Humans logo

Debbie

The song of a loved one

By Emma JanePublished 6 months ago 4 min read
Created in Canva

I loved this little lounge bar, feeling truly at peace sitting at the bar with my best friend Debbie. She had a smile on her face however I could see the pain behind it as she looked at the picture hanging up behind us. It was her mother; she was a singer here and this place was where she went when life just didn’t feel right for her. The bartender smiled he was always there for her but today they both looked a little nervous. I’ve never known this man to frown or show any signs of discontent. His thick black hair slightly swept to his face just above his right eye almost covering the bright brown eyes.

Debbie sighs while looking into her Shirley temple. I wanted to ask what could be happening, the fact that both seemed off I figured it had to be an anniversary of some sort, so I stayed quiet. Jackson comes almost flying through behind the bar. With a smile of determination, this gave me hope that the owner of this lounge would turn the mood around. As if to confirm that things were going to change, he looks at me and gives me a wink.

Seconds later I hear Debbie’s mom’s voice through the speakers. I had heard many songs before but this one seemed new. The first word that she sang was a name, Debbie’s name. She freezes her blue eyes filled with tears as she tucks her thin brown curls behind her ear. It was obvious she had never heard the song before either.

Jackson looks at her full of curiosity, as though he had a secret. I didn’t know much about him all I knew was that when her mother passed the people who worked with her turned into the only family she had and they treated her as such. “are you ready?” his voice so calm and quiet but I knew this question held a lot more intensity in it than what he showed.

My friend looks at me with worry. “There is something I have to do, and I don’t know how to explain it to you I just want to you to come with me ok?” This felt odd, I had an overwhelming urge to turn around instead I nodded.

“Where are we going?” We walked out back to a blue bus that looked like a painted school bus. Inside though was pastel pink and blue and set up like a 1950’s Ice cream parlor. A few people were already inside are friends Katie and Sam waited there with huge smiles on their faces.

Debbie finally answered my question. “Today is a special time of the year.” She takes a deep breath as she tries to explain the situation. “Some days hold more energy than others. There are days like an anniversary of certain events that hold so much emotion that it kind of spills over. If you can find the spot where that energy was there is a chance to be able to go back to that place in time.”

I knew I should be freaking out I really wanted to but the way everyone was looking at me made me feel as though they were waiting for it. I sat down on a blue leather couch on the side of the van silently, I felt as though I couldn’t speak. Katie sat next to me with an empathetic smile as she sat in the driver’s seat.

Everything went black within an instant and when I opened my eyes it was dark outside. The air was crisp and there were sounds of music and laughter. To the right of us, it was a carnival, I knew this carnival I had seen the pictures it was her mom’s last performance.

Back to the lounge, we go and inside nothing has changed except for the stage across from the bar. Instead of being roped off with a dusty piano in the corner, there stood her mother as happy as could be. When her eyes locked with Debbie’s I could tell she knew exactly who she was. She kept singing and then the very next song was the one we heard earlier today. Joy and tears flooded us all. She knew her daughter was coming into this odd time loop she had been waiting for, maybe even calling for her.

Once the performance was over, she walked us back to the bus as they talked about life laughing like two old friends. I watched as they said their goodbyes. Her mother hugged her in a way only a mother can do, it was a hug that was given with her whole heart. As Debbie walked away her mother called out “See you in the future!”

When we got to the bus, I couldn’t help but ask. “Why wouldn’t you tell her the truth? I am sure she would’ve been more careful if she knew she could be with you longer.”

My friend looked at me with the most peaceful look even with tears in her eyes. “If I said anything she wouldn’t be the adventurous person I remembered she probably would’ve been scared to take chances and that’s not how I want to remember her.” The deep tone in her voice told me this was heavy on her mind.

I slowly drift off to sleep listening to Debbie’s song in the background.

family

About the Creator

Emma Jane

Hello,I love to write about so many things. I felt as though this would be the best platform for my poems and short stories!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Emma JaneWritten by Emma Jane

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.