Humans logo

Fiery Car Crash Survival

My life story how I survived a severe car wreck and why it happened.

By Megan MoorePublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
My 2012 Ford Escape

March 18, 2020 was a bad day. I woke up that morning in a bad mood. Must say we all have our bad days when we roll out of the bed on the wrong side. During this time I was working at Rays Trash in Clayton, IN. I worked as a customer service representative for their dumpster department. I answered calls and emails regarding ordering a new dumpster, paying for a current dumpster, or scheduling to have their dumpster picked up. I did not like this job. The dispatch guys think it is okay to yell at you for any mistake you make like they own the place. So going into work made my day even worse. I hated going into this job. So after work I go home and pick up my kids from school.

We came home and I started dinner. Well the boyfriend comes home and we start arguing. I started to drink some fireball and budlight. We all ate dinner and got the kids in bed. Well, the argument escalated and I felt like I needed to take a drive to get away from the situation. Obviously not the right decision after having some drinks. Well, I started driving out in the country for a little ride to clear my mind and calm down. I wasn't drunk but I should not have been driving even after one drink. No one should. So I am jamming out to some music and I look down at my radio to change the song and next thing I know I look up and I see this huge tree in front of me. I have no time to swerve so I slam on my brakes. I hit the tree head on doing about 50 mph.

I remember waking up sitting in my car hurting. I had no idea my car was on fire at this time. I just knew I had to get out of the car and call 911. By luck my phone was still in my lap and I climbed out of the car. I could barely walk. The engine had been pushed into my dash by the tree and the dash came in and hit my right knee. It was all cut open and bleeding badly. I crawled to the back of my car and sat down and called 911. As I sat there waiting for an ambulance a white car pulls up and this lady gets out and helps me up and into her car. She pulls away and heads down the street and parks. I asked her what we were doing that the ambulance was on the way. She told me my car was in flames and we needed to stay away from it incase it blew up. She said she would have never seen me if my car had not been on fire due to it being 11pm at night and on a back country road with no road lights.

The ambulance finally arrive and placed a neck brace on me and placed me on the gurdy. We headed towards the hospital and I black out. I wake up to being wheeled on the gurdy down the hospital hallway and staring at the lights on the ceiling. I begged the paramedics and doctors not to let die that night. I felt like I was dying. My stomach had never hurt so bad in my entire life. Worse than delivering a baby with no epidural. Next thing I know I blacked out again. Only this time I didn't actually black out; the doctors had just gave me medicine to knock me out for surgery.

I wake up in a hospital room with a neck brace on and all these wires attached to me and feeling loopy. My mother, step father and grandmother were all in the room when I woke up. The doctor informed me I was so lucky to be alive. I definitely had a guardian angel that night. I survived getting out of my car which was in flames and walk away from it. I am lucky the engine didn't come any further into the dash or it would have broken my legs. Also, the seatbelt perforated my intestines. Which is why my stomach was in so much pain. They were able to slice my stomach open and stitch the intestines and staple me back together. I had a 4in slice from top to bottom in my stomach with about 30 staples.

They had me on so much pain medication I couldn't feel any pain. I was in the hospital for 3 days. My father Tim came to the hospital and stayed with me the whole time. I had to shower, use the bathroom on my own, and be able to walk down the hallways by myself before I could leave the hospital. So, I kind of did physical therapy. My father took me home on the 4th day. That's when the pain set in. I sat in my recliner, ate in my recliner, slept in my recliner. I only got up to pee and that was the worst pain ever. I had staples in my stomach for 2 weeks. I went back to work after I had my staples removed. It was rough at first but things started getting better until I was sitting at work and all of a sudden my tailbone hurt like a b****! I had to stand up and walk around. I called the doctor that day and he said due to the impact of the dash from the engine coming in; when the dash hit my leg it pushed it back so fast it bent my tailbone and now my nerves hurt when I sit for too long or don't have a cushion to sit on. I either have to start physical therapy on my bottom or have surgery. I am not fond of either. I mean seriously what kind of physical therapy do they do for a bent tailbone? I was told it would hurt that they really have to get in there. Well, when I heard that I decided I would wait it out to see if it improves.

So, I told work I had to have a special chair and have my feet propped up to avoid my butt from hurting. Well, they didn't want to work with me or allow me to leave for physical therapy. So, I quit. I was unemployed for almost a month, then I found my dream job on Craigslist. I now work at home and do data entry so I am able to prop my feet and walk around whenever I please.

So, the lady that helped me at my car wreck.... Well, I contacted her while I was still in the hospital and thanked her for saving my life that night. She was my angel from God. She informed that someone in her family died the next day. I can honestly say God works in amazing ways but is it really true that when someone is saved then someone is taken? I felt terrible for this lady. Here she is saving my life and the next day her family member passes. She did not deserve that hurt after saving my life. She was a hero and now a sad hero.

Well, I hope you enjoyed my story. I have another car wreck I survived I will post soon. This time it involves a semi and my boyfriend at the time and myself.

Till next time!

Megan aka Momboss

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Megan Moore

I am a mother to two boys. I work from home. I’m an addict in love with an addict. We have both been clean for some time now. I’m also here to talk about parenting and working from home. My life has been crazy but exciting!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.