Humans logo

Falling for Romeo

Chapters 1-3

By Neecie MillardPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like
Falling for Romeo
Photo by Vladimir Tsokalo on Unsplash

Chapter 1

Even though that day was two months ago, it still hurts to think about it.

Two months. That's all it has been. In those two months, I was in a daze throughout the entire time. I hardly ate, I slept most of the day, and went to school. It wasn't the best of ways to deal with my depression, but it worked for me.

At least, that's what I wanted to believe. But in all reality, it didn't. And that is what killed me the most.

How was I supposed deal with something as major as this? I couldn't tell my parents about it. I definitely could not tell my brother. He was too young to know the pain that I felt. Sure, everyone says that time will heal the wound, but no one said how long it would take.

I mean, seriously. My best friend Caleb could tell that I wasn't the same. He tried and tried to get me to forget about him but alas to no avail. When I had my mental breakdowns, I wouldn't eat at all. So Caleb would force me to eat. Caleb was basically my brother-from-another-mother. He treated me as such and I appreciated everything he did to help.

Caleb knew that I had to leave. But I was soooooo not ready for the day that it happened. When it did, my parents never woke me up at the same time they normally did. I ended up waking up at around nine-thirty. Then I noticed what time it was and I basically was in a mad dash to get ready.

"Mo-om!!! Why didn't you wake me up?!?!?! You knew that I had a test this morning for Algebra!!" I screeched.

"And you know that you have a doctor's appointment today at 11:30. So I let you sleep," Mom remarked. "Remember to bring your backpack so after your appointment, I can just drop you off."

By the time I got done eating and had brushed my hair and teeth, it was already 10:30.

"Mom, I'm ready. Let's go."

I got into the car and buckled up. But I noticed that there were bags in the back of the car. My bags. Filled with my clothes.

When did I...? I don't remember packing. What is Mom planning?????

"Uh...Mom? Why are my bags in the back?" I cautiously asked as she started driving.

"Hmm? Oh. Your going to stay with your aunt and uncle this weekend since Dad and I are going out of town. So I packed your bags for you so when I got you from school, we could head straight there."

"O...k? And you planned on telling me this when? I mean. When did you and Dad plan on telling me all this? And why aren't Danny's bags in here too?" I was one hundred percent confused.

And why was it taking so long to get to the doctor's office? We've been in the car for nearly an hour and a half. It only takes about half an hour to get to the doctor's office.

That was when I saw the sign.

Eagle Woods.

What the...?

"Ummm. Mom? Where are we?"

Chapter 2

Where in the name of Ra are we?

"Shyna, remember how we said that you were going to a placement? Eagle Woods had accepted you so we made today the day you were going. We didn't tell you where we were going because Dad and I figured you might run so that you didn't have to go."

The fact that they didn't tell me that I was going here made me furious. But then a small part of me didn't blame them. I probably would have run. But only because the whole 'placement' thing did not make me happy. Just knowing that I had to be away from my precious cat Lily and adorable dog Sophia made me upset.

How could they do this to me? Why would they even think it was even remotely okay to do this? This is torture! I am NOT, under ANY CIRCUMSTANCES, going to stay here. No way. No how. I could care less what these people thought was best for me. I KNEW what was best for me. And this place definitely was not it.

Why do people always make these decisions for me? They don't even ask me for my opinion. What if I didn't want to go to this place? Does my thoughts even matter?

Apparently not.

We got to the place where I would be spending at least the next nine months of torture at. Let me just say this: I HATE it. I haven't even gone inside yet and I already hate it. Just looking at the building, with its small caged "basketball court" and large brick body, I knew that this place is going to be a hassle.

If my parents even knew what I like and don't like, then they would know that I hate confined spaces. And that includes locked areas that I can't get out of.

Chapter 3

We walked inside the building where I would spend the next three months in and I could tell that my parents were crazy. I looked around and saw white. Everywhere. White walls and wood furniture. We got to the intake area and I immediately plopped down, showing little to no interest in the scenery around me.

A lady walked into the room with a man whose aura made me squirm. He had a too happy-go-lucky vibe to him. I hated it. It was disgusting. Soon the lady sat down and introduced herself and her partner. 

"Hi. I am Kaylee and this is Joey and we're going to be doing your intake today!" she said way too happily for my liking. She looked at me. "You must be Shyna. I'm Miss Shoman and this is Mr. Derrial. We are so happy to welcome you here. We just have a few questions about your background. Do you mind if I ask them?"

I shrugged, not really planning on listening to her. But her first question did intrigue me a little. As the questions continued, I slowly opened up. All too soon, it was time for my parents to leave me there. I cried and screamed. I didn't want to stay!! Did they not see that? How could they leave me here?! Did they not see that I am absolutely terrified?! But this was not my day.

After my parents left was I allowed to meet the rest of what would be my "family" for the next nine months. I was very shy. I mean, these were people that I didn't know. So how was I to be comfortable with them right off the bat?! I had been hurt way too much before this to trust anyone. But either way, I would have to live with them. So I started to get to know them.

The first thing I noticed was that I was the only girl with four boys. And none of them talked to me when I was introduced by Miss Shoman. She was saddened by this. I was too kind of. But then, after she left, I felt movement near me. My eyes were closed so I wasn't looking. But one thing I learned as a child was to detect sound waves. Because I had a hard time hearing people as a young child, I relied on my ability to feel sound waves. I know. It's weird. But I can do it.

When I opened my eyes I saw it was one of the boys. He smiled so warmly that I couldn't help but smile back.

"You're new here, huh? They don't normally let us meet newbies so quickly," he commented.

I wasn't used to talking so I merely gestured to the seat next to me. He sat down immediately.

"You don't talk, do you? Are you mute?"

I laughed and shook my head no. I spoke in a raspy voice, stuttering, "I-I have a s-stutter. T-that's why I-I d-don't s-speak. It w-will g-go away s-soon." I looked at him apologetically, hoping he will understand. Instead, he smiled.

"That was really cute, actually. Even though you have a stutter, your voice is like angel's voices. But I understand why," he said with a sly smile. He moved closer to my ear and whispered, "We aren't supposed to date people here, but I wouldn't mind getting to know you better." He moved away. He looked at me with eyes blue like the sea. I looked away as I felt my cheeks become hot.

I couldn't help but smile. I've never heard anyone call my stutter cute. But it made me happy. I nodded a thanks and looked away. He was way out of my league. He must have a girlfriend. There's no way he couldn't! He is so cute and kind! I had to know.

"D-do you have a g-girlfriend?" I asked, curiosity written all over my face. I was shocked when he shook his head no. "I-I'm s-sorry. I-I s-shouldn't have—"

He cut me off by raising his hand. "Don't sweat it. I don't mind. Name's Dillon, by the way. I apologize for not introducing myself to you," he responded kindly.

"S-Shyna. I-it's a pleasure to m-meet you." I held a hand out and he shook it gently. He must have noticed how frail I look.

My face paled. I noticed I was starting to become very dizzy so I put my head down. Dillon noticed and immediately became concerned.

"Shyna? Are you alright?" He put his hand on my back.

"I-I'm f-fine. This i-is common. I th-think i-it's my medicine. B-but I'll be okay." I looked up at him after the dizziness subsided. The look of concern never left his face.

"D-Dillon. I'm okay." I put my hand on his and his worry went away. "I promise I'm okay." It was the first whole sentence I managed without stuttering. I told him it would go away. And it did. Dillon's face lit up when he realized I didn't stutter.

"Hey! You didn't stutter!" he said with glee. "I hope you are okay though. You had me worried."

I couldn't help but laugh at this. Maybe nine months here won't be so bad.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.