Humans logo

Diamonds, Decisions and plenty of Vines

A cool Stay in San Francisco, Part 4

By Jay LeTron DobbinsPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Diamonds, Decisions and plenty of Vines
Photo by Erol Ahmed on Unsplash

That train seemed so far away and Janette asked me to carry her bag. That bag was so heavy and I was on full alert and noticing the man still following us. Every surrounding noise was at a higher pitch as my senses grew greater and the mixture of fear and excitement was racing through my veins. The stranger got closer as I heard his footsteps of his Cole Haan shoes. The stranger said, "Mr. Dobbins, is that you? I'm Clyde from the Philly sessions! What, has it been 4 years since that project?" Our tense postures relaxed as Janette punched me in the arm.

I started to shake Clyde's hand as the bead sweat ran down the side of my temple. Janette was nice enough to run her thumb across my head to catch the bead as it ran south, after going ultimate ninja warrior on my arm. Clyde started to utter a compliment, "You have a bea...." as Janette pulled me away while look at Clyde over her should and saying, "We have to catch a train and time is running short! Nice meeting you!"

We quickly jumped on the bus and headed toward Napa, but yet we still had a major decision about these bag full of diamonds. As problems could not worse, I heard a beeping noise come from the bag. Janette started to dig through the bag and found a tracking device. She slid the bus window open and discreetly threw the tracking device out of the window. Even though we both had a sigh of relief, we still fought with the consciousness of what are we going to do next.

Made an attempt to ease the highly tense moment by taking out a broacher and started to talk about the excursions we could check out upon arrival. We made our destination and I suggested a room at the White House to hide the bag and focus on our day we planned. We settled and I gave a statement of encouragement, "There, we are all settled and lets take to the train and try the hot air balloon ride next. What do you think?" Janette seemed a bit shaken over the event and side, "I had my Jimmy Choo slippers in bag!" I placed my arm around her shoulders and said, "Things will turn out for the better!" She then replied and said, "What? Are you going to replace my slippers?" I gave a look of uncertainty because I didn't know what to say to make the moment better.

We got on the train and then ordered some light snacks and some wine to pair. We both slid into an awkward moment as we both gazed out the wind as our snacks and wine sat in disappointment as their purpose was not met for the particular moment. Janette placed her head on my shoulder and said, "What a beautiful picture!" I gave no response as I felt the need to let her take in the day and say whatever was on her mind at the moment. She looked into my eyes and said, "Why are you hear? What is the situation trying to tell me? What are the odds of something like this happening to a woman like me?" I gave a slight smile and said, "Remember I told you that I was full of romance and adventure!" She pinched me and smiled and I gave her comfort and said, "We can get through this!"

The train toured the valley as we embraced each other and took in the lovely scene and enjoyed quality time. What had appeared as a fast and unexpected day, calmed down to be a relaxing moment with what seem to be a very special woman. We gain our appetites back and apologized to the wine and snacks as we focused our attention and Janette broke a piece of bread and slowly fed it to me.

At this very moment of relaxation and completely forgetting about the early events of today, we suddenly heard strange noises on top of the train and multiple footsteps moving toward our cabin at a high rate. Then at a sudden moment, the train windows exploded and five men jumped in from the top.

dating
1

About the Creator

Jay LeTron Dobbins

Casual writer! Love to express in print! Tell people how you feel and love life to the fullest with no regrets. Try to say something good about a person when they can hear it, and not when they are gone! Love like no tomorrow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.