Humans logo

I Still Breathe

coming of age, still

By David X. SheehanPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
4
School's 1960 Chrysler Imperial Automatic, Got license on '53 Ford Standrd Transmission

Thinking back to my teen years in the 1960’s, I’m reminded of how easy life seemed to be. There were, of course, consequences for our actions, brought swiftly to judgement by the adults and authority figures surrounding us. I always struggled, as a teen, to maintain a balance between obeying and disobeying, and used as my guide, papa’s constant admonitions to not be a sheep.

The early parts of 1960 and 1962, taught me how to make bonds away from home, that my love of sports was no fluke, and that almost being intimate for the first time, fueled fires that burn to this day, though the spirit is willing the flesh is, indeed, weak(er).

Against the background of “Green Onions” by Booker T & the MG’s, 1962 became a turning point in my life, not for the first time. My freshman grades had been terrible and totally unacceptable to both the sports programs and especially to one, David Xavier Sheehan, Sr. (Aka papa), and most activities were curtailed, that I might study and get all grades to more acceptable levels. Contrasting the negatives of bad grades and less to do, there came into my life, the one. Her name was Alicia, the most beautiful girl in the world. We were introduced at my home at 361 Spring Street, when her aunt Barbara came to visit mama. She was Alicia, and had transferred from Holbrook, having lost her mom and dad, and was staying with Barbara and Herb. She was wearing a dark green plaid dress and as I gazed into her eyes, I was overcome with what I saw. Her story was one of great sadness to me, and as I have learned, all these many years later, she was trying to make her way out of the unwanted quagmire in which she had found herself. I was 15, with unrestrained hormones raging, and saddened by her condition, so I threw myself at her to save her, from what? I suppose at that time and a few times in the future, I felt compelled to take some action, by some unknown psychiatric mechanism. Poems, and just spending time together, would surely lead to great happiness for both of us.

Wianno Country Club Osterville, Massachusetts

Mama and papa saw trouble brewing in my falling for an older girl, I know I had no problem with it. They took indirect action by signing my brother, Chris and I up for caddy camp at the exclusive Wianno Golf Club in Osterville, MA on Cape Cod. I was wildly unhappy at being pulled away from the girl of my dreams and reduced to writing letters. I wrote often, and felt my heart skip a beat, whenever a letter with a SWAK would arrive for me. Bryan Hyland’s “Sealed with a Kiss” played in my head, daily.

As soon as I got settled and learned how to caddy, it came easily to me; if you kissed butt and did what you were told, you could get out and carry a bag or doubles, twice a day; one could make some good money. I often describe this as my “Caddy Shack” summer and endured the hazing portion, and the shenanigans of the older guys on we newly initiated rookies. Brother Chris, unfortunately, did not fare as well. Chris found humor in lots of things other caddies did, but not all; so one day he received what was called a red belly, where you’d be held down and others would slap your belly, until it was red. I had the day off and had gone to Osterville to do my laundry, including our sheets. Mama had us memorize a little rhyme, “put the top one on the bottom and the clean one on the top”, this came in handy in a bunkhouse atmosphere.

Massachusetts Governor Foster Furcolo

It only took one letter from Chris and there they were, mama and papa, and we were taken home. We took our Wiano knowledge and began caddying at Thorny Lea Golf Club on Torrey Street in Brockton, I didn’t care I was home and closer to Alicia. I remember caddying for Mr. Wind, and especially carrying doubles for Steve and Nick Tasho, who owned Tropical Banana over on White Avenue. They were excellent golfers and as a caddy, I was grateful that they often drove their tee shots close together. They tipped well, and made sure their caddy was well fed too. The Tasho’s were the best since I had caddied several afternoon’s at Wiano Country Club for former Massachusetts governor Foster Furcolo. He was engaging and extremely good natured and used very colorful language each round, and tipped largely. This was the catalyst I needed to help his game a little, ensuring a greater tip. Unknown to him, with some occasional “foot wedges”, a tactic the older guys had taught me, I formed a sort of a happy golfer is a better tipping golfer mantra. The summer was profitable for Chris and me, having our own money put less stress on the family budget. I saved money for going to Gary Auto School, so the following March 4th of 1963, at age 16, I could get my driver’s license.

Having a license, to me, would be a next logical step in my juvenile dream to drive off into the sunset with my girl.

The tough lesson learned, was that a youthful desire and dream are not always shared by the person of your affection. I got my license, but the following June, my dream girl was gone, overnight, with a boy from her graduating class, to Michigan, he returned in a few weeks, but she did not.

Despair from a broken heart strikes deeply to a teenager, feeling more like the trouble breathing I have, today, with COPD, sometimes like you’re close to your last breath. I kept breathing, I played sports as my surrogate girl for the rest of high school. I kept breathing, to fall in love a few more times, with four wonderful children, 9 grandchildren, and 10 and a half great grandchildren, I breath.

I breathe also the good news of finding my love on Facebook, all these many years later; we are friends, and will be until I no longer breathe.

love
4

About the Creator

David X. Sheehan

I write my memories, family, school, jobs, fatherhood, friendship, serious and silly. I read Vocal authors and am humbled by most. I'm 76, in Thomaston, Maine. I seek to spread my brand of sincere love for all who will receive.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.