found ourselves in the middle of the lake, the shore on the distant horizon. To this day, I can hear the groans the ice made each time we moved a ski. We glanced at each other, said, “Oh, shit,” and hightailed it back to shore. What? I‘m still here, aren’t I?

No thanks, I’ll stay here by the fire

Soon after that, I moved to Florida and then to California and, for a few years, encountered not one flake of snow. I didn’t miss it, either. Then, in the mid-80s, some work friends, my first husband, and I started a tradition of going up to Big Bear for white Christmas. Of course, I’d get carsick on the hairpin curves up the mountain and arrive Kermit-green each time, but fortunately, by then, I knew enough to stay off the ice rink or the slopes. Warm, dry, and safe, I spent the holidays catching up on videos by a roaring fire, then hurled my way home.

Frostbite on the zipline?

As for winter ziplining, while I did do a zipline tour in Big Bear, it was 80 degrees and steamy, even worse with all the gear. But, I had a great time. Roaring down progressively longer ziplines, I only yanked my arms out of their sockets once while braking at the end of the run. Hey, that’s a good thing! When ziplining, it is better to come in hot than brake too soon, slide back on the line, and hang, helpless as a turtle on its back, until someone reels you in. During the tour, I asked the guide about winter ziplining and he explained it was great fun, but frostbite and frozen ziplines were a real risk. He even shared a hair-raising anecdote.

Since a St. Bernard with a keg of brandy can’t climb that high, and since I’m well past my Canadian snow bunny days, I’ll pass.

Eh?

family
3

About the Creator

Barbara Andres

Late bloomer. Late Boomer. I speak stories in many voices. Pull up a chair, grab a cup of tea, and stay awhile.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.