Humans logo

Falling for Romeo

By FrostfireRose

By Neecie MillardPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
Falling for Romeo
Photo by Saiph Muhammad on Unsplash

*Prologue*

Running.

That's all I remember after he said goodbye.

With tears streaming down my face, I ran. I didn't want to believe that he really said it. That we were over. He was my lover, my confidant, my very air that I needed to breathe.

Moments ago...

I was getting ready for class to end. It was my last class which meant I would get to see my boyfriend before we left for the day. Knowing Sanshi, he had something planned for me. It was my birthday tomorrow and he said he had to tell me something. But little did I know was that it would be the thing that would shatter my heart.

When I saw him waiting by our usual spot, I immediately noticed the pained look on his face. As soon as I reached him, I started noticing other things that he never normally did around me, too. He had a nervous twitch in his body and he avoided looking at me.

"Sanshi, are you alright? You seem nervous about something." He refused to answer. "Sanshi? What's wrong?" I asked as I lightly touched his arm. But his reaction to the touch was a shock. He flinched when I did it.

"Shyna... I know your birthday is tomorrow and all but we both know  you have to leave soon. Therefore,  I am only doing this for it to be easier on us. I am sorry."

Sanshi stops and looks me in the eyes. All I can see is pain and guilt swirling through them.

Confused, I ask, "What are you saying? Are you trying to say that it is over between us?"

As realization hits, I stumble backwards while shaking my head.

He has to be joking. He can't be serious! Just hours ago he was telling me how much he loved me and how he had planned on doing something special for my birthday.

But he wasn't. He was serious.

We were no longer dating.

"Hey," he says softly, guiding my chin with hands too soft for his size. "Shyna, look at me. I am doing this for both of us."

Tears welled up in my eyes as he said this.

"If it wasn't for the best, I would never leave your side. But with me going to college next year and you going away to residential, it just won't work. We have to part ways. I'm sorry."

His eyes, those beautiful green eyes that I became mesmerized by, were filled with tears. All of the memories we made together were swirling through my head. Our first meeting, our first kiss, our first date, everything. It was all gone. All the plans we made for our future, all of it was gone.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.