Humans logo

Does The High Cost of Dating Contribute to Poverty?

Gas, inflation, makes dating expensive

By Thomas EgelhoffPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Image by 1820796 from Pixabay

Before Covid and massive inflation many couples would schedule a “date night.” It might be dinner out, a movie, or some other fun activity they both enjoy.

I was thinking way back, and it’s a long way back, to my dating days. We’re talking before most people reading this were even born.

I’m talking before the Kennedy assassination.

When I was in high school, I could buy a half tank of gas, take my girlfriend to the drive-in, (older readers explain to younger readers what a drive-in was) and feed us both a tasty cheeseburger, fries, and a soft drink all for less than $5.

I know that sounds remarkable and very economical by today’s standards.

But money did go further back then. Or did it?

The Cost Is All Relative

But how much did $5 buy if you compared it with today?

Five dollars in 1960 would be same as $49.88 in today’s economy.

I’m going to have to share this with all my old girlfriends to show what a big spender I was, and they should have felt very lucky I asked them out.

Or were they just taking advantage of me for my massive $5 bankroll?

Maybe I need to rethink that.

I Feel Sorry for Anyone Dating Today

When you figure today’s escalating gas prices, movie tickets, popcorn, or dinner out the average paycheck can be gone in a flash.

Back then I was making $1 an hour working in the family business which would be $9.98 an hour in 2022 dollars you begin to see I was spending big even back then.

Using advanced math, it would take a little less than a day's pay to date someone — once.

But, if you’re talking about a date on Friday and Saturday, and maybe even Sunday, you’re slowly getting into a car payment territory.

That special someone needs to be someone really special or you’re incredibly desperate for a date.

No Wonder Kids Still Live at Home When They're 30

My dollar an hour paycheck didn’t have too many constraints on my social lifestyle.

I didn’t have to pay rent since I was living at home during high school, no car payment since I had access to our very stylish Ford station wagon, no food bills although my parents should have at least charged me for food.

My parents got a huge raise in pay when I moved out.

They could probably have eaten for two weeks on what I finished off in one day.

But what if you’re a college student in today’s inflated overpriced society you’ll still have a few bills?

You might have a credit card, a car maybe, — hard to date on a bike.

You might walk everywhere but there’s still those $8 movie tickets plus another $5-6 for popcorn and Junior Mints.

Even an average restaurant will run you $30-$40 excluding a tip to impress your significant other.

Suddenly $9.20 an hour (minimum wage in my home state of Montana) doesn’t go very far.

A lot hinges on the quality of the first date, especially if you expect a second date.

I guess money can buy happiness if you get that second date.

Some Final Thoughts

We all need someone in our lives.

It might not always be the love of your life, but personal interaction is important to a healthy psyche.

Living a hermit lifestyle rarely works out well.

I doubt I would have it in me to go to the effort and expense of dating again if it ever came to that.

But when you’re young and in love, sacrifices must be made, and I guess the youth of today are more than willing to make them.

I can’t recall too many news stories about raising the minimum wage to make dating more economical.

Perhaps that message doesn’t have the same traction as millions living in poverty and alone.

Does dating cause poverty? I wonder what the polls would say. I guess that’s a story for another blog.

Happy dating — IF you’re gainfully employed.

I hope you enjoyed reading this and that you'll subscribe. Thank you.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Thomas Egelhoff

Author, Radio Talk Show Host, blogger, YouTuber, Vietnam Vet, half-fast guitar player, average cook, and a really nice guy. I read all my articles; you should too and subscribe. Thanks very much.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.