Humans logo

Driftwood-Ep4

Shadow of the past

By AmDevLPPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

The evening air cast a cold chill, dampened by passing showers earlier in the late afternoon. Night set in as Mack made his way home from work. His body was weary from a hard shift, and he still had to study when he gets home. A growling stomach made its needs known as he had skipped dinner earlier. (The one time I make it home on time and there's nothing in the fridge.) "Sigh"(I just knew I should have gone grocery shopping, but no I just had to have takeout.) He sighs again. "I just wanted to have a little celebration for once." He waited at the end of the block for the light to change.

His eyes fell onto the puddle in the middle of the street. His mind once again flashes back to his childhood days. The air slightly catches in his lung as the old familiar sound of laughter ringed in his ears.

A child runs pass him a starts dancing in the water. He turns around and smiles back at him.

“Ray?" Mack whispers.

The child continues to smile as he dances around. “Mack. Hey, Mack.” He waves him over. “Let’s play. Let’s play.” The boy waves again. “Let’s play. Don’t you want to play.”

A carefree boyish smile transforms Driftwood's face. His heart felted lighter. (I do. I really, truly do.) He pushes away the loneliness in his heart and walks toward his schoolboy friend.

A car honks as it approaches the young man in the streets. His eyes widen as he finally notices

the oncoming car. (Not again!) He slowly steps back away like a person facing down a wolf.

The car screeches to a halt. Just inches away from Mack. He blacks out, falling to the ground.

A woman steps out from the driver seat. " Hey, you scare the crap out of me why did you just walk out into the street like that? Hello?" She had thought he lost his balance, but the guy was out cold. She calls towards her car. "Jay calls the ambulance I think he's hurt."

“Hurt my ass!" Jay exclaims. "It's just an act to extort some money. Let me talk to him. I'll help him see the light alri-" His words fell away when sees Mack lying on the ground. He shoves her aside. " Mack wake-up. It's me, Jay. Wake-up." He yells back at the woman. "Damn it, Jean! What did you do?" He whips out his phone. "Hello? I need an ambulance."

(It was an early night, unlike this one. That year the winter cold was brutal. The forecast called for heavy snow but, the street was dry and clear. Dad wanted to celebrate his promotion, so he took mom and me to dinner. We stop at a bakery on the way home to by brownies and hot cocoa. The order was made to go because dad and I had planned to watch a movie that night. We were in the middle crosswalk when a car turns a corner then race down the street like the dogs of hell were chasing him. It was seven years ago my life changed forever.) Tears stream down the face of the sleeping patient. The heart monitor starts beeping.

“Nurse!" Jay calls out. (What goes on in that head of yours. It even has the power to make you cry.) He reaches down and holds his hand.

A nurse comes in with a physician. They administer a sedative to help calm him down. " He's fine just a little agitated. It's a normal reaction considering the events that took place." The doctor assures, taking another check of his pulse. "The test came back showing no sign of physical trauma. He's slightly undernourished and physically exhausted. A couple of days rest and some good home cooking will make him right as rain again." He checks the chart. "We'll need his parents or close relative to sigh his release and collect his prescription."

“Prescription! I thought you said he was fine?”

“ He is fine. I just prescribe some multivitamins for him to take. Just in case he has a hard head and decides to skip meals anyway."

“I admit at times I do have a hard head but there’s no need. I’ll look after myself thanks.” Call Mack’s groggy voice.

“You're finally awake!" Jay chimes happily.

Mack pulls free his hand. “Pipe down! I have a headache.”

“We need a relative for them to call.” Is Jay’s only reply.

“ There is no-one to call it’s just me. I’m awake now and I have my full memories. No need for relatives.” He throws back.

“I’ll leave the two of you to square all that out. I’ll be back to check on you in the morning.” The doctor assures them before leaving the room.

Mack watches the door close after him before turning back to The River. “How did I get here?”

“ My sister’s car came this close to smearing you on the road.” He pinches his fingers to illustrate his point.

“Why are you here?” He asks, swatting his hands away.

“ Looking after you, plus I was in the car. You gave me a big scare.”

“ Don't be so dramatic. It's not your problem anyway." (That sounds too harsh.) "I mean it was your sister's car so most likely she was the driver. It wasn't your fault. " His friend's eyes became more intense. "Stop staring." He looks away.

“Why did you do it?”

Mark was confused. “Do what?”

“Run into the middle of the street like that.” His voice tense slightly. “I just told you how close we came to hitting you and you don’t flinch at all.”

“What do you want from me. I don’t always react the way other people reac-”

“That not what I mean and you know it.” Jay cut him off before he finished. His temper had flared up like hot fire. He closes his eyes drawing a deep breath then exhale. “I’m asking what was going through your mind when you did it.”

“I don't remember," Mack states flatly. He turns his head again trying to escape the piercing stare beaming down on him. “Just stay out of it, okay?”

“Not okay.” Jay takes a seat on the chair close to the bed.

Mark turns back to find The River face very close to his. The word spoken made soft warm puff against his face. “ I think we should be clear about one thing.”

Driftwood throat now felt very dry. “What’s that?”

“That what I’m fearing should never, ever, cross your mind. You're not allowed to leave me alone in this world.” He watches Mack's eyes wander before resettle back to his. " If you don't believe me just try. I'll follow you to hell and back. Just to have you by my side." A warm smile transforms his face again. To a look of dark mischief. "Whatever you do, my life is in your hands."

friendship
Like

About the Creator

AmDevLP

I am an Independent Publlisher/Author. I write Online fiction novels and e-books. I have a I have an e-book on amazon and drivethru fiction. I also have a chapter novel on Gumroad.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.