Humans logo

Entangled

Is being Entangled a good or bad thing? You be the judge...

By Drama Kueen Published 3 years ago 10 min read
Like
Money + Entanglement

Entangled

Chris sits at his computer and stares at the screen. “I can’t believe that I made it! In five years, I’ve gone from being homeless and on the streets, to winning $100,000 for my invention.” Chris sits in silence for several minutes before he decides to do an Internet search on a woman from his past. He types in the name Sandra Young and clicks on several images and after a couple of minutes he sees the Ms. Young he knew and loved. As he sees her picture, he stares into space and thinks about all of the good and bad times that he shared with Ms. Young.

He contemplates going to her social media page and sending her a message, but he decides to do more research first. Lucky for him her social media page is public. He goes to her photo albums and looks through her pictures and reminisces. “She still looks the same!” While contemplating his next move, his phone vibrates and quickly brings him back to reality.

He looks at his phone to see who is calling and a big smile comes across his face. “I was just thinking about you.” His manager Quincy asks, “Is that a good thing or bad thing?” Chris laughs and says, “I need your help, so I guess it’s a good thing.” Quincy knew that Chris was always a man with a plan so he wanted to know more. Quincy asks if this is a business or personal favor and laughs when Chris tells him a little of both.

Chris takes a picture of the Social Media page he was looking at before the call and sends it to Quincy. Quincy opens up the message and the picture prompts a hundred more questions; he definitely wants to help out Chris, but he craves to know more about this beautiful woman pictured in the text message. Quincy says, “I got your back, I will find out whatever you need me to, but who is this mysterious woman?”

Chris assures Quincy it will all make sense to him soon, but for now he just needs him to find out some information on her. Quincy says, “Just tell me what info you need and I will get it! I must say, she is incredibly beautiful. She must have done a number on you! I never knew you liked cougars though, but she looks like she knows some things, so I ain’t mad about it!”

Chris laughs and says, “I will text you the info I need.” Quincy was so intrigued by this mysterious woman that he almost forgot the original reason for his call. “Oh yeah, I almost forgot! I have some good news and I have some great news; which do you want to hear first?” Chris said, “Surprise me!”

Quincy says, “Can we meet for lunch tomorrow? I would prefer to share the news with you in person!” Normally Chris did not like surprises, but today he was preoccupied with his mission to find this woman from his past, so he agreed. He asked Quincy to text him a location and time and they disconnected the call.

After he hung up, Chris admired the awards and articles written about him that surrounded him in his office. He finally felt accomplished, but he did not feel whole yet. He had to find Ms. Young; finding her would make Chris feel more complete. Chris takes out an old yearbook and looks through the pages and thinks back to how hard life was back then. He realizes although he was not voted Most Likely to Succeed, that he was a success story.

Chris’ mother passed away from cancer his junior year of high school. His dad was also killed in a hit and run car accident several months later. Chris was a straight A student, but after the death of his parents, his grades declined and his life took a sudden change.

He started missing school and was on the verge of being kicked out due to his excessive absences. He had four younger siblings that all depended on him, as he was the oldest and most responsible. He spent so much time making sure they were taken care of, that he neglected his own studies.

Chris was removed from traditional school and put into an Alternative program that would allow him the opportunity to obtain his high school diploma, get a job, and potentially graduate early. Chris’ counselor and grandmother both agreed this was the best way to make sure Chris was able to get his high school diploma, because if he missed any more days of school he would have to repeat his 11th grade year.

Chris picked up his high school yearbook and a mirage of emotions came over him as he remembered his pain, fears, good times and bad times that happened to him during his high school year. As he was looking through the yearbook a picture fell out and onto the floor. He picked up the picture and his emotions took over him and he immediately started crying.

It was a picture of his entire family before his Junior Prom. This was the last picture that was taken of his mother before she perished. His mother told him if she couldn’t live long enough to see him walk his wife down the aisle after his wedding ceremony, that she wanted to live long enough to see him off for his Junior prom; and she did just that. Several days later she passed away and that is when Chris’ life took a sudden turn for the worse. Chris held onto that picture and cried himself to sleep as he thought about how much he missed his parents.

The next morning his phone buzzes at 6AM with a message from Quincy. “See you at 11:30 at The Buckhead Seafood Restaurant!” Chris lays in the bed a few more moments while he checks his emails. He sends Quincy a text message asking him was he able to get everything that he requested on the previous day. Quincy immediately texts back, “What do you think?” Chris could always depend on Quincy, so he knew that meant yes.

Quincy and Chris both pulled up at the restaurant at the same time and greeted each other with their Fraternity handshake. Quincy pulled a bag out of the car and gave it to Chris. Chris looked inside the bag and put it in his trunk as he thanked Quincy.

They go inside and are immediately seated in their usual private room. The waiter takes their order and leaves the two of them to start their meeting. Quincy looks at Chris and is shaking his head and laughing. Chris says, “What is funny?” Quincy says, “You! You better be glad I trust you. If anyone else asked me to get them a black leather duffle bag and a little black book I would not do it! I would think they are about to rob a bank and implicate me!” As Quincy hands Chris a sealed envelope, he says, “I got you everything you asked for, now tell me what is going on and who is this Sandra Young lady!”

Chris laughs as he opens the envelope and says, “I promise you I will fill you in on everything, but you go first. You know I don’t like surprises! What is this good and great news?” Quincy stares at Chris for a moment and reluctantly decides to share his news first. “Alright, so the good news is that we have a company that wants to purchase the patent for your invention. I have to talk to the organization that hosted the contest to see if it is even possible, but I will keep you updated. The great news is you have been asked to be the Keynote speaker of the People of Color Inventors of America conference this summer!”

This news excited Chris as Ms. Young was the first person to introduce him to the PCIA organization. This was definitely a sign that he made the right decision to find her and thank her. Chris says, “This is awesome news man! You are the best manager ever!” They embrace and sit back down and Quincy stares at Chris while waiting for more information on Ms. Young.

“Ok, I know what you are waiting for. Who is Ms. Young?! Back in high school after my parents died, I was put into the Alternative program I told you about. Ms. Young was the person over the program. She saved my life! Funny thing is, she was the first person that introduced me to the PCIA. After my grandmother took all 5 of us in, she could no longer afford to keep us fed, pay the utilities and the rent, so we got evicted and we were all separated.”

Quincy says, “Wow!” Chris finishes his story, “Ms. Young took an interest in me and when she found out I was homeless, she went above and beyond to help me. We used to call her Ms. Entangled, because she was always entangled in all of the student’s business. I didn’t want to tell her I was homeless, but a part of me knew if I told her, she would save me…and she did just that. She found me housing, a mentor from the local chapter of PCIA, scholarships and even helped me enroll in college.”

Quincy was sitting there staring at Chris, he was already mesmerized by this woman’s beauty and now he wanted to know even more. Chris smiles and says, “Now that I have her address, I need to make a stop by the bank and then to her house.” Quincy wipes a tear from his eye and tells his client and best friend to go handle his business and he would take care of the bill.

Chris goes out to the car and takes the bag out of the trunk. He takes the little Black Book out and writes a letter thanking Ms. Young for everything she has done. He mentions in the letter that he knows that Ms. Young was not able to have children and that was always her dream. He wanted to give her money to go towards adoption so she could start her dream of having a family. He also invites her to the PCIA conference to hear him speak.

He goes to the bank and withdraws $20,000 and fills the black duffle bag with the cash. He drives to her house and debates if he wants to leave it at her door or if he wants to see her. As he pulls into her driveway she opens the door to take her dog for a walk. They lock eyes and she immediately knows who he is. Chris gets out of the car and they embrace.

Ms. Young lets him know that she has been following his success. He smiles and thanks her for everything. As he hands her the black duffle bag, she invites him in for a cup of tea. After they visit with each other for a few moments, he opens the door to leave and they hug again. He tells her that she can open the bag once he drives off.

He drives off and she closes the door and anxiously opens the bag. She reads the letter written in the Little Black Book and cries as she read the end of the letter. “You always entangled yourself in our business, and now I am entangling myself in your business. Go adopt the baby girl you always talked about! Thanks for everything Ms. Entangled, I owe my success to you! I hope this money helps you start the family that you deserve.”

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Drama Kueen

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.