Humans logo

Dear Martha

The Lost Weeks

By Kelly MorrisPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Dear Martha
Photo by Jehovany Ortiz on Unsplash

Dear Martha,

I missed weeks 3 and 4 of January because they got a little...I will explain more later. The things that really stood out that I was supposed to be doing were, purchasing theatre tickets, planning my upcoming social engagements, planning a superbowl party, making reservations for Valentines day and getting a sitter. Obviously we are talking 14 days there were other suggestions but, I am sure anyone living in the now understands how these suggestions might be motivation killer.

I would suggest that you come up with some fin covid survival hacks like, mask making patterns, and determine your favorite socially distanced gathering spot. Always have mittens and hat in your purse in case you find you want to be in public. Never commit too full in case the crippling anxiety of being near people leaves you driving away from your destination without so much as a hello.

Lets face it I wasn't purchasing theatre tickets. I mentioned this was one of your handy little tips, and the person I mentioned it to I think defaulted to movie tickets, and you know how do you purchase your years worth of movie tickets in advance? Especially now, you have no way of knowing how long the production companies will take before they buckle and release films to streaming service. While we are at I assume we will start getting live feeds of broadway plays soon just too keep the theatres alive through their Youtube ad revenue. I could use some fresh Broadway TikTok videos in my life.

Valentines day, the Super bowl, I also have a 10 year olds birthday party to plan in the midst of those two. So needless to say the past 10 years have mostly been about that. Not to mention my partner and I didnt even notice our anniversary pass this year. It took us a few weeks before I said to him, “We forgot our anniversary” and he said something like, “oh yeah, I guess we did.” I would think this was a bad omen but its more like I married someone who doesn't genuinely infuriate me on a daily basis. As for the Superbowl, I actually usually do entertain for the Superbowl, but only for the sake of entertainment itself. I once drove in a victory parade after the Superbowl and was confused as to what all the traffic was. EVEN THOUGH I WATCHED THE GAME!

I have stalled on the home improvements. I might have to skip the closets only because they are crippling me with the size of the project. I mostly look in and then close the door. I keep looking for little trays and baskets like you suggest, however the trays and baskets in Targe and Joanns Fabric are very near art supplies. Well they are in the same store with the art supplies. I am running out of room. I keep looking and I consider what I would use these items for and decide maybe that tray wont fit anywhere, and that basket is too mig for the space, why don't I go look at the different sizes of water color paper.

I may not seem like it at this point, but I am fully committed to this process. I am going to fully engage with the projects in this book. I am already thinking of the heart shaped cookies you want me to bake, and the gf/df variations I will have to apply to them. I hope you are ready for some photos, because I am not a pretty baker. Not a pretty baker at all.

Also Martha, are you ok? Now that I see the level of life you expect in your life spaces I can only imagine that covid is tough for you too. Hang in there. I am sure there will be some version of theatre for the very rich soon.

I will be in touch,

Sincerely, Kelly Morris

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Kelly Morris

I am sort of a novice in numerous areas, I have an associates in elementary education, I am working on my project management degree, I love art, and painting, sewing, knitting. I am all over the place and not an expert in any one thing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.