Humans logo

Did Someone Hurt You? Heal Yourself With Only 2 Thoughts.

The right mindset might just be the cure.

By Kunal BakraniaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Did Someone Hurt You? Heal Yourself With Only 2 Thoughts.
Photo by christopher catbagan on Unsplash

Did someone hurt you, I'm sorry about that.

I apologize on their behalf.

They may or may not have meant to harm you. Nonetheless, you're the one who's affected.

Regardless of their intention, you're hurt and as a result, these 2 thoughts might help you heal.

I'm going to keep it pretty simple and brief.

So first things first,

1#: Try not to take it personally.

When someone is mean to you, it might actually be a reflection of what they're going through internally.

Often times, the way we feel about things, places, and people can be composed of what we're feeling internally. If we're feeling negative, we tend to see problems in every situation and circumstance.

For all you know, they might have simply had a rather tough day.

With all that pent-up frustration, they might hurt you as a way of venting it all out.

Their expression of hurting you hardly has anything to do with your:

  • Abilities
  • Flaws
  • Looks
  • Status

Or anything else.

But rather a result of them dealing with their internal conflicts.

You might simply be the reflection of their insecurities.

So don't take it too personally, it might be more to do with them than it is to do with you.

2. Empathy / Understanding.

Sometimes, people can act out of their element. That's what comes with being human. If it wasn't, we'd all be machines, right?

I mean our laptops don't hurt us do they, it's not like they have an attitude or a personality (at least not yet, especially with all that AI on the way).

It's important not to judge others, we haven't got the slightest clue on what they've been through and faced.

I'm sure that the way they're treating you might just be temporary, and not a reflection of their truest character.

That being said, there's another important thing I need to get across.

3. DON' T JUST TAKE IT, draw a line in the sand.

If they hurt you. It's perfectly ok to speak out, It's important for them to understand the consequences of their actions, and how it's making you feel.

With that in mind, let me make it clear that:

Being hurt might be ok.

Being ABUSED is NEVER ok.

There's a fine line between, being empathetic for someone hurting you and someone downright abusing you.

There comes a point in time when we need to stand up to abusive behaviour that harms us and those around us.

Enduring pain and hurt might be necessary at times. Simultaneously, it's even more important to protect ourselves.

Before I let you go, ask yourself this:

The person who is hurting me, what are their intentions?

Are they simply having a bad day? Or do they have ulterior motives to damage and manipulate me?

The reality is, the world that we live in isn't cute, and we're going to be hurt at one point or the other.

We can't really avoid being hurt, however, we need to use that as an opportunity to find strength and build resilience within ourselves.

Displaying empathy and having the understanding that people will be the way they are. We can't get affected by their words, behaviours, and actions.

I do as much as I can to not get affected by any external influences, but focus more on what I can control. Which are my own thoughts and how I respond to the situation that I'm dealing with.

I hope you found this post useful and practical for your life.

Thank you so much for reading, I also look forward to any feedback on my writing. I'm constantly trying to improve as much as I can.

Stay calm and focused.

Till my next post, stay well.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.