Humans logo

Do you think about TIME?

Or is it just me?

By Janay EaleyPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
2

Have you ever confided in your parents about your worries?

I tried it once. I know there are plenty of people who were my age and under who could not reveal how depressed they were and how they felt their life was over. It is not that I cannot talk about anything with my mother because she makes it clear that she is always ready to listen. In her generation, children were never allowed to have feelings.

Parents did not care about how they felt back then. Sometimes we are cautious about expressing ourselves to our parents because we do not know if they will take it seriously or we filter our words and change our tone, so we do not come off as disrespect.

It is something about older people where they do not understand why younger people think or feel a certain way. It was not anything serious like mental health, but I thought it was important and so I told her what was on my mind.

I felt like time was moving quickly and I did not think that I would be the age of twenty in a matter of time.

I was standing over my mother while she was in bed, watching the television and paying attention to what I was saying to her at the same time. She pulls her blanket far back, starts to shake her head and her eyes are half closed.

“You are young!” she says, sternly.

(You see what I mean, referring to what is said about older people.)

“You have enough time on your hands.” she added.

“You need be worried about finishing school, getting your driver's license and finding a job.

“But Mom-” I tried to get my point across, but parents will shut you down and have the last words in everything.

She could not understand why out of all the things I could have said to her, time was important to me but what is wrong with that? My mother does not realize this because she does not think about time but the rest of us do.

This year has entered and now it is time for them to say goodbye and I am not the only one who has noticed. Tiktokers have noticed something eerie going on with time and Christians have their own explanations as why time moving fast, claiming that the enemy is playing tricks on us for some sinister reasons.

I am not worried about time, but different versions of time such as:

Time is the point of time as measured in hours and minutes past midnight.

Time is more or less definite period of time in history or characterized by events or circumstances.

Time is the successful, fornuate, or influential part of a person's life or career.

Time is the instance of something happening or being done.

She wants me to break out my shell and go out more because I need to enjoy life as much as I can before it is too late. It was a chance that she missed, and she will never get it back.

I will admit that my mother has told me this many times so I should not be shocked at her response, but I would like to see myself in about ten years from now and it makes me scared that it will be someone that I will not like.

I feel like they are ones who seem like they are on the right track and just seem to swerve off the road and crash somewhere else.

humanity
2

About the Creator

Janay Ealey

Greetings, my fellow readers!

Writer.

Social Media Manager.

Student.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.