Humans logo

Cindy Mich

Founder of The Art Is Alive Magazine

By Tammy ReesePublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like
Cindy Mich (Provided Photo)

Cindy Mich, Founder of The Art is Alive Magazine is an active media personality and award-winning journalist. She contributes to a cluster of online and offline platforms, and her radio shows, Cin’s Chat Corner and Sons Spotlight, hold a total of 103,000 listeners spread across twenty states with a 15% international following.

Cindy prides herself on providing interesting and intriguing interviews on and off red carpets, and to her, every interviewee is a celebrity. Cindy has authored a teaching textbook for CNA’s on the treatment of seizures in elderly patients, co-authored a mentoring manual for filmmakers, and has published three books.

She has one feature film and two documentaries due to be released in the next three years. Cindy has taught creative writing, broadcasting, and publishing in the public and private sector, and has acted as a professional model in the past. She is also the founder and fueling force behind the NYC based independent film festival, Art is Alive, now in its fifth year.

She is often asked to act as a film judge for a variety of fellow festivals, including the illustrious AFI this year. For the future, she is intending to build an independent television streaming network, CIN TV, focused on streaming artistic projects of all types.

Vocal readers, please enjoy our interview!

Cindy Mich (Provided Photo)

Tammy Reese:

What inspired you to get into the entertainment industry?

Cindy Mich:

I can honestly admit that I spent a lot of time by myself as a child. When I got to be age eight, I realized that the one thing I wanted was to be an author. The second thing that I would spend time thinking about was meeting all of the “movie people” on a red carpet someday. I even once imagined that I could work hard enough to earn an Oscar.

Solitude provided me hours of time to watch lots of TV and movies, and to also write. Life in that world seemed so luxurious and lively, unlike my toxic life at home. I fell in love with film, and its fabulous actors and actresses. I wanted to be on that red carpet in a really fancy dress with my picture taken.

I wanted to be special, and so I carved out a path that could eventually lead me to entertainment. I finally found my way there in 2009.

Tammy Reese:

How do you balance being a Filmmaker, Author, Media Professional, and Entrepreneur?

Cindy Mich:

Being able to maintain a balance on a daily basis is significantly important to success as a business owner.

One must learn how to prioritize tasks from each of the businesses, as well as decide how to delegate responsibilities to others when overwhelmed.

In the case of the three you mentioned, it is a bit more simplistic since one of these is not ongoing. I only make a film a year, and so my primary profession lies within the media.

A typical day finds me juggling work that pertains to my film festival, magazine, and radio show. Every day also involves some form of sales/promotion of all businesses. It is not a perfect system, but it is proficient.

Tammy Reese:

What do you love most about the work that you do?

Cindy Mich:

There are a number of things that I love about my work. For one, I am able to showcase people, places , and all sorts of artisans that some have never heard of prior to this point.

Secondly, I am told that I inspire others to follow their dreams. It has been stated that my words have moved others and even saved lives sometimes.

Finally, my occupation allows me to work with wonderful people who are now personal friends, and of course, who does not love working with their significant other?

Tammy Reese:

What have been some challenges?

Cindy Mich:

As with any business, there are always going to be some challenges. In my case, each business brings about its own set of complications. Running a film festival means you are at the mercy of numerous filmmakers, as you need their cooperation so as to coordinate the event.

If half don’t respond or refuse to show-up, your whole festival can fall apart. When you own a magazine, you have to be a lead editor, writer, marketer and must deal with constant staff changes.

If your writer fails to finish their work and it is time to publish, you are scrambling in the eleventh hour for content. I use Blog Talk Radio for my show, and there are times when technical difficulties can destroy a program. The positives always outweigh the problems, but when things are bad – it can be a big burden to bear.

Cindy Mich (Provided Photo)

Tammy Reese:

Please tell me about your radio show?

Cindy Mich:

Well, I had been a published author for a while, and through my written work, I came in contact with a producer who handled internet radio shows. He approached me about doing my own program, and my immediate response was, “OMG no. I have no experience, and I sound like a man!”.

He asked me to take some time to think it over. I asked for advice from friends and met up with a longtime pal - who was also a working musician. His exact words to me were this: “F*** it, why not go for it?

The worst thing that could happen is that it bombs, and you never have to do it again.” Well, I listened to him, and started searching for my first guest. I have always been a fan of reality television, so I went on Twitter and sent a tweet to one of the Real Housewives. She said yes to coming on my show, and I can fondly remember that I barely held my lunch down during that interview. I was truly terrified, but I made it through.

Through time and practice, I found a system that worked, and often times, my interviewees have said I come up with questions nobody else asks, and that I have a very personal feel to my program. My partner calls me a “modern-day Dick Cavett”, however, I think he is being too kind! I am still here ten years later; hugely happy with all 375 shows done and holding 103,000 listeners.

Tammy Reese:

How did the Art Is Alive Magazine come about?

Cindy Mich:

Six years ago, I had created my first film festival called Art is Alive. While spending years covering film festivals as a member of the media, I began to discover that the main motivation for many of the events was not the movies.

Because I am a leader and not one who lags, I took it upon myself to produce a platform whereby art would once again come alive. Less celebrity and red carpets; more about honoring the czars of independent cinema.

Give filmmakers and fans a chance to mesh and make dreams happen. Show the world that an endless number of artisans exist that they should support. Well, I started to notice that the same issue was popping up in the world of publishing. Those getting coverage were either paying for it or had to be purely recognizable.

Audiences were always reading about celebrities instead of getting a chance to expand their interests to independents. The stories were not full of any substance, and , many of my friends are publicists who were pulling all-nighters to nab some client attention.

In an effort to shine a bigger spotlight on all artists, and help publicists to have earned media, I created The Art is Alive Magazine. Now, I will admit that the other reason was purely personal - I always wanted a column to write, and further, there are stories that matter to me that I want to see in print. The other benefit to this publication is that I provided some people their first publication credits. The magazine is now a year old, and getting bigger and better by the day!

Tammy Reese:

What else are you currently working on?

Cindy Mich:

Outside of my show, festival, and magazine, I am about to shoot the television pilot I wrote entitled “Sonny and Trixie”. It is a six-episode series that centers around a married NYC couple that suddenly finds themselves forced to move to the Midwest when Sonny gets suspended from the police force.

There is a ton of funny stuff throughout the series, and in many ways, is a modern version of The Honeymooners and I Love Lucy. This project is sincerely special to me because I wrote this for, and get to work alongside my better half. Additionally, my film, A Life Saver, will be headed to the film festival circuit.

I am considering writing a four-book, as well as launching my own television streaming network entitled CIN TV. Lastly, I am sure that I will be helping my sweetheart with launching his new wine line, Grapes by Gentile.

Tammy Reese:

How has the pandemic shaped your day-to-day life?

Cindy Mich:

An honest answer would be that I refuse to allow it to completely shape my life, but rather, I attempt to carve out a life that puts less emphasis on the pandemic. I have seen the sadness, fear, and lack of hope in the eyes of my children and closest friends, and I work hard to bring them happiness, serenity, and restore their faith each day. Daily life includes hybrid schooling versus five days a week in-person schooling, so I have to cater my work schedule around their school schedule. I cook more, as restaurants are closing earlier and have fewer capacity limits. We make time every few weeks to attend a movie at theaters, as there is little else to do for fun. I try to push game nights more, along with more walks. I also try to convince my sons as often as possible to write for my magazine or be involved in our films. Basically, I am trying to build a life that is as routine as possible while waiting for the pandemic to perish.

Tammy Reese:

What are you looking forward to in the new year?

Cindy Mich:

Well, taking an out of state vacation with my family and my partner. Going back to doing live events, and seeing my children return to full=time school and activities. Discovering how the public will respond to the recently filmed projects we put together. Lastly, trying to get back to a regular routine, as nothing has felt normal for the last year.

Tammy Reese:

For anyone wanting to enter the entertainment industry, what advice would you have for them?

Cindy Mich:

Working in entertainment is not meant for the so-called weak at heart. It is also very competitive and challenging. In many circles, it truly is all about who you know, the strength of your social media following, and requires you to “pay to play”.

It can also be demanding from a physical and psychological standpoint, as you are always expected to look a certain way or to be ready for the camera rolling at a moment’s notice.

Further, you can go from being famous to forgotten so quickly. So, my advice is to make sure that this is truly your passion before pursuing any part of the entertainment.

If you get that tickle in your tummy; can’t wait to get working; and are willing to sacrifice parts of yourself to succeed – that is a sign you should proceed. Recognition and real fame can be exciting, but also exhausting – so be careful with your choice.

Tammy Reese:

Any thank you's?

Cindy Mich:

Oh goodness, that list literally is never-ending. One thing I try to never stop doing is to hold on to my own humility. I am all too aware that I would have never gotten to the place I am today without TONS of help.

I am thankful to my English teacher Nan Roddy, as she convinced me to enter a writing contest, and that was my first award winner. I am thankful to all of my children because their existence has made me the best person I could be.

I am thankful for every show guest, interviewee, and panelist I have ever interviewed. I am thankful for every publicist that works with me or passed on their wisdom to me.

I am thankful to God for my gift and blessing me with my loved ones, and granting my wish to send my one true love. He gave me the best man I could hope for, and I am forever changed because of his influence.

I am thankful for every publisher or person putting me on air or in print. Lastly, I am especially thankful for any person who has ever supported my businesses or basically has ever been here for me.

Keep up-to-date with Cindy on social media:

Facebook

Instagram

Twitter

Linkedin

interview
Like

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.