Humans logo

Beyond Words

What’s meant to be it’ll be...

By Pauline HinsonPublished 4 years ago 3 min read

Chapter One

It’s been a year since the incident, and it couldn’t hurt much less. Who would have thought things would turn out like this. Well maybe I guess I could predict this, but I was too far in it. Too far... As far as I know, everything happens for a reason. Despite of how much you hate things or how much you want to change it. It won’t happen. I finish gathering the rest of his belongings and threw it the clear container that’s place right in the middle of the room. I could feel his presence as I close the lid behind. “I‘m sorry” He quickly said as he approach me from behind. I moved away.

”Don’t be,” I replied.

”I wish I could change things differently.” He said, picking up the big container that was filled with his clothes and among other things.

I watch him struggle as we walk downstairs, then slowly placing it in the backseat of our red car we’ve been sharing for years. I went up, grabbing the book bag that was beside the door. “You ok?” I look up as I nodded to my brother. He was sitting in the livingroom playing with his laptop.

“Thank you for watching them.” I said, as I shut the door behind.

I quickly made my way downstairs and place his book bag in the backseat. He stood there waiting, head to the ground then slowly look up. I could see some tears in eyes as I go in the driver side. He got in and reach for me. He pull me in for a hug and look in eyes. “I love you, you know that right?” I only nodded. I slowly then back out of the driveway and was on the way. Her house...

”I’m sorry,” he said, reaching out for my hand. “Can I hold hands?”

I rolled my eyes and did as he aske. He squeezed it tightly, as I was watching the road and driving. The drive was quiet and peaceful, but I know this wasn’t the end of it. There was only a few cars out here, it’s like 1 in the morning. Truthfully, I’m super tired. I could barely think by now.

“You’ll regret this you know,” I said, taking a quick glance at him and back to the road.

”I know but it must be done,” he reply without hesitation.

”It’s a mistake.”

We pulled into the neighborhood, it was quiet not even anyone is awake. Before long I slip my hand away and rip the wedding band off my finger. I took a look for a moment and quickly slide the window open. Without any thoughts I threw it in someone‘s backyard or frontyard. Couldn’t be so sure, I didn’t even look. I knew he saw it. We slowly approach the house, it was at the end of the street but we’re here. Slowing down, I put the car into park and then look over to him.

“You ready?” I asked with a smile.

”How could you be smiling?” He questioned, “don’t you feel anything?” I shook my head.

I watch him as he got out and slowly pull all his things from the back. One by one, then the big container with his clothes in. I watch and then quietly look away. I couldn‘t imagine this would be me in a million of years but it is. I guess things does happen for a reason.

”I love you,” he whispered as he slowly shuts the door.

”Yeah, I know.”

Before long, I slowly place the car in drive and went home. The drive was quiet and peaceful. I felt a relief in a way. Did God just took you out of the picture? I smile, now you’re her problem. How can you accidentally get a woman pregnant? You don’t, it takes two. Now that my prayers been answered let’s not open that door again. As many thoughts went through my mind. I knew... this wasn’t the end...

breakups

About the Creator

Pauline Hinson

hello my name is Pauline, mother of two beautiful boys..my oldest Gabriel and youngest Lucian. my oldest is Diagnosed with autism. this was just a fun way for me to write something I love. any feedback@sunshineipandabehr on instagram.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Pauline HinsonWritten by Pauline Hinson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.