Humans logo

Days Like This

thoughts from an older boy

By David X. SheehanPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2

Digging through old blogs can be helpful, if you’re searching for subject matter. I found this piece from an old blog, when I had spent several years in Fort Myers Beach, Florida and had returned home to my home, West Bridgewater, Massachusetts.

When I lived in Florida, I could walk across the street to the Gulf of Mexico and wade or walk along the seashore for miles in either direction, usually based on the time of day and where the sun was in the sky. Most days, I’d walk with the sun to my back, to protect my eyes; but the breezes, too, could determine which way I walked.

On foggy mornings, I used this time to observe tall white cranes, fishing in a spot along the shoreline and as I passed in and out of their view, they found me to be no threat and continued, on one leg, to stab and swallow the unknowing fish, playing near the shore.

Moving back to New England brought much cooler days than I had been used to for years, though there were days in Florida, I would pray for just one 50-degree day and real trees with lots of shade. Home meant walking on hard ground and pavement, and like the beach, I was alone with my thoughts, and memories and ideas to compose in my mind, what would later that day, be offered on Facebook, under my just sayin’, semi pseudo name. The following is one of those from October 12, 2014.

Chilliest morning yet, since I, the twenty first century version of a prodigal son, made my way back home from the burning sands of southwest Florida. I listen to a Kim Taylor song, Days Like This. “Days like this – yeah you look up at the sky above you – days like this, yeah you think about the ones that love you – and all I wanna do is live my life honestly – I just wanna wake up and see your face next to me – every regret I have I will go set it free- and it will be good for me – days like this – yeah you think about the ones that went before you – days like this – have you ever seen the sky it’s such a clear blue?” Such a soulful voice, I so love when someone can touch me and let me feel them deeply. It could be the weather changing, but it feels as it did when mama would sing when I was smaller, much smaller than today. From her lips, came words of love and emotion and joy and pain, as if to try and explain them all at once to me; knowing in her soul that I would have to happily and unhappily grow into them on my own. Thanks, Kim Taylor, your words are not wasted on me, and thanks mama, your words are still with me, in me, part of me.

I sit here, at this time and place, having surpassed by a lot, the number of years that my mother lived; and still I remember her saying “hold my hand, don’t let go”, “don’t go near the water”, “look both ways” and on and on and on, they echo from the depths. Mama didn’t always have things her way, but she learned early in her life to make the best of every situation. “When you love, love with all you have to give, not for all you will get” she would teach. You’ll hurt and be hurt, but you won’t die, and you will learn and that’s what living really is.

I have been true to her loving words, and continue to enjoy, with the help of God, what my life is all about and true to Kim Taylor’s words, “all I wanna do is live my life honestly – I just wanna wake up and see your face next to me – every regret I have I will go set it free- and it will be good for me – days like this – yeah you think about the ones that went before you – days like this – have you ever seen the sky it’s such a clear blue?”

just sayin’, with Kim’s help, later, if God Wills..

humanity
2

About the Creator

David X. Sheehan

I write my memories, family, school, jobs, fatherhood, friendship, serious and silly. I read Vocal authors and am humbled by most. I'm 76, in Thomaston, Maine. I seek to spread my brand of sincere love for all who will receive.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.