Humans logo

Finding a Way

Chapters 1&2

By Allison CainPublished 3 years ago 15 min read
Like

Ten Years Ago…

The King and Queen lived happily with their five-year-old daughter and their subjects. The land of Spiron was peaceful until war broke out on the Eastern border. King Devlin rallied up his soldiers and went to fight. A year passed, the Princess turned six and Queen Rory stayed locked in her chambers looking to the east, watching, waiting for the return of the king.

“Open the gates! The king has returned!"

Kella waited as patiently as she could, wringing her hands, then twirling her hair in her fingers.

“Kella, stop fidgeting the gates will be open soon enough,” whispered her nurse.

“I can’t help it; it’s been over a year since he left. I’ve waited enough don’t you think?” she whispered back, looking at all the people around her awaiting the king's arrival.

“Yes but…” Nora’s breath flew out of her at once and she fell to her knees. Women around her screamed, Kella turned to see her father draped over his horse’s neck dead…

“NO!” Kella shouted sitting up in bed tears burning rivers down her cheeks. Nice dream to have on my birthday. Kella thought sliding out of bed to open the curtains. She stretched almost cat like and looked out across the lake. It is not yet dawn. I am up way too early. She looked back at the messy bed sheets thoughtfully, But I cannot go back to sleep now.

A soft knock on the door brought her out of her thoughts; she smoothed down her nightgown and faced the door, “Come in. Kael! What are you doing here?”

“I was walking by on my way to do my chores and I heard the lady yell, thinking ‘oh tis a damsel in distress!’ So I stopped to investigate.” He grinned a side grin that made Kella’s knees wobble.

She giggled and threw a pillow at him, “I am not a damsel in distress I had a bad dream that’s all.”

His grin faded, “Another one? Is it the same one or a different one?”

“It’s the same one that it always has been, but this time…” She trailed off tears blurring her vision, “It was so real like I was really standing there waiting for the gates to open. Just to see his horse ride through…” She couldn’t finish sobs racked her body, within seconds she felt warm arms wrap around her.

Kael’s rumbling voice washed over her, “Sh… It's alright, the dream is over now that was a long time ago.”

She settled into his embrace, and he held her until her body stopped shaking. She pushed away and wiped the tears of her face. “Great birthday so far don’t you think?” she asked looking back at Kael.

“Yea sure, if you count the lovely sunrise, and a visit from your best friend, first thing in the morning.” He grinned again.

“Ha, I was being sarcastic.” She smiled.

“I know, I was trying to lighten the mood, speaking of birthdays…” Kael started rummaging through his pockets looking for something.

Kella took the moment to look at Kael. He was a full 5’8, with brown hair and brown eyes that sometimes looked hazel. Memories of times before the war filled her mind. You won’t ever find me Kael! Kella and Kael were playing hide and seek, it was her turn to hide, Kael was spinning around in circles trying to discover her. “Not fair Kella you’re wearing green!” She giggled as he got closer. “So you’re not gonna talk back either?” Her laugh escaped before she could stop it. “Found you!” he tagged her and ran down a side path.

“Finally, I found it.” Kael brought her thoughts back; he held a small box out to her.

“Is that what I think it is?” Kella asked, taking the box and rolling it over in her hands.

“Why don’t you open it and find out?” He had that side grin again.

Kella untied the ribbon and lifted the lid revealing an amber teardrop pendant on a silver chain. A look of wonder crossed her face, “This is the same one from the traveling market stall?”

“Yes.” He replied a mysterious grin spreading across his face.

Pulling it out of the box she watched it catch the light for a moment before saying, “But how, they left only a couple of hours after I was dragged back to the castle.”

“The minute I was able to I went back to the stall and bought it. It was a good thing I went when I did, this old hag had her eye on it.”

Kella giggled, “Oh really? Help me put this on.”

Kael walked over and took the necklace from her; she held her hair up and away from her neck. Kella felt the back of the cold chain hit her neck and she turned around. Only to come face to face with Kael at a distance that wasn’t normal for the two of them. Kael’s face turned red, as he stumbled over words that refused to form.

Kella felt the blood rise in her cheeks; “Um” was all that she could manage without stumbling too. After about another second she took a step back and tried again only to have Kael start first.

“So you like it right?” Worry a slight hint in his voice.

“Of course I like it! Why wouldn’t I?”

“I don’t know, guess I’m just being silly is all.” He grinned the side grin again.

She felt her mouth creep up into a smile like it always did when he smiled at her this way, “I’ve always loved the little things you’ve given me.” I love you.

“Kella?”

“Hmm?”

“Where did you go?”

She brought her gaze back to his, “What do you mean?”

“You did that thing where you gaze off into the distance for a few minutes, usually when you’re thinking about something.”

“Oh, really? I never realized I did it.” She smiled at him, and started when a knock sounded on the door.

“Kella? It's Nora, are you awake yet?”

“Oh no, if she comes in here with you still here we’ll both be in trouble,” she whispered while dragging him toward her big mirror. She touched a flower on the frame and a door slid open revealing a secret passage.

“How?” Kael began but Kella cut him off.

“Not now. This goes all the way to the kitchens there are glow worms to light the path. I’ll find you later, under the willow tree.” She quickly kissed him on the cheek and shoved him through the door.

It had just finished sliding into place when her room door opened.

“Kella why didn’t you answer me, I’ve been standing out there for ten minutes.”

“You over exaggerate. It was only five and you know it!” Kella returned with a smile.

Nora walked over and took Kella’s hands in her own and looked her over. “It seems only yesterday you were fifteen.” Placing her hand on her head then up to Kella’s, “You’ve grown to!” Nora smiled.

“Silly Nora, I’ve been taller than you for years now, and it was only yesterday!”

Kella and Nora stared at each other for a moment more, and then burst into laughter.

“Oh! I almost forgot we need to get you dressed.”

“Whatever for?”

“Your mother wants to see you.”

“She wants to see me? She’s awake!?” Kella’s jaw dropped open.

Nora nodded, “I was surprised to, and apparently she wants you in her rooms in ten minutes.”

“That doesn’t give us a lot of time does it?” Kella walked over to her wardrobe and started looking through her dresses.

While straightening Kella’s bed Nora called out, “She wants you to wear that silver dress that you got for your birthday last year.”

Kella turned around holding a green dress, “But I wanted to wear my green one. Besides, my silver one is a year old.” She finished pouting.

“It may be a year old but you just got it refitted the other day.”

Kella sighed, “I bet my mom has something planned, she only ever wants me to wear the silver one when I’m supposed to spend the day with a possible suitor.”

“Suitor or not, what your mother says goes. Now pull out your silver dress and go get changed.”

Kella put the green dress away, pulled out the silver dress and went behind her changing screen. Nora shook her head and straightened the last of the pillows; she picked up the box from the floor and looked at it.

Kella came out from behind the screen braiding her hair, “Nora, can you lace me… up.” Her sentence was lost in a slight intake of breath when she saw Nora holding the box.

“Kella what is this?”

“Um, an early birthday present…”

Nora raised an eyebrow, “Let me guess, Kael decided he would bring you a birthday present before you got pulled away by the festivities?”

Kella bit her lip, “Sort of.”

“What do you mean sort of?” Nora crossed her arms over her chest.

“Well,” Kella started to fiddle with her pinky finger, “I had a nightmare and apparently screamed in my sleep conveniently, when he was walking past my room. So he came in and was like a damsel! And I said no, and then I got emotional because of the dream, so he did what Kael does and made me feel better. I was sarcastic and said lovely birthday so far. He laughed and said, “speaking of birthdays… then he pulled the box out of his tunic.”

“You let him out through the mirror door didn’t you?” Nora turned her around and started lacing her dress.

“Yes... How did you know about that?” Kella looked over her shoulder at her with wonder.

“All the older servants know about every single passageway in the castle, secret or not.”

Kella thought for a moment, and then looked up at Nora, “That’s how you got in my room, after I blocked the door!!”

“You just now figured that out? How did you find out about that passage?” Nora patted her back to let her know she was done.

Kella faced her blushed and fiddled with her necklace, “I was sitting in daddy’s study with Duke,” Nora looked at her sharply, cats were not allowed in the library, “I know. Anyway we were in there and Duke was sitting on the bookshelf in the sun and when he stretched he knocked a book off the shelf. When I picked it up to put it back a map fell out.”

“What book was it?”

“It wasn’t just a book. It was daddy’s journal.”

“Your mother looked and looked for that thing for months while he was gone. When she didn’t find it she figured he had it with him.”

“I found it on the fourth anniversary of that… that day. Even then I still wanted to believe that he wasn’t really gone, I guess in a way he wasn’t.” Kella half smiled and blinked back tears. “Didn’t you ever wonder how I was able to disappear from lessons and from all the suitors? It was because of the map, and the note.”

“I had wondered and I had a slight clue but nothing close to you finding that map. What did you do with it?”

“I burned it.”

“You did what!?” Nora started.

A few tears dripped down her face, “Daddy told me to!’

Nora’s face softened, “How?”

“The note that fell out with the map, was,”

‘My baby girl,

I know that I might not come back from this war; I don’t like the conditions or the possible reasons for this act of war. If I don’t come back I want you to go through my journal and solve the puzzles that I know you love. I put certain things away because there may be a traitor among my counsel; these papers are slight evidence as to the traitor's’ identity. You are a smart, clever girl, and I’m sure you will figure this out before anything else happens. The map that you have found is the only map of the castle's secret passages that exists. Memorize it, and when you have completely memorized it burn it, so that it does not fall into the wrong hands. You can keep this note only if you hide it in a place where you know no one will ever find it. I have faith that you can do this; you are just like I was when I was your age. Now do not give your mother too much trouble, I can only imagine how hard this must be for her. Keep Kael close, he is your friend and will remain so until the end. Lastly, always remember I may not be with you in person but I will always be in your heart.

With all my love

Father’

“Then I spent the next three days memorizing the map, I hid the note then I burned the map.” Kella looked down and fiddled with her skirt.

“Well if he told you to then you did the right thing,” she raised Kella’s chin gently, “and if you need my help you know where to find me.”

Kella nodded and embraced Nora.

“You know I can’t actually do that until I know you’re not the traitor.” Kella said laughing a little.

“You don’t know yet?” Nora teased.

Kella laughed out loud, “You aren’t the traitor, but for your own safety I can’t let you in on my quest.”

Pulling away Nora replied, “You are so much like your father. Whether it was finishing a task or keeping others safe.”

“And it has nothing to do with the sword, martial arts, archery, and riding lessons.” Kella replied smiling.

Nora laughed until a knock sounded on the door.

“Come in.” Kella said smoothing down her skirts.

A timid figure stepped through the door, curtsied, and cleared her throat.

“What is it Mallory?” Kella asked, tilting her head a bit to the side.

“Um… The Queen requests that you come to her rooms at once.”

“More a demand than a request.” Nora rolled her eyes.

Kella sighed, “I should go.” Picking up her skirts, she ran out of the room.

Nora sighed, walking over to the wardrobe she pulled out a pair of silver slippers. Seeing Mallory’s confused face she said, “She forgot her shoes. Thank you Mallory you can go back to your chores now.”

Mallory nodded and left the room, Nora walked out shutting the door behind her, shaking her head. “Fifteen years of forgetting her shoes, it’s a wonder she hasn’t injured herself.”

Chapter Two

‘The fastest way to the Queen's hall would be to cut through the King’s hall…’ Tears pricked the corners of Kella’s eyes, and she rubbed them away angrily, ‘Last corner and then…’

Kella skidded to a stop in front of a black cat. “Duke! I almost ran you over, you silly cat."

The cat looked up at her and cocked its head. Laughter bubbled inside of Kella, Duke always managed to act in ways that made Kella laugh. Giggling a little, she knelt down to pet him.

“Where were you last night? Were you bothering the dairymaid again?” Duke let out a small meow, “Naughty, naughty kitty.” Kella teased, scratching behind Duke’s ears until he rolled over and started playfully biting and clawing her fingers. Kella scooped him up and snuggled him against her face.

“It’s a good thing you aren’t allergic to cats, because you love on that cat too much.” Kael’s warm voice washed over her.

With a small smile playing on her lips, she faced her best friend, “Oh, is someone jealous of the kitty?” Kella teased letting Duke lay across her neck.

“Oh you know it, one day I might just snap pretty kitty’s neck.” Kael smiled big exposing his canines, while he scratched Duke’s ears. Duke swatted at his fingers playfully, while trying to hide his purring.

Kella giggled and watched her friend love on her cat. “You do know that only sinister and dark people have issues around cats.”

“Yes, I did thank you very much.” Kael replied, sticking his tongue out at her.

Kella laughed, with a glance down the hallway she sighed, “I have to go, mother wants to see me.”

Kael raised an eyebrow, “This early? It’s a surprise she’s awake, although we did have visitors show up at dawn this morning.”

“I figured there was someone here; she ‘requested’ that I wear my silver dress. The one that we dubbed the suitor dress and...” She watched a shadow cross over Kael’s face at the word and her voice died.

“Right, well, then you should get going huh?” He asked quietly, rubbing the back of his neck.

“I suppose…Kael, I…” she searched his face, but the shadow was gone.

“There you are, you forgot your shoes again.” Nora walked up and thrust a pair of silver slippers into Kella’s hands.

“I’m sorry Nora.” Kella stooped down to slip them on.

Kael bowed, “Good morning Nora I trust you slept well?”

“Better than some I would imagine.” Nora said, giving him a knowing look.

Kael attempted to give an explanation but could only stutter out, “Sh… She had a nightmare.”

“And you just happened to be at her door?” Nora countered, raising an eyebrow.

“It’s her birthday; I always spend the first hour or so with her. You know that.”

“As her best friend of course you’re first.” Nora said sarcastically.

“Better to be the early bird than having to wait until she’s bone tired after the festivities right?” Kael crossed his arms defensively.

“Okay! That is enough! Honestly, when do you two ever not get into a fight? You are related for crying out loud. Kael?” She reached for his arm, “Nora?” She grabbed Nora’s hand.

“He is my nephew after all, just like his dad. We fought all the time too, siblings fight. I am sorry Kael; I guess I’m just a little protective of Kella since her mother kind of dropped the ball.”

“Ha! Don’t let my mother know you said that.” Kella grinned wide, and jabbed Kael in the ribs with her elbow.

“Ow! Oh, I’m sorry too Aunt Nora, I can be a jerk sometimes.”

“Sometimes?” Kella joked.

“Oh really? Says the girl that’s supposed to be my best friend.” Kael turned on her poking at her sides making her laugh.

“All right, come on Kella you are running late. Your mother is waiting.” Nora interrupted only to watch their faces fall.

“Oh, yes. The mysterious visitor awaits, bye Kael I’ll see you later.” Kella looked one last time into his eyes, not wanting to see the hurt anymore she turned away.

“Kella!”

“Yes?” Kella whirled back around to face him.

Kael’s mouth gaped, and his mind blanked, “I... um… good luck. With your mom, I mean.” Kael tried to mend it with a half smile, but mentally kicked himself.

“Oh, thank you.” Kella half-heartedly smiled back.

Kella and Nora walked down the hall together Nora looked back at him, shook her head, and mouthed, “You need to do better than that.”

Kael nodded slightly, idiot. He battled with himself while he went about his chores.

The women walked on silently. Kella’s hand absentmindedly reached for the necklace Kael had given her.

“You’re disappointed.” Nora said simply.

“What reason would I have for being disappointed?” Kella’s hand moved to twirl and twist Duke’s tail between her fingers.

“You were hoping he would say something else?” Nora watched Kella out from the corner of her eye.

Kella felt her cheeks grow hot, “Like?”

Nora shrugged, “I don’t know. Kella I hope it isn’t a suitor. Kella I love you?”

Kella laughed, “The first one I suppose is the one he meant. Only because he knows that as soon as I’m married I must leave.”

“Ever think that he wants to be the one to marry you?”

“He doesn’t remember.” Kella mused a smile on her face.

“Remember what?” Nora asked, stopping her.

“When we were little four, or five maybe, Daddy had us out in the garden to play, and of course, I was saying that I would never marry and that I would stay at the castle forever. Daddy countered with, ‘what if you could stay and be married?’ I said maybe but I didn’t want to marry some stuffy crackpot. Kael the smart one raised his hand and shouted, “she could marry me!’

“Of course he did.” Nora rolled her eyes.

Kella elbowed her a little and laughed, “It was a fake ceremony but I haven’t been able to forget it.”

“If you haven’t, he hasn’t.”

Now in front of her mother’s doors she shook her head, “It doesn’t matter now. I’m sure that my mother has a suitor waiting for me on the other side of these doors…”

love
Like

About the Creator

Allison Cain

I have always been inspired by the words of others, and hope that one day someone is as inspired by my words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.