Humans logo

Dad, we have grown up

There is a kind of love in this world that lasts forever, selfless and unrequited; not because of the change of seasons, not because of fame and fortune.

By Holly D SalterPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Dad, we have grown up
Photo by Josue Michel on Unsplash

  I don't know when I got used to calling you Dad, and it hasn't changed in all these years.

  When I was a kid, my family lived in the countryside and you worked in the county, so we didn't see each other every day. At that time, the family was not well-off, and you had to wait until you came home to eat lunch every day to save money. No accident you got a stomach disease, so many years even after a good life has not been cured. You encouraged me and my sister, saying, "As long as we can study, you can pay for us to go wherever we go. We were always lucky to have such an open-minded father like you.

  When I entered junior high school, our family moved to the county. Although the place of living changed, you still did not change your life non-stop running. You never went to my school, never attended my parent-teacher conferences, and you didn't even know what grade I was in. I don't blame you, because I know how much you gave to this family. You sacrificed all your time, never expressed your preferences, and even your body was slowly being overdrawn.

  I failed the midterm exam and did not get into the first high school you expected, and I know you were disappointed. That night I hid in my room and secretly watched you sitting on the couch in the living room, I don't know if you just sat there all night. The next day I heard you tell your mother that you should still read the first high school and pay the money. I blamed myself during that time until school started. The new campus life gave me a big impact, diluted this self-blame, but also changed my character, I began to become as silent as you. Whether at school or home I became less and less talkative, more and more concerned about what others thought of me, especially what you thought of me. I pondered every word you said, I paid attention to every expression you gave me, and I tried to guess your attitude toward me from your words and expressions.

  The time after the college entrance exam waiting for the score was the hardest. I still remember the night of the results check my mother and I kept waiting for the only phone at home, every minute was so long. When we finally heard the numbers from the mechanical girl on the other end of the phone and found out that we had lived up to your expectations and gotten into college, I couldn't tell you how excited I was. Fearing that I had misheard you, I called several times to check the phone number to confirm before I dared to call and tell you that I had gotten into college. Although I couldn't see your expression, I could hear that you were excited. The next morning you came back early, although there is still not much language, from your face stretching lines can be seen you are really happy.

  For college, I chose to go to a school far from home. It was you and mom who took me there, and we took the train for more than 30 hours. Although very tired, but very happy, this is the first time you take me out of the house, but also the most time we spend a few days together. After a few days at school, you and Mom were in a hurry to get home. I don't know if I'm too independent or too heartless to see you catch the crowded bus at the station and watch the others reluctantly.

  I was able to return home twice a year when I was studying outside. The first winter break home suddenly found himself and you have a distance between us, we have no common topic, even if they are sitting in front of the TV and are silent. Sometimes I see you and your sister have endless conversations and I envy you. I can't think of anything I can talk to you about, sometimes I have a belly full of words I want to tell you, but I can't. This feeling didn't change much during those years in college.

  Bing Xin said, "Father's love is silent, if you feel it then it is not father's love." When I learned that you sent me to school and came back very sick, and you let mom keep it from us, I was touched and sad. Every time I went back in the past few years, I looked at your gray hair more than once and saw your face full of signs of age. Suddenly I realized that I have grown up and should take up this family. But now you are still busy every day, we advise you to rest because we all know that you are not well, afraid that one day you suddenly collapse like before. But you said you want to earn enough money for your and mom's retirement, and not rely on our sisters in the future I know you are afraid that we are under too much pressure, and want to use your broad shoulders to help us share.

  But Dad, I want to tell you, my sister and I have grown up, you can take a break. Although we can not give you a good life now, the daughters will work hard and try to give you and Mom a warm and beautiful home.

  Happy holidays to Dad!

  Happy Father's Day to all the fathers in the world who are running around for their children just like Dad!

advice
Like

About the Creator

Holly D Salter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.