Humans logo

Essential Worker Launches Medical Scrub Line

Interview with Raven Cully

By Lamore Lifestyle Published 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Raven, founder of Lyfesavers

In the 1940s awareness of wound infection and the need to have a sanitary operating room prompted the first use of medical scrubs. Still today scrubs are primarily worn by those who work in the medical field. It is the uniform of choice for doctors, nurses, CNA’s and others who work in hospitals around the country.

Wearing scrubs is not limited to hospitals. They are also worn by employees in doctor's offices, labs, and nursing homes.

With millions of professionals wearing scrubs it is obviously a very necessary market . One woman apart of this market is Raven Cully. She’s the founder of Lyfesavers, a modern scrub line. Raven’s story is so unique because she is also an essential worker. Many of the scrub lines available today are manufactured by companies with owners who have never had to wear a pair of scrubs. Raven however knows first hand that scrubs should be made for comfort over long hours.

Raven was born and raised in Annapolis,MD and is a graduate of Annapolis Senior High School. She is a Certified Nursing Assistant with more than 10 years experience. She is currently a Patient Care Technician at a Maryland hospital. Outside of working, she enjoys spending time with family and close friends, dining out, shopping, singing and relaxing. Recently I’ve had the pleasure of interviewing Raven to learn more about her brand and what inspires her.

•What was the inspiration behind your brand name?

Raven: The inspiration behind the name Lyfesavers, came from my passion and commitment to saving lives in the Nursing field for almost 12 years. I’ve worked throughout an entire pandemic and it really broaden my perspective of how essential healthcare workers are to this country.

In 2021, I was in a car accident on my way in to work during a ice storm. Although I was in pain, all I wanted to do was still go in to work and save others. At that very moment, I realized how much more saving lives meant to me. Even though I became cognizant of how much it meant to me, I also became aware of the impact it had on every individual in our field. We all made profound sacrifices to come in during one of the most trying times in America’s history to save others. That’s something that is almost indescribable.

I also want people to feel appreciated and good about themselves while wearing the brand “Lyfesavers” to make it known that they’re saving lives.

•Your brand is both fashionable and affordable. Why are both so important to you?

Raven: When I decided to sell scrubs, I wanted my brand to make a statement and stand out to the people. Fashion wise, they had to be different from what I was used to wearing at work. The quote “Quality over quantity” came to mind and I knew the fabric had to be top notch. I thought about the economical times that we’re all facing and going through so I felt the need to have an affordable price with top quality.

•March is Women’s History Month. Tell us about a woman who inspires you.

Raven: The woman that inspires me is my mom. When I think about my mom words like phenomenal, strong, undefeated, independent, hardworking, courageous, loving, and most of all caring comes to mind immediately. My mom is my best friend. She has a heart of gold and encourages me to keep pushing towards my dreams and never give up. She thinks about others before herself and is always there to give great advice and a listening ear. I aspire to at least be half of the woman that she is one day.

You can connect with Raven and her Lyfesavers brand here

humanity
1

About the Creator

Lamore Lifestyle

Sharing stories of those in the beauty, fashion, food and entrepreneurship space.

@lamorelifestylepr

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.