Humans logo

Aline

Multitalented Entertainer

By Tammy ReesePublished 3 years ago 8 min read
1
Bethany Aline (Provided Photo)

Aline is an award-winning American singer/songwriter, rapper, and an award-winning nominee in the Screen Actors Guild and AFTRA union known as Bethany Aline. She has recently worked for Halle Berry on her first directional feature "Bruised", and with Sally Field, Jason Segel, Russell Brand, and more on Netflix's "Dispatches From Elsewhere".

In addition to her well-accomplished music and film careers, Aline was awarded a Queen's Crown as state titleholder, "Mrs. New Jersey Petite 2020". Aline grew up in New Jersey's most historic resort town of Cape May and through surviving a string of heartbreaking trials and tribulations during her younger years, Mrs. Aline found her outlet in music and writing, which led her to graduate fully decorated with many awards including Honors, Choir President, Lead in Musicals, and a member of the Tri-M Music Honor Society!

In Aline's college years, she worked toward a double major in Liberal Science and The Performing Arts, where she earned her way to the Dean's list. Aline is now New Jersey's youngest DAV member where she donates her time and charity aside from pageant duties. She is an advocate for anti-bullying, misdiagnosed patients, and adults with disabilities.

Aline is, needless to say, a powerful, self-rising entrepreneur and has previously ghostwritten for other artists, worked on video production, editing, and future children's networks, as well as being able to mix and master her own material. Aline released her first single debut "Sick", which recently won two ElephantTalk Indie Music awards for her music video in Atlantic City, New Jersey!

Vocal readers, please enjoy our interview!

Tammy Reese:

What inspired you to enter the Entertainment industry?

Aline:

I’m very used to rejection and that is a huge part of this industry. I have the thickest skin but my whole life I've always heard, "You're going to be famous" or "you should be a star". And it was the one thing I could daydream about without growing bored of the idea. Every number is different. So after a few invitations into the industry, I went for it more as a hobby that turned into a career after realizing how natural things were coming my way. I put some more effort into it and it’s been one thing after another at a very fast pace. It's the only thing I've done with my life that comes easily.

Tammy Reese:

You have a very accomplished career in the film industry.

What was your experience like working for Halle Berry?

Aline:

Thank you! My experience working for Halle Berry was so exciting but more memorable! The movie is soon to be released! There are many famous Hollywood names in the film and even a flyleaf MMA champion, Valentina Shevchenko. This is also Halle Berry's first time as a director. She was acting, directing, and just a true powerhouse. I was so impressed with her gratitude and kindness toward her staff and actors on her set. She had a way of balance and organization. You could tell she was an actress on many sets and considered what would make the nearly perfect set. I felt that she was clean, hospitable, humble, grateful, and professional. She even thanked us. I never had a famous director take the time to appreciate the crew, smaller roles and background. She's unbiased to status and that made it a pleasure. And since it was her own first baby with the demonstration of such a humble attitude, that made the experience more an honor.

Tammy Reese:

Congratulations on becoming Mrs. New Jersey Petite 2020. What does the work that you do entail?

Aline:

Thank you again! I honestly wish I could do more! Pageantry has proven to be most difficult during my reign in 2020. I'm expected to keep a good image and I’ve been on thin ice with my music, unfortunately. However, with or without the crown, I help and empower women at events, seminars, shelters, and work alongside different charities. My platform is for both Anti-bullying and for the misdiagnosed/disabled individuals. I donate a lot of my time and materials to different programs or fellowships such as WIC, CARA, Red Cross, NA, AA, Autism Speaks, women’s empowerment events, entertainment events, supporting black-owned businesses and churches. I'm also the youngest Disabled American Veteran Auxiliary member in the state of New Jersey. I help in a number of ways from being an active member in the quorum to being a trustee and getting my hands dirty. (Pre covid)

Tammy Reese:

As a music artist what have been some memorable moments in your career so far?

Aline:

I have many! But so far winning two music awards for Atlantic City Weekly’s voted Best Festival "Elephant Talk Indie Music Festival" has been the greatest honor. I’ll remember it always! I have a special place in my heart for this festival because the proceeds always go to the Special Olympics, or other causes supporting Autism. You know I LOVE that because it's a very similar platform and because of that alone these awards are in my own way me working, performing, donating, and winning all at once. I won "Breakthrough Artist" which is so sweet to be recognized and "Best Music Video.” The best part is my own company, Aline Productions did everything without outsourcing!

Tammy Reese:

What are some other highlights in your career that you are proud of?

Aline:

Winning music awards, film awards, and acting nominations are obviously proud moments in my career. I'm proud to have worked for or alongside the house hold names that I have. I'm honored and proud to be a Queen, winning the crown and becoming the state titleholder of New Jersey. I'm proud to write a song that is being featured in a movie for the greatest powerlifter in the world, my dearest friend Diezel Ramos, who's soon to be in the Hall of Fame! I'm proud to be featured in the movie of his bio as well. Proud to be interviewed even though it's one of my biggest fears. Lol. I’m proud that friends and companies trust my vision.

Tammy Reese:

What have been some challenges along the way?

Aline:

I have Asperger’s Syndrome and Narcoleptic Cataplexy which is a completely embarrassing disorder. Or I’ll grow impossibly tired for a half hour and a few other fun issues like ADHD or Dyslexia. So self-acceptance with things I cannot change about myself has been a huge emotional battle for as long as I can remember. Learning to adapt is ok but staying interested has always been an issue for me so this career works, because for the most part it’s all the same but every set, studio or collab is different. It keeps things interesting!

I never had much support from my old acquaintances or family and there has been hardly any guidance. Before I was really was able to grow up and gain some life skills I suffered from depression, substance, and alcohol abuse. In my young adulthood, I’m not one bit ashamed to say I needed professional help and I got it. My issues stemmed greatly from an abusive, dysfunctional household and there was a lot of neglect. This was many years ago but it destroyed my confidence for a long time due to rejection after trying to rise above the unfortunate life events.

Today my life is great but this pandemic really got in the way of my full potential to use my crown during my reign. I feel like it's been unfair to any pageant Queen because our duties rely on charities, donations, events, parades, and other social events. Of course, I've been able to still help in some of those organizations I previously mentioned, however some have shut down or being a physical participant at a canceled event isn't an option. I’ve done a lot but I wanted to do so much more with my title.

Tammy Reese:

What are you looking forward to in the coming year?

Aline:

In this upcoming year, I'm looking forward to more collaborations with other artists, more music, 2 pilots for major tv networks that I cannot say yet. I have a few movies that I am cast in and co-producing some music for. In my spare time, I would like to continue to participate at the DAV, local animal shelters, festivals supporting causes I support. Book more roles and live shows if things ever get back to normal. I’m not sure if all my hopes for 2021 will be possible, but I know it’s going to be a busy one!

Tammy Reese:

What are you currently working on?

Aline:

I’m currently scoring music for two different tv shows and a couple of movies. Meanwhile, I'm trying to make my own album and music videos. Believe it or not, I'm working on more the business end of the industry. It's a lot when you're completely independent.

Tammy Reese:

What else can we be on the lookout for from you?

Aline:

Acting roles! Not only do I write, mix and master music but I have a lot of roles here and they're popping up or resurfacing.

Tammy Reese:

What do you want your legacy to look like?

Aline:

I would like my legacy to look accepting and helpful but bold. I want my hands in many pots, using the many talents or skillsets I hold to help dreams come true. Not just my own but for the different companies or friendships I have in my life. "Get it while it's still hot", I always say. Lol .

Tammy Reese:

What advice would you give to anyone who aspires to become a member of SAG?

Aline:

Don't just join the union just because you're excited. Join when you're actually eligible career-wise and not when you're only eligible because you asked for waivers days in a row on set. There are dues and fees. If you're working consistently and need that protective union so you do have benefits and collective rights then join. Otherwise, you'll be paying dues on benefits you're not using. Keep booking!

interview
1

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.