Humans logo

Early Bird

At the Rising Sun

By Lotus TaraPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

My eyes Opened and there it was, bright and warm. Its brilliance and charming way of waking me, by simply making warm, made me smile. I laid there for a moment without wanting to move but to take it all in. The beauty of this city as the Sun Rise crystalized the morning due and it all seemed but a dream. For that one moment the world stood still and it was all worth it.

Once again late to work and not giving two shits about it, I got up some what like a cat stretching my way to the bathroom and massaging my hair and scalp. looking in the mirror, well here we go, what will today bring I thought as I washed my hands, and went about sitting on the toilet for that first sweet bladder relief.

I sat there for a moment knowing I was done but I could not stop staring at the bathroom floor there it was and I had never seen till now. It was a perfect face on one of the tiles. I sat there and wondered why I had not seen it before and it was the lighting in the bathroom that was coming in from the bathroom window that was different.

I always loved my bathroom tile, one could sit there and see many faces popping out. Stop daydreaming, my thought said, so I got and started my day. Wash hands, Brush teeth, and face, quick shower, and the best part of all this was the lotion on my skin. There are some acts that must be done with tender loving care and smoothing your skin with some shea-butter is always an act that is done slow and with love. Skin hydrated and moisturized and rush to get dressed.

It's Monday and I must show up at work so heals it is. Black squirt and a turquoise blouse, peach lingerie, and a soft perfume, just enough. Quickly accentuate my eyebrows, eyelashes, chick bones and lips. Place some hydrating curling cream on hands, rub them together and then gently apply it to my thick black curly hair.

I suppose I had time for some breakfast, at least a juice. Went to the fridge as I struggled with one of my heals, finally all in and opening the door I was hoping to see some juice left and there was. I took a deep blue glass from the covert and filled it with the last of my seeded watermelon juice. Down the hatched I eloquently thought to my self, Mmmmm. food of the Gods.

As I guzzled down the last of the juice I looked out the window which was drying up from the morning due I could see the city awake and busy and filled with promises. For example the lady in the corner was waving her hands in air as she shouted to the person on the other side of her call, "we did it." Well lets hope they did something great, or the young boy running and jumping next to his mother who with such patience followed him in hopes that he wouldn't run into the morning traffic. The stores opening and the new day of commerce is loud and clear for the Sun is out today, and well who the heck stays inside when the sun has come out.

I look at the clock and I quickly gather my belongings, wallet, purse, computer, sweater, and water. Off I go closing the door behind me with force, rushing down the 3 flights of stairs, shit no deodorant as I felt an underarm sweat, corner store it is.

Stepped into the magic of the day and the hustling and bussing is what makes this city great. The air had a morning chill and gently, a leaf fell to my feet, brilliant red and blotches of yellow, fall was here.

I quickly crossed the street and rushed to the store, got what was needed and rapidly ran out the door to my destination. The map said 10 minutes away which would make me 5 minutes early if I didn't get lost. So I diligently follow the map and there I was in front of my destination. I took a deep breath, looked up and saw the sun shinning on the windows of the building.

A man coming out held the door open for me and not to seem ungrateful I reach out for the door although not quiet ready to enter, I did. The man man who stood in front a desk asked me a few questions and directed me to the 27 floor. As I waited for the elevator a woman stood beside me, she was having some conversation about making things happen and such. The elevator door opened and as people rushed out I waited patiently, once emptied I got in and to my surprise the most delightful view of the city I was able to experience. From up here everything was small and I like a giant looking down in complete curiosity at the miniature of things. The elevator announce my floor and turning away from the view, the doors opened I saw why I was here.

Walking to my destination and I glanced over the place, listening to the mumbling of voices and I chose to ignore it and focus on the charming environment. The décor was divine and the energy felt soothing. There was plenty of sun light coming through the windows that surrounded the entire office. to the right of me as far as my eye could see was a Terrace. I had not bothered looking up for I was so intrigued with all else, until someone mentioned plants. I glanced up and there I was surrounded by plants above me. It surrounded all the walls of the office, it was pleasing to my soul even if for that moment.

Entering the office, a young lady greeted me and asked me to take a sit. The lime green chairs were fitting to my body and quiet comfortable, perhaps a bit too much that I found myself wanting to put my feet up. I quickly recovered from the moment complete relaxation and sat up, revived myself and waited. A voice from the next room called my name which I ignored, then respectfully the mysterious voice sashed through the door and came to introduce himself. Hello, I'm David, and it will be a pleasure working with you, as he extended his hand to me, well what can I do but say thank you as I reached out to him allowing him to help me up from this low chair.

Well, feels good to know that ill be working with someone who doesn't mind helping me up, and I too look forward to working with you, David. I smiled, he smiled, and then I exhaled and thought I made it on time, good for me, tomorrow wake up a little earlier.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.