Humans logo

Dealing With a Long-Distance Relationship

My personal experience being in a long term long-distance relationship

By Jackie ReyesPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
My Partner and I at Yokohama State Park

I'm writing this story for those who can relate or are thinking about being in a long-distance relationship with someone you consider your one. Not only telling you how it is being in a long term relationship but being with a partner that is in the Navy and that you've been together for a long time.

I don't necessarily want to start from the beginning but I will say this is my high school sweetheart. We met in high school and have been together since. That was in 2014 believe it or not how time seriously flies by. After two or so years he decided to enlist which was okay with me, in my mind, it was like do your thing we are still young. Of course, it was emotionally distressing cause my person/love/home was leaving. At that moment I thought wow this will from now on be very different.

After it wasn't too hard once he got his first station in Virginia beach cause I was like sweet anytime I have a break from school and work I can visit home since it only about a 4-hour drive! That was something I could handle the weekend or maybe even weekly visits where we could hang and enjoy the beach.

Us in Yokohama, Japan after he first left for Japan (2019)After 3–4 years of him being stationed was when it was time to change commands, he asked for my opinion about going to Japan. I was like of course we don't have kids or are married this the time for you to travel and enjoy! I said optimistically. At this time in my life, I thought growing in every way possible even though separate would be good cause we can teach each other different things.

After we found out his paper got accepted, we spent a great New Year 2018 going into 2019. But the hardest part was leaving him to that airport seeing him leave knowing it would be a while to see him. Now at this point, we have 2 years of him being overseas and me visiting him so far 3 times (I will share a picture of us being cute!). It has been wonderful but no one tells you how it will be seeing your partner after 3 to 9 months apart and how they become a different person with different habits. It's not a downside of the situation it's just the need to adapt and see growth or change, which is something that would have either way if we lived together… it would have just been less noticeable but always lovable.

I think in my next post I'll talk about how I balance my long-distance relationship in my life and how it becomes to develop for those who are interested in a long-distance relationship.

I just wanted to give you a look at my relationship so far…

Jackie

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.