Humans logo

Decision Date

An interactive story where you help Sophia make crucial decisions on her first date. What will you decide?

By Fiona Teddy-JimohPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
10
Decision Date
Photo by ISABEL PEREZ on Unsplash

My name is Sophia.

Recently I matched with a guy on a dating app. His name is Taylor. He’s tall, handsome, and likes to party.

Tonight is our first date.

I’m so bad at this romance thing. I never seem to get past the first date. I’m clumsy, tactless, and when I get really nervous I start derailing my thought-processes and stories into bumbling rambles.

However, I think tonight is going to be different. You’re going to help me. I’ve got this super discreet earpiece just for the occasion.

You’ll be able to hear my whispering, and I’ll be able to hear your advice. I know for sure that I’ll need your help on what decisions I should take in order to make this the best date ever. In fact, let’s test it out right now.

So, I’m meeting my date at a fancy wine bar. I really want to dress to impress. What should I wear?

The little black dress, heels, and a clutch bag | Go to decision one

or

The power suit with all the pockets | Go to decision two

--------------------------------

Decision One

Wow, what a combination. I feel sexy in this outfit, thanks!

Right, I’m going to call a taxi, stand-by.

***

You there? Okay, I’ve just about made it to the entrance of the fancy wine bar. That taxi ride was wild. Most taxi drivers crawl under the speed limit, but my guy was practically flying tonight. We hurtled over a speed bump and I nearly banged my head on the roof. I hope my makeup is ok…

Oh crumbs, there he is now. He’s literally at the bar staring right at me. What should I do?

Gesture to the bathroom and make sure your makeup is ok | go to decision three

or

Pretend to be on a runway and strut | go to decision four

--------------------------------

Decision Two

Erm, I look like a boss - literally. It’s not what I would have chosen myself, but I guess that’s the whole point.

Right, I’m going to call a taxi, stand-by.

***

You there? Okay, I’ve just about made it to the entrance of the fancy wine bar. That taxi ride was so quiet. Most taxi drivers love to talk, but my guy was as quiet as a mouse. Maybe it’s the suit. I hope he didn’t feel intimidated…

Oh picklesticks, there he is now. He’s literally at the bar staring right at me. What should I do?

Pretend to be on a runway and strut | go to decision four

or

Stand there and wait for him to approach you | go to decision six

--------------------------------

Decision Three

Man, I look an absolute state. I have stains all over my outfit!

Oh well. No need to dwell on it. I’m just going to pat myself down, wash my face and re-apply my makeup. This may take a while, don’t go anywhere.

***

I’m out of the bathroom and my date is still here. If I’m honest, I’m a little surprised.

Okay, I’m going to approach him. Listen closely, I need you to hear our conversation.

“Hi, you must be Taylor.”

“Sophia?”

“Yes, that’s me. Sorry about all of that…”

Oh, he’s already ordered me a glass.

“You like Merlot, right Sophia? Your profile said Merlot. It’s why I invited you here. This bar is pretty special. You see that tablet?”

Hey, are you still here? I’m looking at the tablet on the bar. It seems to be one of many. I’m looking around and it seems to be on all the tables too.

“This tablet connects straight to the Bright Cellars database. You fill out a short quiz and its clever algorithm sends the data to the waiters round back. They pick up the results and serve your perfect glass of wine. When you’re done you can get the same again or request a new match.”

“So how did you manage to order my glass without me?”

“Well, erm, you were gone a while and I was really thirsty. So, I went back onto your profile and tried to guess your answers based on your info. Mojave Rain, that’s the name of this glass of Merlot, and like I said, your profile said you like Merlot, so I think I did a good job figuring out what kind of person you are.”

This guy sounds a bit full of himself, but I will taste this wine.

Wow, that’s a good glass of Merlot. Ugh, What should I do?

Sit down and give him the benefit of the doubt | go to decision five

or

Acknowledge the red flag and go home | go to decision ten

--------------------------------

Decision Four

I’m doing it. I’m strutting my stuff.

A little hair flick here, a little pout there. Hand on hip. One foot, another foot, and again, then…

Argh!

Oh no! I’ve just tripped over and took down a waiter serving glasses of wine at the table next to me. This can’t be happening. I’m just laying here, soaking wet. There’s broken glass everywhere and I’ve got wine dripping off my face. Merlot?

You’d think I’d get up quickly and apologise but I’m suddenly scanning for the broken bottle. What is this wine? Oh. Mojave Rain. I’ll remember that.

No, no, no. I'm sure I just spotted my date swivel around on his seat. Is he pretending that he hasn’t seen me? So rude, he’s not even coming to my aid!

The waiter is getting up and cleaning the mess. I'm getting mad glares from the guests. What should I do?

Apologise profoundly to the waiter and guests, then go to the bathroom and clean yourself up | go to decision three

or

Apologise profoundly to the waiter and guests, then get heck out of there | go to decision ten

--------------------------------

Decision Five

Maybe I should have just gone home. This guy has been talking non-stop for about fifteen minutes. It’s all “I’m super wealthy” this and “I party all over the world” that.

The background music is starting to get louder. His arrogant babbling is becoming arrogant shouting, but this glass of Merlot is divine. Should I stay? Should I go? What should I do?

Get same again and suggest going to the dancefloor to shut him up | go to decision seven

or

This date is going nowhere, finish your glass and go home | go to decision ten

--------------------------------

Decision Six

What am I doing?!

I’m just standing here, staring at him. He’s just staring right back at me, but he’s not moving. This was a terrible idea. Ugh, and I’m blocking the doorway. Maybe I should move a little to the left…

Argh!

Oh no! I’ve just bashed into a waiter carrying a full glass of wine and a bottle. He’s literally on top of me. This so bad. The wine has missed us and has a made a puddle in the corner. I got a bit of splashback though. Merlot?

You’d think I’d get up quickly and apologise but I’m suddenly scanning for the broken bottle. What is this wine? Oh. Mojave Rain. I’ll remember that.

The waiter has ran off to clean the mess in the corner. My date is walking towards me. He’s next to me. He’s bending down.

“This isn’t going to work.”

Aaaand he’s gone. Great. What should I do?

Apologise profoundly to the waiter and run to the bar. You need a drink after this disaster | go to decision eight

or

Apologise profoundly to the waiter, then get heck out of there | go to decision ten

--------------------------------

Decision Seven

I followed your advice and got myself another glass of Merlot.

We are now on the dance floor. It’s not so much we are dancing, more like awkwardly swaying from side to side. I’m trying really hard not to spill my drink. Maybe I shouldn’t have brought my second glass of Merlot with me.

He’s staring at me so intensely, like he is mentally undressing me. It’s making me periodically look away.

This is awkward. The music keeps switching from fast upbeat dance music to slow melodic rock and pop. My body is all over the place and, whoops, there goes some of the wine all over my lovely shoes.

Oh, my date looks like he’s about to say something, keep your ears open.

“So, I’ve had a nice time tonight. I think you’re cool, but I don’t think we have chemistry, so I think I’m going to take off.”

Ouch. He’s downing his glass and literally leaving me here alone on the dancefloor. I feel like such a reject. What should I do?

Girl, go home | go to decision ten

--------------------------------

Decision Eight

I’ve ordered a glass of Merlot. This place really is fancy. There are tablets stationed at every bar and on the tables. It seems this place has partnered with Bright Cellars. You fill out a short quiz and its clever algorithm sends the data to the waiters round back who picks up the results and serves your perfect glass of wine.

When you’re done you can get the same again or request a new match. I gave it a go and guess what it matched me with? Mojave Rain, Merlot. Some things are just meant to be.

Man, I’m hopeless. How am I supposed to find a guy if I can’t get past the first date?

“Hey, are you alright?”

Who said that? Oh, it’s the waiter from earlier.

“Yeah I guess so. Sorry about the mess by the way. I’m so clumsy.”

“It’s fine. It happens more often that you’d think. My name is Jason by the way.”

“Sophia.”

“So, I’ve just finished my shift and was actually about to go home but then I spotted you here alone, are you still with your date?”

“Nah, it didn’t work out.”

“Do you mind if I have a drink with you?”

This guy sounds so shy, but wow, he’s really fit. What should I do?

Well, you’re already out. Let him drink with you | go to decision nine

or

Politely turn down the offer and just go home | go to decision ten

--------------------------------

Decision Nine

I’ve just got home.

The reason why you haven’t heard from me in a little while is because I switched off my earpiece shortly after Jason introduced himself. You’ve been so helpful, but the conversation was flowing so well that I didn’t feel like I needed advice anymore. We have so much in common and flirted all night. I had so much fun. We exchanged numbers and I’m seeing him again tomorrow.

I’m so glad things didn’t work out with Taylor. Sometimes when a door closes, a bigger, better door opens. Is that how that phrase goes? Anyways, like I said, thanks for your help. I think I can take it from here.

End.

--------------------------------

Decision Ten

I’ve just got home.

It’s funny. I'm trying so hard to forget this night, but do you know what I can't stop thinking about? The wine. That Mojave Rain was exceptional. I tried to find it at my local convenience store but all they had was some cheap knock-off Merlot, which I got anyways. I’ve poured a glass and it doesn’t even compare. I’ll see if Bright Cellars has a website.

Anyways, thanks for all your help. I’m going to take some time out and just focus on myself. No more dating for a little while.

End.

--------------------------------

Credits of original images in order of appearance: Isabel Perez (Unsplash), Kristina Flour (Unsplash), Joeyy Lee (Unsplash), Olga Zabegina (Unsplash), Possessed Photography (Unsplash), Bright Cellars (Bright Cellars), Anastasia Vityukova (Unsplash), Alexander Krivitskiy (Unsplash), Bright Cellars (Bright Cellars), Colton Sturgeon (Unsplash), Alexander Krivitskiy (Unsplash), Mathilde Langevin (Unsplash), Bright Cellars (Bright Cellars), Thomas Franke (Unsplash), Charlie Firth (Unsplash), Bright Cellars (Bright Cellars), Mehrpouya H (Unsplash), Austin Wade (Unsplash), Hiva Sharifi (Unsplash), Sidekix Media (Unsplash), Jeff Siepman (Unsplash).

dating
10

About the Creator

Fiona Teddy-Jimoh

Finding innovative ways to connect creative writing with technology in order to deliver an immersive digital experience.

My name is Fiona Teddy-Jimoh and welcome to my world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.