Earth logo

The Dandelion Seed

The Pointless Dance

By Sierra Peck Published 3 years ago 3 min read
2
The Dandelion Seed
Photo by Christian Papaux on Unsplash

As I sat scrubbing an old kitchen floor, grateful yet discouraged by my new yet difficult cleaning job, I noticed a dandelion seed floating towards me. “It must be my lucky day” I thought to myself. For, who is lucky enough to find a perfectly formed dandelion seed floating around, dancing amongst the dust and dirt in this old, gross place? I lightly picked it up with the tips of my right thumb and index finger, carefully set it in the palm of my left hand, and gently blew it out the already open door and into the wind with a wish in mind. A wish that the wind would blow me away with this seed. The wind, however, blew it right back into me, and no matter how many times I tried to blow it away the wind kept blowing it right back to me. That is when I noticed the field of dandelions this one perfect little seed flew away from, and that is when I realized that I was not lucky at all. There was a whole field of mesmerizing white dandelions, and I was just in the right place and time to notice the one little seed that got away, dancing in the wind, and searching for its new home to plant itself in. “Maybe the seed is stupid” I thought, feeling stupid myself for wishing upon the little seed, and a little sad for the seed. Because I mean, look at the field of dandelions it came from. All of those dandelions came from seeds that were smart enough to stay in the same area and plant themselves one right after the other. Those were the seeds that knew to stay close, the smart ones, and although they created a field of weeds, they were beautiful when put together. Put together, they were all enough for each other. This seed, however, thought it knew that it did not belong and flew away with the wind, searching for a home away from the obvious home, but why would it float to me? It was floating away from the home it knew it should have had, and right into an old, worn out townhome that I was feeling stupid enough to clean for a measly $15 an hour. When I had first accepted the job it seemed like a lot of money, but after 6 hours of scrubbing dirt and dried paint off of linoleum that my new boss gave to me because she did not want to do it herself, it felt like my own personal Hell, and this seed happened upon me there, with the wind lightly whistling, asking me to carry its tiny piece of nature off to somewhere new. Trying again and again to come back to me because of the way the wind was blowing. Maybe it never wanted to come to me, and the wind forced it to be there. Maybe it was asking me to fly away with it, off away on a new adventure. I wanted to. I longed to go off with this seed. But then maybe it was just trying to tell me something, maybe it was begging me to plant it somewhere, anywhere, over and over again. But who plants weeds? Not me. Not anybody that I knew. That is not the way we were taught to live. “This seed does not want me” I said, sure that I was right. So, I left it on the kitchen ground, figuring if I did a good enough job at cleaning the place that it would eventually find its way back to some dirt, somewhere, all on its own.

Nature
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.