Humans logo

How COVID Has Effected my Long-Distance Relationship...

It's tough but it's Rona Season šŸ˜“šŸ˜”

By Jackie ReyesPublished 3 years ago ā€¢ 2 min read
Like
Us in the Tokyo Tower

If some of you havenā€™t youā€™ve already read my first few posts, Iā€™m in a long-distance relationship with my boyfriend who is in the Navy. This past December of 2020, I was going to go visit him. I had ordered my flight a couple of months before Japan had its travel restrictions. But the airline hadnā€™t update me about it. Not only that my flight was changed multiple times and Hopper (worse app to use like ever!) I couldnā€™t get in touch with them to change anything. So I hand to contact the airline.

Besides that, I was excited, packed, and arrived at the airport ready to fly and see the love of my life. The check-in person was checking me in, and asked ā€œDo you have proof of travel?ā€ I went blank, Iā€™m sorry Iā€™m traveling to see my fiancĆ© get married. (The whole fiancĆ© and marriage thing isnā€™t a lie but Iā€™m not all uptight about titles unless asked) They just said no proof you canā€™t flyā€¦ I tried to get in contact with my partner (mind you 14-hour time differenceā€¦ woo-hoo šŸ™„) the only thing he could probably send were his orders but my name wouldnā€™t have been on them. SOOooOO, I had to call my sister and pick me up. I was ready to bawl my freaking eyes out but tried to remain calm. Now, I just accepted that I wonā€™t be able to see him until December 2021, Iā€™ll have a year and 8 months of not seeing him.

Image for post

Just a little throwback of Yokohama!

Take from this:

1. It obviously sucks for me but I have a support system at home.

2. Iā€™ve had to take in the fact this has affected him so much, heā€™s felt very down about the fact we canā€™t spend the holidays together. Weā€™ve spent them together for the past few years.

3. Our communication and feeling have to be clearer now since we didnā€™t get that person to person contact. I have to understand the fact he went from 6 months out in the sea with a schedule, excited to see me, taking leave, and then poof no Jackieā€¦ Iā€™m the one thing that makes the end of his tour worth wild finally getting to spend time together.

So for those of you that have your partner within a foot radius appreciate them even if they get annoying as fuckā€¦ Because youā€™ll never want to feel that piece of your heart get left behind or not seen for a long period of time. That is for sure something Iā€™ve learned to appreciate him and the time we get together, who knows when we will meet again especially with a Pandemic.

JackiešŸ„°!

dating
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.