Humans logo

Every Dance

How Dancing Healed My Relationship With My Body

By Nami OkaluPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Every Dance
Photo by Adriana Aceves on Unsplash

It is 10:30 at night, and the house is finally quiet. Not even the dogs are awake; they have a strict bedtime and stick to it like clockwork. It’s just me. I am a night owl.

You’ll find me tinkering around the house. Maybe I’m watching a tv show on my iPad, or I’m putting on a mask. On my days where everything feels off, I’ll be eating at this late hour because 7-9 PM was filled with exhaustion and defeat, and I lay unmoving in my bed for two hours until I found the energy to nourish myself.

Slowly, when I know everyone is asleep and all is still, I’ll change my clothes and go to the kitchen. My laptop sits on a granite counter. The volume is set to 50%. And I will dance.

I jump, kick, shake, and spin. My body moves and twirls as I do my best to imitate the tiny people on my screen. Sometimes, I don’t even look, and I do whatever my body says feels good. My heartbeat soars, and so does my spirit. One song ends, and I take a moment to catch my breath, before moving onto the next.

It took me so long to get to this point, where I could find joy in moving my body. Years of depression and chronic pain rendered me weak. My body held onto more weight than I liked, and though depression finally loosened its grip on my mind after eight years, it was quickly replaced with self-hatred for the body I now lived in.

I hated the roles and the lines that seemed to etch their way into my skin. I hated that I wasn’t petite and delicate, like so many of the other Asian women I know and love. I hated feeling uncomfortable in the skin I was given, so much so that shirts touching my stomach would make me feel anxious and nauseous. I wanted to be thin, to be delicate, to be beautiful, to be wanted.

I hated my body in a way I would never hate someone else’s. Cruel and venomous thoughts crawled into my mind as I stared at myself in the mirror. But somewhere, along that long and arduous path where I felt even more disconnected from myself than I had in the height of my depression, I began to discover ways to exist aside from focusing on this physical self.

In my experience with depression, I felt physically trapped inside my body. Some days, it felt like I was locked inside of a heavy and uncomfortable shell that I wanted to claw, rip, or bite off. Just breathing felt unbearable, and my dark thoughts clouded the way I saw the world and myself. As my depression lifted (it is still present, but has lessened in its severity), I gave myself permission to just exist. I timidly looked out on a world that seemed just a tiny bit brighter, a bit more hopeful than the hues of gray I had been locked into for a third of my life and tried to find reasons to continue living.

I decided that I wanted to travel extensively once it was safe to do so, and I knew that if I wanted to make the most of my time traveling, I would need to have better endurance. I started small: some squats here, some lunges there. I read a quote on Facebook or Instagram that boiled down to, 10% is more than 0%. Anything is better than something, and I began to apply that to movement. I had tried to lose weight in the past, and I had always plunged headfirst into miserable patterns that had me severely restricting food or exercising hardcore in ways that ended up hurting more than helping. But now, weight be damned, I did not care. This was the body I was stuck with, and I better make the most of it. I experimented with movement, and I listened to myself. If it hurt, I stopped. It was a minimal lifestyle change. Sometimes I would move, and sometimes I wouldn’t.

But something changed when I began to dance. Not just in my body, though my energy and stamina increased, and my body composition shifted. Dancing was fun. I didn’t need to be talented. After all, no one was watching me at midnight inside of my kitchen. My skills are lacking, but I make up for it with enthusiasm that finds me prancing around in ratty sweatpants and oversized t shirts almost every night.

My body has changed, but more importantly, I changed. Something about my terrible moves make me feel sexy and confident. I feel in touch with myself and what I need. I feel as though I am honoring my body with every move I make, a body that fought hard and fought long to carry me through my depression. When I dance, my mind quiets. I try my best to keep up, huffing and puffing through every chorus, and I am grounded within myself as I remember that I am not broken.

This body, that I have put through so much, has brought me so far. I have finally learned that caring for it is a gift, not a punishment. I have learned to trust that it knows its limits and its abilities. It can do so much more than I ever thought. And every minute I dance, I am reminded that its value lies in what it can do rather than how it appears.

Love is a choice. An action. And I found that when I made the choice to love myself, through movement, through boundaries, through the pursuit of healing, that love would eventually find its way into my heart.

To my body:

Thank you for all you have done for me. Thank you for keeping me alive when I did not want to live. Thank you for carrying me through hard times and good times. I will continue to care for you and honor you as a gift, rather than a burden.

Thank you.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Nami Okalu

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.