Humans logo

The Biggest Lie I Once Believed Was True.

If only I knew better, I could have saved myself.

By Kunal BakraniaPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
The Biggest Lie I Once Believed Was True.
Photo by Markus Winkler on Unsplash

One of the things that I'm sure you never knew about me, was that I used to believe in some pretty weird ideas.

Looking back, it kind of shocks me that I maybe wasn't intelligent enough to see that these ideas didn't have my best interest.

Nonetheless, I hope you enjoy and learn from my mistakes and misjudgements.

Here's a couple of them that might shock you.

Lie #1:

If you are sleeping more than 4 hours,

it's not healthy for you.

I can't believe that I used to think that this statement was true.

I had picked this up when I was part of a cult that also believed in drinking only liquids all day for months, extreme fasting, trying moving objects with your mind, so on and so forth.

Now, keep that quote in mind.

Let's come down to earth, look at some basic facts and engage in some critical thinking.

By NASA on Unsplash

According to the National Sleep Foundation, below is the minimum amount of sleep you need as per your age group.

  • Newborns 0 to 3 months : 14 - 17 hours of sleep.
  • Toddlers 1 to 2 years : 11 - 14 hours of sleep.
  • Children 3 to 5 years : 10 - 13 hours of sleep.
  • Teenagers 14 to 17 years : 10 hours of sleep.
  • Adults 18 to 64 years : 7–9 hours of sleep.

Here's the Full chart for your reference, so you can get a clear idea of how much sleep you might need according to your age group.

Having said that,

let's just go over a few points on what actually happens when you don't get enough sleep.

I'm sure we're all aware of what happens, but let's see what the experts have to say:

When I was reading apeer-reviewed journal in the US national library of medicine. I found that:

"According to the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, people with sleep deficiency have a greater risk of many health complications, including heart disease, kidney disease, high blood pressure, diabetes, stroke, and obesity".

From all of the above information, it's clear to say that,

the lie I believed was highly detrimental to my health.

During that time, I used to freelance. I can confirm the fact that I was massively underperforming within my business as well as my degree program.

How can someone possibly function with 4 hours of sleep or less?

There's plenty of research saying that the absolute minim sleep we require is 6 hours, in order to function at our optimum.

Now, if that wasn't enough, here's one more lie I used to believe was true.

Lie #2:

This was also instilled in me when I was part of that cult, but I've also seen it generally.

"Chanting and worshipping will make you rich and successful".

This was one lie I would believe to my core. I would engage in worship every day thinking that I would get the right idea or strategy to increase my income.

In short, it didn't.

It just created a lot of false hope in me that something would change, due to me repeatedly saying something to the universe. Hope doesn't move the needle, radical action does.

I've realised that a lot of what we'd like to achieve in life, such as:

  • Reflect.
  • Introspect.
  • Question my life.
  • Ask myself, how I can make more of a positive impact on the lives of others.
  • Spend more time figuring out how I can increase my income.
  • Looking back at my life and seeing how far I've come, and how I can go further.
  • Calling my parents and grandparents to check on them.
  • Read a book, either on the business, self-development of some kind.
  • It goes on and on.

I found that these activities have helped me to progress so much further in life, rather than worshipping, praying and chanting. That's just me.

I have so many more lies that I used to believe, but these are two of the biggest and more prominent ones.

I understand that all have our own unique definitions of truth and lies, but these are just mine.

Before I close this post, ill leave you with this thought. Hopefully, it might help you.

Before putting your full faith in a belief, ask yourself,

is this idea, thought, belief, entertaining my best interest?

Will it uplift my life, or put me in a delusional spell that can have psychological and physiological consequences later on?

Have I run it through with others around for their viewpoint?

Have I researched it for myself?

I would also suggest getting other people's viewpoints since they can give you a fresh perspective. I can tell you, my parents, certainly work me up to certain realities, for which I shall be eternally grateful.

Thank you so much for reading and being here.

I'd also love some feedback on my writing, I'm constantly looking to improve.

Have an awesome day ahead and focus on what you know to be true in your heart.

References

National sleep foundation.

NCBI

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.