Humans logo

Crocheting Happiness with Warm Up America

FREE crochet pattern for sections included within...

By Sandra LynnPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
1
My new favorite shirt (proceeds go to help those in need)

Back in early January, I was introduced to a group of folks who are helping to warm up America. I hadn't crocheted on a regular basis in more than a year and hadn't really thought about picking up my hook again, until I learned about this amazing organization and all they are doing to help those in need.

I need to give a bit of back story, but I'll try to promise and only give you the bullet points. You're welcome.

  • I learned to crochet when I was just 18 years old. But I only knew the very basics. I crocheted two blankets for my daughter (while awaiting her arrival, many years later) and that was that.
  • Fast forward 12 years and I wanted to pick it back up again. But I wanted to do more than single or double crochet. My mom, who was visiting at the time, mentioned YouTube (I'm a visual learner).
  • What a world. A beautiful world full of yarn. I've always said I'm not super crafty. But crochet simply fascinates me. I'm thrilled with every bit of yarn: the textures and thicknesses and colors and...I love it all.
  • And I discovered with YouTube, that I could make a heck of a lot more than just blankets. Hats and dresses and scarves and messy bun beanies and... yes, blankets. Lots and lots of blankets.
  • I've created for plenty of folks and enjoy (read: love Love LOVE) doing it. Once we moved west and opened our contouring business, I dropped the hook for awhile. I'd dabble here and there (a velvet scrunchie anyone?), but for the better part of 3 years, I really haven't crocheted.
  • And then I met a nice lady (online) who introduced me to a bunch of other nice folks who are doing some really amazing things for another group of people who need it most.
My "yarn cupboard" is not a cupboard at the moment because we are in temporary housing and my actual cupboard is all packed up... But clearly you can see that I am low on yarn...lol

Now that you're caught up, I can tell you about Warm Up America and just what it was I got myself hooked up with back in January.

It was a new year and our business was closed permanently due to Covid. My fingers were restless. Finding WUA was just what the doctor ordered, particularly when I was struggling to figure out what to do with the rest of my life (it's been a rough year and I know we aren't the only ones to have lost...)

Warm Up America is an incredible organization with folks from all over the world who crochet and knit all sorts of things for charity. When I found them, I was intrigued about making sections. 7x9 inch sections that would then be joined together to make a blanket to be donated.

I liked the idea because I didn't have the patience for a big project at that time and I loved the idea that something I created would help warm someone. I quickly scoured the WUA site and joined the makers group (Facebook) and then decided that I would set a personal goal of crocheting 1000 sections this year.

With plenty of yarn in my yarn cupboard, I was good to go. I grabbed a skein, my hook and needle, and of course, my trusty Fiskars.

The best scissors for all my projects, I own several pairs and they reside in several places around my house. Everyone in my house knows they do not get used for anything but yarn.

I really do love Fiskars and have used them exclusively for my yarn projects for years. Having several pairs ensures I can find them when needed. I was so excited to find this writing prompt for many reasons, but knowing Fiskars is sponsoring is just tasty icing on a big skein of Caron Cakes.

I figured out the pattern (I'm sharing that in just a bit) that worked for me and set out to make my 1000 sections.

384 in this box, set to be shipped to a joiner when I reach 500 sections. Those blankets will help to warm folks at a new homeless shelter in New Hampshire.

Here we are 6 months later (and yes, I've used other stitches, but the pattern I share below is my absolute go-to) and I am a tad behind my goal. But April and May were busy with traveling, birthdays and anniversarys, and my kiddo finishing high school. Then to June and she graduated (with honors, proud mama right here) and will be off to college soon. Hubs and I are moving back across the country and...so yah, I got a tad behind. But I will have 500 sections to send by June's end.

Half way to my own personal goal. Helping the homeless and veterans and babies and teens in crisis and...that's not even a little bit of what Warm Up America is doing for people.

And what our makers from all over the world are doing for people. If you discover that you want to make for WUA, you'll quickly realize ALL they are doing. WUA and us, the section makers and joiners, soap sackers, hat makers, and those who give of their time in other ways to this amazing organization and for those most in need.

One of the reasons (besides the time issue the past couple of months) that I wasn't sure I'd even pen this piece was because I couldn't grasp how I'd get out all that I wanted to say about how much I love WUA and all that they do.

(I'm a flow writer and that means that what you get here is what flowed out of my head and into my fingers as I type...)

So yes, I'm quite aware that it's the eleventh hour but I hemmed and hawed (and crocheted) a bit about how to say what I wanted to say without it sounding like, oh hey, there's a contest. The truth is, I've been wanting to shout out to all the world to hook up with WUA. This just gave me a push to limber up my fingers in a different way (it's also been a hot minute since I've written anything - here or anywhere).

I passionately implore you to check out WUA. Find us makers on Facebook. Ask questions if you've got 'em. But get in and get going if you'd like to help warm up America. A worthy organization with worthy people doing worthy things.

I am selfishly blessed to be a part of THAT. <3

Ready for that pattern?

Bare with me, I am not a professional pattern writer, but this one is so easy and works up super quick for a perfect 7x9 inch section. Please remember that your tension is not my tension and that you may use a different sized hook, too. You'll want to get out your measuring tape to ensure your perfect 7x9 inch section. Here we go...

What you need:

  • Medium (4) worsted weight yarn - 100% acrylic (you'll learn more about that on the WUA site)
  • US L11/8mm hook
  • Weaving needle
  • Measuring tape
  • Fiskars (or any old scissors, I guess. But why?)
My chain of 20

Chain 20, yarn over, insert hook into third chain from the hook, half double crochet. Continue along the row, one hdc in each chain till you reach the end. (18 stitches)

Turning and crocheting the first row. PRO TIP: crochet into the back hump to give a uniformed first row, making it easier for the joiner to join.

Chain two, turn, hdc into the first stitch and all along the row to the end (18 stitches - don't be shy to count, I do it for every first row).

Each section takes about 25 minutes to complete. Though, if not too distracted, I can whip out 3 in an hour...usually I just create and enjoy.

Repeat to 20 rows. Knot, clip the end, weave in both ends and ta-DA, your first of (what I know will be) many sections.

I like to work several different colors at the same time. It keeps it interesting and may speed up my production, too.

If you need further instruction on anything crochet related or to the specific pattern above, I highly recommend YouTube. A couple of my tried and true favorites are Bella Coco, and Mikey from the Crochet Crowd - both of whom have taught me 96 and a half percent of everything I currently know about crochet (and I am learning new things every day).

I've managed to make several blankets this spring, too. But I can't share (you have a glimpse in the very first photo) too much because those are gifts to be delivered when we make that big cross country move.

I'm loving this heart warming (and head warming and body warming) thing I got myself all hooked up with. I'm grateful for something to do with purpose. And I'm blessed for the fingers that allow me to create with so much love.

And, of course, I couldn't do any of it without my awesome Fiskars. THE scissors for any of your yarn projects. (I've clipped close to 2000 ends just for the sections I've made so far, whew and WooHOO.)

I don't want to sound all sound bite-y or commercial-y about those scissors. I'm just kinda super bursting that I got to write about one of my most passionate things, which I absolutely couldn't complete without a great pair of clipping tools.

A glimpse at my process. Oh and the fuzzy C2C I'm making for my kiddo for college.

And now we are to the end. What will you do now? If you are interested, dive right in. Visit WUA. Find the makers group on Facebook. And get to hooking. I promise it will fill your heart and mind and you will be contributing to a wonderful cause.

Happy Hooking to ALL!

Cheers,

Sandra Lynn

~~~~~~~~ Please note: anything earned from views/tips on this post will go toward more yarn (MORE YARN, I said), a donation to WUA directly, and shipping costs (it's expensive, but worth it) and any other thing directly related to this awesome cause! I thank you for your read and hope you find the included pattern a great jumping off point to begin your own section making! ~~~~~~~~

Have more questions about WUA? Go to their site directly (linked above), there's a wealth of information. And then get to Facebook and find us makers (linked above) where you will discover a whole other amazing world of fellow crafters who just want to give back and pay it forward. <3

Please also note: none of the links contained within earn me anything - I'm simply paying it forward.

diy
1

About the Creator

Sandra Lynn

Just a girl in this world, with a voice, who wants to be heard. A mom, wife, writer, life coach, counselor, cheerleader, helper, and healer. I hope, with my words, to inspire you to do better, be better, and live life LOUD!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.