Humans logo

Do Well, Feel Well

The Happiness Meddler

By Anthony MallgrenPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

He looked as if he would be accepted into a positive eugenics program.

“Hi, my name is Amber.”

“Michael.”

“Why are you still dating?”

“Seems as though women like to be sought after. I commit enough time and energy in making myself available that I know I am not committing self-sabotage, relative to what society expects. Makes for more agreeable, and less depressing, discussions when socializing. I do not feel the urge to initiate a relationship in that way though, taking on the responsibility of someone’s happiness. They know more about their happiness than I do. I guess you can say that I am not aggressive enough, not as emotionally invested as others.”

“Why are you here?”

“For candid conversations and a glass of merlot, but I am open to possibilities.”

She thought she felt a hint of why Meghan Markle had withdrawn from the royal family.

“Nothing came of the ivy league alumni events?”

“Seemed to me that most of the women had a mean spirit that they were looking for a partner to quell. Their personality is their own. Also, if they would like to leave, I do not persuade them to stay. That may be a decision that betters or worsens their life, and not one I would like to be responsible for.”

“What is your ideal life?”

Michael swirled, swished, and swallowed some more of his wine, then said, “Successful and comfortable.”

“Alone? Wife? Kids?”

“I think and feel I could be successful and comfortable in those scenarios.”

“You think your social responsibility ends at social gatherings and avoiding a day of depression? No meaning in the will of the Universe nor God? What about when you are older? Who is to take care of you in old age?”

“Both know where to find me, and a stranger could be kinder than a family member, though I am not sure that it is always the case.”

“If you knew both of us would remember this interaction for the rest of our lives, what would you like for the takeaway to be?”

“That it is important to exert yourself in ways that contribute to a sense of fulfillment. Then, when you come to a rest, you will know what you have done is good and feel a sense of satisfaction. Also, that in these efforts, you must weigh what is required by society and perform a duty if you are called upon. If not, you will be without the knowledge and option that what you have done is good and may fall into depression and possibly other illnesses. And lastly, to let people seek and attain happiness, for if one partakes in unsolicited meddling, they become at least partially responsible for the outcome of their doing.”

“Hold on, I have a call coming in.”

Michael could hear indistinct chattering. It did not sound friendly. He finished his merlot. Amber walked in the direction of one of the ushers and spoke briefly, still on the cell phone.

One usher said to others, “We have a stage five clinger.”

Another, “Stage five clinger!”

And another, “Stage five clinger!”

An usher directed Amber to a room outside of the main gathering place. She was let in and another person was directed in the room after her.

“She gave me her number and I called. Why am I being labeled a stage five clinger?”

The director, “Did you read the handbook? It says you are not to interfere with anyone else’s time when they are with another match.”

Amber, “Now he thinks I have baggage, FROM 15 MINUTES AGO!”

The director, “You will have to find out if it matters to him some other time. Time is up and he is gone.”

Amber, “That is if he still thinks this company is able to render the services they advertise.”

dating
Like

About the Creator

Anthony Mallgren

Grew up on the West Coast., moved to the East Coast and think I will stay here. I work as a software developer and write during my free-time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.