Humans logo

Dear Diary

My Valentine

By CeCePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
5
Dear Diary
Photo by Daniil Silantev on Unsplash

February 10th

Dear Diary, have so much to do today. Just looking forward to ending my work day, getting my errands done and getting home to relax. Have to stop by the dry cleaner to pick up my little black dress. It's been nearly a year since I wore that last. I certainly hope it still fits. I have no time left in my schedule to go out dress shopping, and I don’t have the energy for it either. Oh, you won't believe what song I heard on the radio this morning when I was getting ready for work...Elenore Rigby by the Beatles! Haven't heard that in forever! Talk later -

February 11th

Dear Diary, what a day! The good news, the little black dress still fits. The bad news, the liquor store is all out of the wine that I wanted, so I either have to go without or drive 40 minutes away to the next nearest adult beverage shop. We'll see. I want the night to be perfectly relaxing. The right wine, the right music, the right food and of course, the right dress. It’s all relevant. Speaking of music, I was creating some new playlists and I ran across a bunch of songs that I haven’t thought about in forever. Really brought back some memories. Day off tomorrow. Need to spend the day getting this house cleaned up. I also need to find my wine glasses and my cheese board, haven’t used them since I moved in. Talk later –

February 12th

Dear Diary, cleaned all day. Had to rifle through the garage to find the box with my wine glasses and cheese board. As I was searching boxes, I found some old cassette tapes. I thought I threw those away when I moved. Must have gotten sentimental and decided to keep them. I’m surprised that Stevie Wonder cassette is even still in existence. I played that to death in my car. Talk later –

February 13th

Dear Diary, typical day at work. Everyone anxiously getting ready for Valentine’s Day! I think I am all set. Of course, I will probably think of something at the last minute, as usual. So glad I made those dinner reservations 4 months ago because so many of my friends are out of luck, all the good eateries are full. Nothing worse than no where to go for dinner on Valentine’s Day, especially if you don’t care to cook. I am not going to Jake’s on Valentine’s Day, but I heard a Pink cover band was playing there. Wish I had known that 4 months ago. Talk later -

February 14th

Dear Diary, wanted to sneak in a few words because I probably won't be writing later. Had the most luxurious bath, followed by a head to toe massage. I could not wait to have those hands on me. How lucky am I? The pre-dinner cocktails and hor d'oeuvres were to die for. That man can really speak to my taste buds. I was so completely relaxed and and content, I barely have any desire to get dressed now to go out to dinner. Well, you know, have to do the obligatory routine, after all, it is Valentine's Day. Gotta go, just saw the florist pull up. Talk later -

February 15th

Dear Diary, what a Valentine's Day. It may be the best one yet, honestly. I'll tell you everything, too good not to document.

First of all, I ended up finding the wine. I did drive out of my way but it was so worth it. After two glasses, the stress of life just washed away. I was free from all that binds me up during long work weeks and was now ready to participate in my virtual cooking lesson with Gordon Ramsey. I prepared stuffed courgette rolls, and I did a fantastic job, if I do say so myself.

After I curbed my late afternoon hunger, I ran myself a hot bath and lit all of my candles. When the lights were out in the bathroom, I was just left with the warmth of the water and the flickering of light dancing around me. Silence. Complete calming silence. Too soon the water had cooled down to an uncomfortable temperature, so I exited the tub and slipped in to my favorite robe. I told Siri to play some soul and she chose "Empty Arms and Bitter Tears", by Gerri Taylor. Before I knew it, Kelsie was at the door. Kelsie is my massage therapist and I could not have been happier to see her! After an hour on the massage table, I was ready for my evening to begin.

I was on my way upstairs when the doorbell rang. Odd to see Kelsie at the door again. She was holding flowers. She had run in to the delivery person so she took the flowers from him and ran them up to my door. I unexpectedly and verbally expressed my displeasure. "Red roses, they sent red roses?" "I ordered white!" Annoyed, I thanked Kelsie, took my flowers, even though they were red, put them in a vase and headed upstairs to get dressed. Needed to get moving. Dinner reservations were in an hour.

My little black dress fit just the way I had remembered. My hair was being a little disagreeable, but I felt good and looked fine. After putting on the last of my jewelry and a quick spritz of perfume, I was off. I arrived at the restaurant, I hurried in as it was about 10 degrees out and that was without the wind. I was a bit disheveled from the wind and as I entered, I ran right in to the Maitre D, not figuratively, but physically, ran in to him! After he felt assured I was ok, he asked if I was meeting someone or waiting for someone to arrive. I simply said, "neither". I informed him that I would just be needing a table for one. He seemed immediately perplexed by this response, after all, it was Valentine's Day. Nevertheless, I had a reservation, I was seated and I thoroughly enjoyed my 5 star dinner as I listened to some Ella Fitzgerald singing "These Foolish Things" in the back ground.

After dinner, I called for my car to pick me up. It was a little earlier than I had anticipated but, no matter to my driver. I wanted a few minutes to freshen up before we made our way over to the East Side to pick up Eduardo.

Eduardo was awaiting my arrival. He hadn't cancelled on me once in the five years that we have agreed to spend part of Valentine's Day together.

By Jasper Graetsch on Unsplash

There was no delay, we were driven straight home. Also no need for idol conversation, Eduardo wasn't good at that anyway. He knew what was expected of him and he got right to work. A couple of hours later he got himself dressed, finished his drink, and in the dark he quietly said, "Happy Valentine's Day, Ms. Rigby". He was then safely returned back to his apartment. Talk later -

The Takeaway: Elenore Rigby wasn't always alone.

-The End

I arrived

humor
5

About the Creator

CeCe

I reside in Upstate NY. I am educated as a Paralegal. Writing is my outlet.

FACEBOOK: www.facebook.com/CeCeCeCe.1966

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.