Humans logo

Fear VS Faith

We have a choice.

By Kaylon ForsythPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
Like

When we are experiencing hard times and they continue hitting, especially when we are already down, it can inspire, not just the loss of hope, but also cause us to live in a fearful state, where we lose our sense of direction, and this can also impede the ability to focus.

I want to write about my own experience with this particular topic, I recently had some pretty big changes take place in my life which caused me to begin questioning, not only myself, but my ability to hold onto my faith. This shook me to my very core, and caused me to fall into what felt like a mental maze where I was in constant pursuit by fearful thoughts, and the inability to recognize, that for me, the only way out of this situation was going to lie within the foundations of my faith.

The events that sparked this began a few months back, when I began hearing rumors of shortages taking place in the pharmaceutical field, in regards to the medication which I had been stabilized on for the last five years. I suffer from a mental illness diagnosis, and the thought of not being able to acquire the medication which had made such a substantial difference in the way my mind functioned, truly scared me into thinking that this was going to cause me to begin going backwards, instead of continuing on the path of persistent progress, which I have been on for that five years of stability that my mind has been in since being prescribed this medication.

I began doing research into alternative forms of therapy that I could use to help me with this mole hill, which had quickly grown into a mountain in my fear riddled mind. I was motivated by my fear to begin the research into ways that I could continue living a life that was free from symptoms which I had suffered from in the past, which seemed to completely derail my life, after a rather substantially trying situation occurred. I spoke to my provider and came up with the thought to switch to an alternative medication which held many of the same therapeutic effects as the one I had been stabilized on.

I came to a conclusion that it was not just the fact that my medication had been running into shortages that was instilling fear inside my mind, it was a variety of other issues, which the one which had consumed my thoughts had hidden from me. My focus was so entirely lasered in on the mole hill I turned into a mountain, that I was left unable to fully process the other issues that had transpired.

When something happens in this world, that shakes the foundation of our faith, not in our creator, but in the system which humanity has created, it can create a feeling of dread, due to the possibility of destabilization in our lives, from whatever external source may be to blame for such events.

I learned a valuable lesson from this experience, and this is that we should never place the utmost faith in a system that is built on corruption and which is fueled by the desire for profit, which eclipses the willingness and want, to help people to heal, and be the best versions of themselves. This world is an imperfect place, and mankind in all it's pursuits to dominate everything within it's sight, has forgotten that people are where the value lies, and have instead turned and kept their attention on the goal of making a dollar, no matter the cost.

We must with each and every day, do everything within our power, to hold onto that which lies within us, that which is eternal, undying, unrelenting, and uncorruptible, and that is at the core of each and every one of us, and that core is composed in my perception of two equally important forces, the spirit and the soul. We are here to learn to be better, through our experiences, and to help those around us to reach for that same goal, utilizing the principles that divinity instills within us, through what I feel is divine inspiration. Divine inspiration speaks to the essence of who we are when we either speak, or act in unison with pure intent.

Always strive to help others heal, and always ensure that you take the time necessary, and also implement the action that is most effective, in healing yourself as well.

Brightest Blessings.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Kaylon Forsyth

I lost my wife back in 2019 and I started this as an outlet for my emotional expression in regards to the pain from the loss, it has helped me substantially since that time, and I have put great effort into all of my efforts since then.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.