Humans logo

Confessions From a Card Game in Pennsylvania; White Man Shares Hateful Things Africans Living in The U.S. Said About Black Americans

The hatred is disgusting and shows that many Africans don't care to learn about Chattel Slavery or Black Americans

By IwriteMywrongsPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 11 min read
Like
Created by the author using CANVA

Friday, 17 November 2023

By: TB Obwoge

I've lived for almost half a century in the United States, also lived in 2 African countries as well. Soon my 3rd African country. My last name is Obwoge, which comes from Kisii, Kenya. A tribe also named Kisii, my husband is of that tribe. My husband who might as well be dead because I have no idea where he is, with his 3rd or 4th wife, yes we're still legally married.

Polygamy is legal in Kenya and from a 2020 change in the Marriage Act he can take as many wives as he wants without me ever knowing.

Any way after moving from Kenya, I landed in Ghana, I found my everyday and every moment to be horrible. I was insulted all day long, for dreadlocks, for tattoos, for being light skin, I was called "dirty, tricky, dog, (Yevu)" I was mocked and had people make pig noises or fat faces at me as I was riding in Bolt or Uber cars. It was exhausting to say the least.

Growing up I never knew if any of my classmates were African, none ever said so but one from Nigeria and that was only to explain why her hair was shaved low. As an adult I learned some Ghanian, Nigerian and Kenyan surnames/family names. I realized that several of my former classmates were from African countries. At that time they were just one of us, just part of the crew, most people never cared or even knew this.

Now, as things change, many Africans never in life want to be confused with being considered a Black American or even thought of as a Black American. They proudly proclaim that they're "Not one of them" whenever they can and as often as they can.

What this white American man revealed was that many Africans think Black Americans are worthless. He claimed that one of his African card mates said, "why would I befriend a Black American, they were sold off as the people we didn't like by our ancestors?"

The meaning of Akata in West Africa the insulting name, Africans all over the continent are now calling Black Americans.

He also revealed that many of his African card mates feels as though Black Americans are violent, lazy and useless humans. Most of them also think that Black Americans have no culture and are ghetto.

Another African said the same old nonsense, that Black Americans have forgotten their culture and now they have no culture what so ever. Why did this White American, man feel the need to share their hateful and ignorant comments?

I have no idea but this is typical hatred and racism that as a Black American you're used to dealing with in America and with me in living in African countries. They still say the same, mostly from West Africans but it's from Africans all over the continent these days.

Many Africans don't seem to care about racism, unless they can sue or earn money from it, otherwise many have told me they don't care. Issac a firefighter from Ghana told me that whites can call him a "monkey or a nigger" he wouldn't care because he's just coming to earn money.

Oddly if he doesn't care and some claim they don't care then why the hate for Black Americans? Why the need to discuss only 12.8% of the American population? Why not shut the Hell up about the small minority group?

Because this deep hatred is engrained in them for some reason and many think it's a form of jealously, which it might even be. Who knows but why talk about 40-45 million people? Why not worry about your own people and your own home land?

Michael Blackson’s Anti-Blackness | Anti-Woman | Anti-Black American & Rape Culture Mentality is practiced in Ghana as well

Michael Blackson who made a career of acting like the buffoon African, with his horrible fake African accent where he sounds like no African this author has ever heard. Yet very few Africans take offense to his nonsense shenanigans.

One Kinoti Muthee from Kenya expressed his hatred for Blackson’s mockery of the African. He stated that the fact he doesn’t speak with an accent then makes the most outlandish & moronic voice is why Africans living in America get bullied. Muthee expressed his disappointment but living in Ghana you will rarely find a Ghanian that refuses to worship Blackson.

Blackson often mocks Black Americans from degrading Black women to insulting Martin Luther King Jr. on his birthday no less. Blackson recently opened a school in Ghana which he named after himself and no one knows if this will be a school only the elite in Ghana can afford or not.

The unfunny Blackson tweeted about giving his colorist, useless penis to BRITTNEY GRINER. He then follows it up by showing an old photo of himself and Griner together. As if anyone cares that he’s taken a photo with someone he’s just insulted, oh but it’s not an insult because he calls himself a comedian.

Source: Click Here

Screenshot from YouTube

Blackson has made jokes about Dr. King sleeping with a white woman, to insulting Black women. He even made a rape joke and also used hate speech against fat women. Ironically all these things I experienced in Ghana while living in his country of birth.

Authors Photo Accra, Ghana

US & THEM: Why Does It Seem Some Africans Feel Superior To Black Americans — Why Some Agree With White Supremacists Mentality

Never in my life had I seen so many Trump supporters, like the ones from West Africa Nigeria and Ghana specifically. Though many Kenyans also adored Trump, his words and policies even as he called African countries ‘shit holes.’

The words I’ve heard directly from Africans as I’ve lived in African countries comments and questions; from a Nigerian man living in Ghana: “All you Black Americans are on drugs and stealing, Why do you all hate White Americans? You should hate Africans they’re the ones that sold you into slavery!”

Same Nigerian man: “I Hate Black Americans all of you are lazy drug addicts!” Said to me in Greater Accra, Ghana January 23, 2021, it wasn’t the first hateful thing uttered from an African about Black Americans.

Throughout my 45 years living in America & traveling between Africa. As I always supported African businesses while living in the United States. I’ve heard much worse, in their ‘mother tongue’ I’ve endured many of them talking negatively about me or my child right in front of my face.

With a minimal handle on Twi, Kiswahili and the broken French I could understand. I once said something to women making fun of an overweight, 8 year old Black child right in front of her & her family.

Kinoti Muthee came to America at 14 years old now living in the states illegally still in 2022, he once was a friend of 13 plus years. I let him live with me when he had no place to go.

Muthee constantly spoke of ‘how poorly’ Black Americans spoke English mocking how we pronounced things. When I often pointed out that his accent didn’t allow him to say most words properly.

I asked why he was always so hard on people, he never answered, always pointing out one flaw or another about the Black Americans he worked with.

I’ve often almost gone to blows defending him from insults from Americans towards him, like a bulldog overly protective of him. Though I took much time trying to change his mentality towards Black Americans. When I should have been more like a ‘bulldog’ for Black Americans.

I thought being calm, using teaching moments would help him. Kinoti also showed hatred towards West Africans & Haitians.

Instead Kinoti preferred to befriend Africans or White people rather than Black Americans, his co-workers all Black never knew his distaste for Blacks or his insults. At the time I don’t know why I didn’t say more to stand up for my people, I felt that I guess here he was pointing out flaws why should I defend them when:

#1 No ones perfect and their African countries surely aren't perfect at all.

#2 his family gave up everything to leave Kenya to come to a country where they despised everything about Black Americans.

His mother Dorris prefers Africans to anyone else if she couldn’t get that she defaulted to White people always. They made sure to always live in affluent White neighborhoods. They even changed their daughters name to a ‘English name’, their daughter went to a predominantly White high school. There she had most, if not all of her friends were White.

I once worked at the high school that was so racist the principle often had to make up rules or change school rules. Many of the white students were so openly racist and bullying towards minority students especially after Trump took office.

Muthee shared his thoughts on Black Americans with those of other Africans he was always in association with. Speaking their mother tongue, insulting Blacks for not only just speaking only English but mocking them for the way they spoke that.

Muthee was denied citizenship according to the immigration papers he left at my home, they said he was of ‘poor moral character’ as he was arrested for a DUI (driving while intoxicated) He was drunk with marijuana in his car and refused to show court documents.

He also had more on his conduct card for stealing a car when his first arrived in the US and causing other traffic violations during that incident.

Despite all this he talked about the violence of Black Americans a phenomenon that many Africans seem to blame most of the violence in cities on black Americans. Despite the history of all the things that he had done he used his time to disparage Black Americans.

Something that many Africans tend to do that migrate to the United States of America they always point out the success stories of African immigrants but never the crime never, the struggles, never the poverty and never the failures. Sadly there’s always a willingness to put down the failures of Black Americans.

The rest of his immediate Kenyan family has gained citizenship yet again only associate with White or African people and even refuse to help their family members in Kenya to visit or immigrate to the United States.

Many who have been living from hand to mouth struggling in Kenya Even a cousin whom was diagnosed with cancer and struggled to obtain treatment, they didn’t even help her with a medical visa.

TV Show Station 19 S4 E4 — Don’t Look Back in Anger Nigerian American character Miller (played by Okieriete Onaodowan) says things that shows exactly the superiority that Africans feel when he addresses fellow Black American character Sullivan (Boris Kodjoe) that was demoted for drug use.

He speaks to him about how using drugs and slipping up “makes Blacks look bad to White people” he went on a rant about the behavior of Blacks as viewed by White people in America.

Once on my flight back to Ghana surrounded by five African men from four different African countries that had all immigrated to the US talked about how “failed the United States was as a country and how Blacks were so lazy!”

One man from The Gambia living in New York City said that Black people never worked, stood outside of stores all day selling drugs, drinking liquor and were poor. He said, “Why is it we Africans can come to America and work so hard & become successful yet Blacks are so lazy and do nothing?”

I responded by asking him did he think I was White? He laughed, which tells me he thought I was a White person, he replied “I know you’re Black!”

When I asked him did he really believe that all Black people in New York City were represented by the few ‘Blacks as he called them’ standing outside those stores than can Black Americans think a few Africans living in a remote village in Kenya could represent all Africans?

Again he replied with laughter however it seems all too often that many Africans think that they’re some how better than Black Americans. Some how that Black Americans are less educated, wealthy or believe we are even downright lazy.

Oddly enough this has been the rhetoric of racists Whites in America for centuries. Reading even articles posted on my Facebook page created in Kenya (yes the news links are different than those of the page created in the US) Many comments from Africans paint Black Americans as “thugs, looters, rioters!”

There has been a large amount of pro-Trump adds on the page that I created in Kenya using my Kenyan SIM card (phone number) as opposed to my American created Facebook pages, theres often even adds for Trump’s re-election campaign in Kenya.

Source: An Essay I wrote Click Here For the Full Article

The white transportaion driver thought it was cool to continue to share the hatred that his African friends spouted about Black Americans. He didn't notice how the hatred was just like the racism from White Americans, he didn't care that I having lived in two African countries was tired of hearing this narrative, was tired of being called a white person.

Tired of being called a filthy animal, yet Africans are always talking about how badly they're treated, they are treated poorly too. However they are on their own home land, they know their history, they are accepted on their continent. While Black Americans are the "niggers" of the world in the eyes of some Africans and the eyes of the world.

Thank you for reading 🙏🏽 Please consider buying a coffee for Lacey’s House efforts in Gender Equality & Children’s Rights as it tries to move international.

©️TB Obwoge 2023 All Rights Reserved

humanitytravelCONTENT WARNING
Like

About the Creator

IwriteMywrongs

I'm the president of a nonprofit. I've lived in 3 countries, I love to travel, take photos and help children and women around the world! One day I pray an end to Child Marriages, Rape and a start to equal Education for ALL children 🙏🏽

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.