Humans logo

Escaping Paradise

How I Ran To And From The Man Of My Dreams

By Karen MowreyPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2
A Lonely Road In Middle USA

Have you ever found someone who lights your inner flame? Someone who the day you first lay eyes on them, you become theirs. The kind of person who, despite anything they do or say, you cannot help but embrace their existence. You feel as if this person is the reason you live and breathe.

Well this is my story about meeting my soulmate, or twin flames, as many call it. I will never forget the day he walked through my front door. You see, I was not in any shape to even think about a man at that time. I had recently escaped a rough relationship, one that I am still recovering. Not to mention, I have not had a healthy track record of dating "good" men, most have used, abused or cheated.

This tall man that walked through my front door, was different. His eyes were the brightest blue, just like the Emerald Coast in Florida. He was tan and thin with bleach blonde hair. As soon as his eyes met mine, I was hooked. I, being barely out of the awful relationship, was lost. Right when I thought I was starting to get a good grip on my reality, he dove in and made a huge splash.

Shortly after meeting him, I found ways to talk to him or get him to come by. This is strange because I almost never chase a man. It did not take long before we had our first date. It was simple and amazing. It was the first time in a long time that I felt alright within my own skin. There was something magical between us and believe me, I did not believe this existed. I fell head over heels for a man and had no clue how it was possible.

We had only been dating for a very short time when we decided to move in together. That is the moment I realized just how quickly everything was actually moving. My heart said "yes" but my fear said "whoa, wait a minute, what?"

My best friend and his girlfriend were planning a trip to get married in Vegas and was really hoping I would go. I had discussed it with my new love and he assured me that he would not mind if I went. I had decided not to go due to us just moving in together. The following day he went to work as normal. I woke to a phone call from my friend begging me to go. Somehow, I was talked into going and we left that day while he was at work. I called him and told him I changed my mind and he claimed it was okay.

As soon as we got to the interstate, I wished I would have said no. It would have been the most amazing trip if I could have just relieved my brain of his thought. I was absolutely miserable. I felt as if I were a third wheel, but it was only because I wanted to be with my man. I had escaped paradise and hated every second of it.

When I returned home, I knew I was undeniably in love with this man. We were inseparable and for the first time in so long that I was actually happy. I had found a man who loved me as much as I loved him.

We have been together for almost two years. We got married in May, both being first marriages. He has made me a better person and brought me out of a very dark place. He is my own personal superhero and I thank God everyday for bringing this miracle into my life.

dating
2

About the Creator

Karen Mowrey

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.