Humans logo

Everyone Should Have a Bike

And these are my reasons why:

By Sierra Peck Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Everyone Should Have a Bike
Photo by Murillo de Paula on Unsplash

A few days after I graduated high school, I got in a giant car wreck that totaled my paid off car. It was a horrible mess and my mom freaked out and bought me a new car with a giant car payment attached to it, telling me that she would help me make the payments on it. She did help me make a few payments but once I got a job her attitude completely changed, and she told me that I needed to start making the payments on it. This was fine for a while until I realized as a new graduate that life is really tough, and affording the bills all while going through college was pretty much impossible. I was working a lot of nights trying to afford school, rent, utilities, the car, car insurance, and food. It was a lot to juggle and I had absolutely no idea what I was doing. Now, in hindsight I have realized that there were a lot of other options at the time, but I decided that I needed to make a choice. I needed to drop something, so I chose school. Juggling my time between school and work was really hard for me but I figured that with a job I was at least getting money for all of my bills. Now that I look back at my life though, I really wish I had had a bike, and after getting a bike, I am now realizing that everyone should have a bike.

I have had this idea floating around my head for a while now and I would love to see what everyone would think of it. Everyone that graduates high school should get a bike from the government. It could:

-Incentivize graduation. Some people need more of a reason to graduate than just getting a piece of paper.

-Reduce gas pollution and make people less reliant on gas.

-Create more jobs within the bike industry.

-Keep obesity rates down.

-Create healthier coping mechanisms.

-Create an easy way for someone to get to and from work after they graduate high school.

I could probably go on with a million reasons why everyone should have a bike, but my main point is: bikes are fun, and everyone should have one. It doesn’t have to be anything fancy, my bike from Walmart was $200 and I love the stinking thing. And would it not be cool if everyone started having their own government provided bikes from graduation? And some people already have bikes or a car at graduation so they could choose to opt out of the program if they really wanted to. Or, maybe it could be a program that people could apply for so that the government was not necessarily providing bikes for everybody, but just the people it would benefit the most (which I say is everyone but I am trying to come up with more options here.) I myself come from a more run down part of the country where this kind of program would have made things a lot better for a lot of kids and their families. Or maybe it could be a program where kids could work for the funds around their schools and communities so that by the end of the year they could afford a bike. Or maybe the government could provide the bike and require that the student gets a job and pays them back. I am not sure of exact logistics for this plan, but all I do know is that if everyone had a bike it could do a lot of good for a lot of young Americans.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.